Showing Collections: 26 - 34 of 34
Collection
Identifier: SC 01267
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1824-1864, written by William Cabell Rives of "Castle Hill," Albemarle County, Va. to William MacCreery Burwell, Mahlon Dickerson, Robert Selden Garnett, Doctor Robert W. Haxall and John Milton Niles discussing his political philosophy reflecting his change from the Democratic to the Whig Party, plans for visits, and family news.
Dates:
1824-1864
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Dates:
1921-1971, 1988; Majority of material found in 1946-1966
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 Sh9
Scope and Contents
Dates, 1970-1990, professional and research papers of Shelton H. Short III, a William Osborne Good Scholar-in-residence at the Marshall-Wythe School of Law, 1987-88. Professional papers consist of correspondence, articles, and other papers that concern the Marshall-Wythe School of Law and the Institute of Early American History & Culture. Bulk of the collection consists of Short's research papers on his ancestor William Osborne Goode (1798-1859), a prominent 19th century Virginia...
Dates:
1970-1990
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates:
1807-1904
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T21
Scope and Contents
Letter, 30 December 1820, of John Taylor of Caroline to an unidentified recipient, opposing the formation of a geographical party because of the possibility of the dissolution of the Union; and discussing a just system of weights and measures as one step towards the cementing of the Union. Also, assignment, 4 September 1786, of the right to a bond of George Mitchell, by Nicolas Brumm to Sarah Huston, witnessed by John Reynolds and John Taylor.
Dates:
1786, 1820
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents
This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates:
1918-1968
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 T795
Scope and Contents
Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.
Dates:
1923-1957
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Additions
Scope and Contents
Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.
Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.
Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.
Dates:
1821-1976
