Skip to main content

Henkel Plains Mill Store Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2007.113

Scope and Contents

Daybook, 1835-1849, kept by Siram Peter Henkel for Solomon Henkel at Plains Mill Store, Rockingham County, Va. Includes records of purchases,  and records of farm workers, their tasks and their reasons for missing work. Also includes Henkel's  purchases for himself and his family.

Dates

  • 1835-1849
  • Majority of material found in 1835-1849

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

1 volume

Conditions Governing Access:

Document is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

Siram Peter Henkel was the son of Dr. Solomon Henkel (1777-1847) and Rebecca Miller and the brother of Dr. Samuel Godfrey, Solomon D., Dr. Solon Paul Charles and Dr. Silon A. Henkel.

Siram Peter Henkel (1809-1879) married June 30, 1835 to Margaret Koiner (1820-1899) had 12 children at Plains Mill, Rockingham County.

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.20 Linear Feet

Arrangement of Materials:

Chronological.

Acquisition Information:

Purchase

Related Materials:

See Henkel Family Papers ( Mss. 39.1 H38)

Physical Description

1 volume
Title
Guide to the Henkel Plains Mill Store Daybook
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Susan A. Riggs.
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: