Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 101 - 125 of 341

A. Glass Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Aa4
Scope and Contents

Account books containing personal accounts, 1852-1862, of A. Glass and his accounts, 1844-1859, as the administrator of the estates of Thomas H. Roberts, Joseph Cleuveures, and Benjamin Cleuveures. Also includes accounts of A. Glass with the Baltimore and West Point Steam Packet Company and the West Point Railway.

Dates: 1844-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Glenn Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 G48
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1821-1858, received by George D. Glenn, iron founder at Isabella Furnace near Luray, Page County, Va. from family (members of the Bradley, Groves and Dowdell families) and friends who have left Page County for West Virginia, Ohio and Oregon. A few letters concern patterns and moldings for iron castings and there are three letters, 1826-1831, written by a Quaker, Abraham Alderdice of Wilmington, Del.

Dates: 1821-1858
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1825-1910, of the Gloucester Circuit of the Virginia Conference of the Methodist Church which covered Gloucester County and part of King and Queen County, Va. Includes minutes of quarterly conference meetings for the circuit; Sunday School class records; and building committee records. Acc. 2003.16 is a photocopy of a register, 1879-1885, of baptisms, marriages and members. Acc. 2012.382 is a register of members of the Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church,...
Dates: 1825-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester County, Va. Farmer's Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D34
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1880-1882, of an unidentified farmer in Gloucester County, Va. It includes weather data and writings concerning religion.

Dates: 1880-1882
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester County, Va. School Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV As3
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1819-1849, of the school commissioners of Gloucester County, Va. and minutes of meetings, 1818-1829.

Dates: 1819-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Dates: 1829-1920; Majority of material found in 1880-1900
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

M.E. Griffin Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01765
Content Description A letter from M. (possibly Margaret) E. Griffin to her cousin John Davis. In the letter, Griffin asks Davis to hire out or sell all of the enslaved people working on the plantation she inherited. She mentions that an enslaved man by the name of Henry struck her son Jordan, and left the plantation to go to Lynchburg without permission. Griffin states that Henry has been "increasing in insolence, till his presence can no longer be endured."Content warning for derogatory language...
Dates: 1863-11-29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates: 1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Emanuel Grove Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00518
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1848-1850, of Emmanuel Grove, of Luray, Va. which is business correspondence mainly concerning shipments and prices of goods.

Dates: 1848 October 7, 1850 June 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates: 1810-2007 and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

E. G. Hancock Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap19
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1857-1859, of E. G. Hancock, "Spring Valley," Powhatan County, Virginiaa. which includes records of worker's output and copies of letters.

Dates: 1857-1859
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hardware Merchant's Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame H1
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1877-1879, of an unidentified hardware merchant at Warrenton, Virginiaa.

Dates: 1877-1879
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hiram Harris Letter to Jordan Smith

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01049
Scope and Contents

Letter, 1845, from Hiram Harris of Powhatan, Virginia, to Jordan Smith of Henderson, Kentucky. Includes discussion of personal and financial matters, including the fact that Smith owes Harris money from the purchase of slaves.

Dates: 1845 April 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James Harris Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H23
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1845-1852, received by James Harris at Diana Mills, Buckingham County, Va. Several of the letters as well as a printed circular, 1854, concern tobacco prices and letter, 2 March [18]52, written by brother William A. Harris concerns estate of another brother Benjamin [Harris ?].

Dates: 1845-1854
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...
Dates: 1736-1945
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harrison & Keller Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame48
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1853-1877, of Harris & Keller, merchants, at Middletown, Frederick County, Va. which includes a receipt, 1876, for lanterns and lamps for a camp meeting at Winchester [Va.]

Dates: 1853-1877
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Peachy G. Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H27
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1881-1886, of recommendation for Peachy G. Harrison. Two of the letters, 1886, are in regard to his seeking the position of proctor at the University of Virginia.

Dates: 1881-1886
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Harrisonburg, Va. Merchant's Ledger and Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame13u Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1830-1839, used as a combined ledger and journal of an unidentified merchant, Harrisonburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1830-1839
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Hart Papers I and II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1847-1934, including correspondence, essays, articles, and poems by John Hart, a Richmond book seller and poems, short stories, and a novel by his wife, Katherine M. Hart. The papers of John Hart include letters concerning the sale of books and two letters by James Branch Cabell. The collection includes diplomas and certificates awarded by the University of Virginia to his [father ?] John Hart of Louisa County, Va. The Hart Papers (II) series contains 200...
Dates: 1847-1934
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates: 1783-1874
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henkel Plains Mill Store Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2007.113
Scope and Contents

Daybook, 1835-1849, kept by Siram Peter Henkel for Solomon Henkel at Plains Mill Store, Rockingham County, Va. Includes records of purchases,  and records of farm workers, their tasks and their reasons for missing work. Also includes Henkel's  purchases for himself and his family.

Dates: 1835-1849; Majority of material found in 1835-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Augustine Washington to Lawrence Washington Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00508
Content Description Four page letter from Williamsburg, Virginia in which Henry writes about financial matters with his father, Lawrence, and describes his responsibilities at the college in his new position. He also writes to his father regarding the low price Lawrence was able to get on his corn crop. Henry seems hopeful though that the future crop Lawrence has will be plentiful and will fetch a better price. Additionally, Henry laments that he cannot travel home to see Mother and other family in...
Dates: 1849-12-09
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry N. Kagey Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame76
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1834-1871, of Henry N. Kagey, merchant, at or near New Market, Shenandoah County, Virginia, including pages used as a ledger, 1832-1840, by George M. Pennybacker, Rockingham County, Virginia.

Dates: 1832-1871
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George W. Hershberger Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame50
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1873-1875, of George W. Hershberger, merchant, of Luray, [Page Co.], Va.

Dates: 1873-1875
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Abraham Hewes Journals

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame51-52 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journals, 1795-1805, of Abraham Hewes, merchant, of Alexandria, Va.

Dates: 1795-1805
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 155
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Correspondence 92
Financial records 66
Ledgers (Accounting) 56
∨ more
Legal documents 42
Journals (accounts) 41
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Receipts (financial records) 33
Diaries 29
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 28
Photographs 22
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 21
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 20
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 19
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 19
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 18
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Virginia--History--19th century 16
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Invoices 14
Letters (correspondence) 14
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 14
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 13
University of Virginia--History--19th century 13
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Daybooks 12
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 12
Scrapbooks 12
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
United States--History--War of 1812 11
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 11
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 9
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 9
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 8
Genealogy 8
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 8
Notebooks 8
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 7
College of William and Mary--Students 7
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Merchants--Virginia--Richmond 7
Poems 7
Publications 7
Slavery--Southern States--History 7
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 7
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 6
Inventories 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 5
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 5
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 5
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 5
Merchants--Virginia--Buckingham County 5
Merchants--Virginia--Fluvanna County 5
Methodist Church--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Minutes 5
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Reports 5
Speeches 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 4
Banks and banking--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Blacksmithing--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Certificates 4
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Design drawings 4
Frederick County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Hanover County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 4
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Frederick County 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 4
Merchants--Virginia--Shenandoah County 4
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Pamphlets 4
Plantation life--Virginia 4
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Plantations--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Postcards 4
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 2
German 2
Hebrew 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 5
Brown family 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
∨ more
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 4
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 3
University of Virginia 3
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Braxton family 2
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 2
Coalter family 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 2
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
Luttrell family 2
Madison, James, 1749-1812 2
Maury family 2
Perrin family 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Tabb family 2
Tabb, John Henry 2
The Virginia Comedians 2
Tucker 2
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Waller family 2
Waller, Benjamin 2
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 2
Webb, W. E. 2
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 2
Aberdeen Academy (King and Queen County, Va.) 1
Adams, Herbert Baxter, 1850-1901 1
Alexander, Mark 1
Allan, John, 1780?-1834 1
Allison White and Company 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Badgley, John 1
Banister, Anne Blair 1
Bannister family 1
Barclay family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Barraud Family 1
Barraud family 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws Hansford, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Daniel Cary, 1790-1867 1
Barraud, John Taylor, 1826-1860 1
Barraud, Otway Byrd, b. 1801 1
Battaile family 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Blair family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Blow family 1
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 1
Boyd family 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Brooks, Cornelia 1
Brown, Alexander, 1843-1906 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Charles 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Browning, Henry R 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Buckingham Female Collegiate Institute 1
Burks, Martin Parks, fl. 1817-1859 1
Burnett, Lelia W. 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Bywaters family 1
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 1
Cabell, Mayo 1
Cable family 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Robert Samuel, 1842-1918 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Carey family 1
+ ∧ less