Showing Collections: 51 - 75 of 95
Thomas G. and Louise Rowe Pullen Collection
L. S. Rhodes & Sons Papers
Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.
The ledgers are stored off-site and require a 72 hour notice for retrieval.
Richard Billups Papers
Business, military and legal papers, chiefly 1774-1822, of Richard Billups of Mathews and Gloucester Counties, Virginia. Papers include accounts, land records, and correspondence and some concern shipbuilding. Includes minutes, 1842, of a temperance meeting and Methodist church records.
William Richmond Papers
Papers, 1867-1872, of William Richmond, Yokum Station, Lee County, Va. Includes letters, 1867-1869, written to William Richmond, Yokum Station, Lee County, Va. by merchants in Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa. concerning Richmond's produce including eggs and ginseng; price lists, 1867-1872; and bills of lading.
Riddle Papers
Papers, 1812-1915, of the Riddle family of Chambersburg, Pa., Baltimore, Md., and Charlestown, W. Va. Chiefly the correspondence and accounts of Horace R. Riddle, banker of Baltimore, Md. and Charles Town, W. Va. who was the agent for the receiver of the Bank of the Valley in Virginia. Collection also includes a farm account book, 1812-1832, of James Riddle of Chambersburg; and plans and specifications for re-modeling a house in Charles Town.
Sara Spotswood Royall Papers
Scott Family Papers
Papers, 1793-1913, of the Scott family of Powhatan County, Va. Includes correspondence and papers, 1793-1832, concerning the estates of John Scott and Edward Scott of Manakin Ferry and papers of Edward Scott, Jr., Mrs. Margaret Scott, E. B. Scott, John D. Scott and Daniel Selden. Letters, 1873-1874, include those from R. J. Hackley aboard a freighter sailing in the waters near Japan.
See Family Papers
Papers, 1821-1918, of the See family of Hardy County, W. Va. Includes correspondence, 1856-1877, of Silas R. See and of his wife Anna [or Annie] See. Many of the letters were written by women and some were written by Anna See's sisters living in Pendleton County, W. Va. Several letters, 1861, were written by Silas R. See while serving in the Confederate Army.
Includes transcripts of letters prepared by Mark J. See in 1995.
Miles C. Selden Papers
Dated 1839-1880. Letters, 1859-1880, to Miles C. Selden of Henrico County, Va., from Hill Carter at Charles City County, Va. and from Andrew Johnston of Richmond, Va. Also includes accounts, invoices, and receipts, 1839-1863, of Selden as trustee for Beverly and Ann S. Heth.
Shepherd & Patton Papers
Sixty-Seventh Field Hospital Collection
The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.
Skipwith Family papers
Cornelius Smith Papers
Papers (including business correspondence, accounts and account books) of Cornelius Smith, miller and merchant, of Laurel Mills, Rappahannock County, Va.; of his son S. Russell Smith; and of Daniel Amon Grimsley who served in the Virginia General Assembly. Consists of 4 boxes of material and 39 ledgers.
T. Smith & Company. Records
Records, 1836-1849, of T. Smith & Co., of Hartford, Conn. who were apparently in the saddlery business. Includes letters and accounts.
Southall Papers
Daniel Stickley Papers
Papers, 1829-1912, including documents concerning the estates of David Stickley, John Cooley, Jacob Sonner, J. Funk, Henry R. Browning and William McCord which were handled by Col. Daniel Stickley.
Enoch Strother Papers
Papers, including correspondence, accounts and deeds, of Enoch Strother, lawyer and farmer, of Fauquier County, Virginia and his family. Also includes letters of the Chapman family of Keytesville, Missouri.
Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Family Papers
William Carter Stubbs Papers (I)
Earl Gregg Swem Genealogy Collection
Papers collected by Earl Gregg Swem concerning the genealogies of his family and the family of his wife Lilia Hansbrough Swem. Families on which there is data include Swem (Swaim), Luce, Gregg, Wright, Farish and Smith. Includes written histories, documents, genealogical charts, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.
Addition 2000.49 is described on PDF inventory.
Tabb Family Papers
Papers, 1797-1875, of the Tabb family. Includes correspondence and accounts, 1829-1839, of John Henry Tabb, merchant of Danville, Va.; and papers, 1870-1875, of John N. Tabb and H. A. Tabb, merchants of Mathews County.
John Henry Tabb Papers
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Evans Tanner Papers
Papers, 1830-1880, of Evans Tanner of Tanner's Store, Mecklenburg County, Va., many concerning the tobacco trade. Includes letters, 1843-1855 and accounts, 1849-1880, of Evans Tanner; accounts, 1844-1848, of King, Walker & Co., Mecklenburg County, Va.; and accounts, 1852-1854, of Walker & Tanner, Mecklenburg County, Va.