Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 71

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...
Dates: 1840-1866
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Beverley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B46
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters written to Robert Beverley (1769-1843) of "Blandfield," Essex County, Virginia and Georgetown, D.C. from his sister Lucy (Beverley) Randolph, her husband Brett Randolph and their son Richard Randolph, Jr. (1795-1885). The letters concern slaves given to Lucy Beverley Randolph and her children by her father Robert Beverley (d. 1800), and held in trust by her brother Robert Beverley, some of which were sold to pay debts incurred by her husband. Also includes letters...
Dates: 1796-1834
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James D. Blackwell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B57
Scope and Contents Letters and accounts of James DeRuyter Blackwell, Sr., lawyer and poet, his wife Judith Emma (Edmonds) Blackwell of Warrenton, Virginia and of members of their family including their son, James De Ruyter Blackwell, Jr. There are letters written from Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia concerning social life, and letters concerning the hiring of slaves and the illnesses of female slaves. Collection includes genealogy of Blackwell family and three bound manuscript volumes of poetry by James De...
Dates: 1839-1939
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B855
Scope and Contents Papers, 1791-1920, of the Brown, Coalter and Tucker families. Includes correspondence, of Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown with Margaret W. Barnes, members of the Braxton family, Henry Peronneau Brown, Fanny T. Bryan, John Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter and members of the Morton family.Also includes additional correspondences of members of the Brown, Coalter, Braxton, Tomlin and Bryan families including a letter, 29 April 1791, from Maria Rind to John Coalter as well as notes,...
Dates: 1791-1920
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents

Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia:  Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888),  J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).

Dates: 1838-1964
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Campbell Family Papers II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...
Dates: 1795-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Isaac Campbell Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af2
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1834-1863, of Isaac Campbell, a farmer, near Timberville, Rockingham County, Va.

Dates: 1834-1863
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...
Dates: 1667-1862; Majority of material found in 1792-1861
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Collection, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren Counties, Virginia; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also...
Dates: 1788-1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....
Dates: 1849-1915
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Hartwell Cocke (fl. 1857-1880) Farm Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad33
Scope and Contents

Kept at "Bremo," Fluvanna County, Virginia. Lists farm laborers and amount fined in corn or money for "disobedience of orders."

Dates: 1875-1880
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cook-Luttrell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C77
Scope and Contents Correspondence, business, tax and legal records, primarily 1848-1890, of various members of the Cook and Luttrell Families of Culpeper and Rappahannock Counties, Virginia. The Cook family correspondence is concentrated between 1855 and 1858 and discusses the migration of several members of the family to western Virginia and Missouri, courtship and marriage, farming, and detailed accounts of family visits. The Luttrell correspondence, 1874-1890, contains letters to Mollie Luttrell...
Dates: 1848-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George Washington Parke Custis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C96
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1832-1856, of George Washington Parke Custis of "Arlington." The collection is mostly letters written to Francis Nelson, his farm manager at "White House," New Kent County, Virginia concerning growing and marketing crops, agricultural improvements, the effect of the proposed Richmond and York River Railroad on the plantation, and Robert E. Lee. There are a few additional letters to Nelson from merchants and railroad officials, and photostats of 2 additional Custis letters.

Dates: 1832-1856
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles H. Dimmock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...
Dates: 1826-1872
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Dixon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D6
Scope and Contents The John Dixon Papers include letters, legal papers, farm and personal accounts, 1760-1829 of John Dixon, Jr. (1777-1830) of "Airville" Gloucester County, Virginia. Letters include those from Charles H. Braxton of "Oak Spring," Burwell Bassett of Williamsburg, Richard Jones, John Nicholson, John Peyton, and James and Samuel Stubbs of Gloucester County. The collection also includes a letter, 22 October 1827, of Burwell Bassett and a letter, 1826, of John Mercer Patton (1796-1858)....
Dates: 1729-1829
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Dromgoole Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates: 1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Oscar N. Early Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 Ea6
Scope and Contents

Includes correspondence (112 pieces), 1890-1915, of Oscar N. Early, farmer of Albemarle and Prince William counties, Va. Includes letters from his wife Mary Brown Early and his brother, Everett E. Early. Also includes printed circular letters, sheets and cards as well as accounts. Includes letter, 25 February 1914, concerning the estate of William Jennings of Acton, England.

Dates: 1888-1915
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Edmund Ruffin, Jr. Farm Journal, 1841-1843

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.64
Dates: 1841-1843
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Farm Labor Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af20
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1887-1900, containing accounts of an unknown person with farm laborers.  Possibly located in Charles City County, Virginia.

Dates: 1887-1900
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Farmer's Account Book, Williamsburg, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af23 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1909-1911, of an unidentified farmer, Williamsburg, Va. Includes accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Lyon G. Tyler.

Dates: 1909-1911
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Civil War Era Farmer's Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af18
Scope and Contents

Farm Account book of an unknown farmer, probably from the Fauquier County and Loudoun County area of Virginia.  Some accounts for the government during the Civil War era.

Dates: 1861-1866
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Farmer's Account Book, IV

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af19
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1886-1894, of an unidentified farmer which includes notes on English history.  Location is possibly Albemarle County, Virginia.

Dates: 1886-1894
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fauntleroy Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 F27
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1831-1903, of Thomas P. Knox, his daughter Mrs. Janet P. Fauntleroy, her husband Charles M. Fauntleroy, their daughter Janet Knox Fauntleroy Harrison, her husband Powell Harrison and other family members. Letters primarily discuss family life and conditions at various towns in Virginia, including at Winchester, Charlottesville, and West Point. Letters also discuss agriculture, the Civil War, female social life, and other.

Dates: 1831-1903
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fluvanna Female Institute Account Book and John Hartwell Cocke Farm Inventory Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad32
Scope and Contents

Account book of Fluvanna Female Institute with names of patrons and payment receipts for board. Also includes an inventory and account book of a farm at "Bremo," Fluvanna County, Va. This farm was presumably owned by John Hartwell Cocke. Includes produce sold and expenses paid. Of note, are some entries that include tax in kind payments of oats to either the United States Union or Confederacy. There is a loose page of inventory of implements at "Lower Bremo," New Kent County, Va.

Dates: 1857-1864
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Garth Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents This inventory contains personal and buisness correspondence, financial documents, loans, promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records belonging to the Jesse Garth family of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Virginia, The majority of the inventory documents correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854 between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...
Dates: 1798-1872
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Agriculture--Virginia X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 32
Account books 28
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
Financial records 24
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
∨ more
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 16
Diaries 16
Legal documents 16
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 14
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Receipts (financial records) 10
Agriculture--Virginia--History 9
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 8
Ledgers (Accounting) 8
Photographs 8
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 6
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 6
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 6
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 5
Speeches 5
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 5
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 4
Genealogy 4
Virginia--Climate 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Agriculture--United States 3
Agriculture--Virginia 3
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Anti-slavery movements 3
Blacksmithing--Virginia 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Farms--Virginia--Rockingham County 3
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 3
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Minutes 3
Poems 3
Reports 3
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Slavery--Southern States--History 3
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 3
United States--Religious History--Christianity 3
United States--Slavery 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Accounts 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--Fluvanna County 2
Bible records 2
Broadsides 2
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 2
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Daybooks 2
Deeds 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 2
Elizabeth City County (Va.)--History 2
Farm management 2
Farmers 2
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 2
Farms--United States 2
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 2
General stores--Virginia 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Invoices 2
Land grants--Virginia 2
Lawyers--Virginia--History 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 2
Pamphlets 2
Plantation life 2
Plantations 2
Plantations--Virginia--Fluvanna County 2
Plantations--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Prince George County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Rappahannock County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Roads--Virginia 2
Rockingham County (Va.)--History 2
Schools--Virginia 2
Scrapbooks 2
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Surveys (documents) 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 3
Braxton family 2
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 2
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
∨ more
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Coalter family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Garth family 2
Luttrell family 2
Morton family 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
University of Virginia 2
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Anthelia Holt 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bernard Family 1
Boyd family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bywaters family 1
Cabaniss, Mat 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Clark, Lottie V., fl. 1888-1895 1
Clark, Martha Susan 1
Clark, Missouri A. 1
Cloyd family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Cocke, John Hartwell 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Cook family 1
Cooke family 1
Custis, George Washington Parke 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dixon family 1
Dixon, Elizabeth Peyton 1
Dixon, John 1
Dixon, John, d. 1788 1
Dixon, William M 1
Dromgoole family 1
Dromgoole, Edward Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, Edward, Jr., d. ca. 1848 1
Dromgoole, Edward, fl., 1838-1897 1
Dromgoole, George Coke, 1797-1847 1
Dromgoole, W. E 1
Dromgoole, W. E. 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Early family 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Fauntleroy, Charles M. 1
Fauntleroy, Janet P. 1
Ficklen family 1
Fitzhugh family 1
Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop 1
Fitzhugh, Mary F. 1
Fitzhugh, Rufus King 1
Fluvanna Female Institute (Fluvanna County, Va.) 1
Graham family 1
Graham, Elizabeth 1
Graham, Thomas 1
Harrison, Janet Knox Fauntleroy 1
Harrison, Powell, d. 1878 1
Hipkins family 1
Howerton family 1
Howerton, W. M 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
James River & Kanawha Company 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Knox, Thomas P. 1
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Lewis, Dangerfield 1
Lewis, George 1
Lewis, George, d. 1821 1
Lomax, John A 1
Lomax, John A. 1
Lomax, John Tayloe, 1781-1862 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Mathews, Mary 1
McGavock family 1
McGavock, James, 1728-1812 1
McGavock, James, 1764-1838 1
+ ∧ less