Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 105
Ambler Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Am1
Scope and Contents
Letter, 20 May 1806, of Anthony Davis, New Kent County, Virginia to John Ambler, Williamsburg, Virginia, concerning horse-breeding; letter, 18 June 1814, of Thomas Chiles to Edward Ambler requesting permission to kill lambs so sick slaves can have fresh meat; promissory note, 27 Jan[uar]y 1815, from J[ohn] Ambler to W[illiam] Marshall; and check, 8 July 1849, signed by Philip St. Geo[rge] Ambler.
Dates:
1806-1836
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Armistead Shelton letter
Collection
Identifier: SC 01785
Content Description
Letter from Armistead Shelton to Virginia plantation owner Alan Womack concerning a dispute between a Shadrack, a man enslaved by Womack, and George, a man enslaved by Shelton. Part of the letter reads, "Shadrack and my George fout last Wednesday Morning, for which I think they both ought to be corrected as we cannot tell where it may end. I wish therefore your opinion in the case, you will please send me a line by... your opinion and what to do. I do not wish to part a Man and...
Dates:
May 29, 1819
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Austin-Twyman Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...
Dates:
1765-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ayres Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ay7
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1833-1855, of members of the Ayres family including John W. Ayres at Chillicothe and Cincinnati, Ohio; and Fort Madison and Agency City, Iowa (with his father John B. Ayres at Diana Mills, Buckingham County, Va.), Robert H. Ayres, Hillsboro, Ohio and Jackson, Tenn. (with John B. Ayres, Matthias L. Ayres and Suckie Ayres) and Nathan W. Ayres (with Matthias L. Ayres and William Ford & Co., Richmond, Va. Letters concern the Methodist Church, abolitionists, politics,...
Dates:
1833-1855
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Barker-Cooke Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B24
Scope and Contents
Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.
Dates:
1809-1889; Majority of material found in 1848-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Barraud Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...
Dates:
1799-1904; Majority of material found in 1810-1860
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Berkeley Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B44
Scope and Contents
Family correspondence of the Rev. Parke Farley Berkeley, an Episcopal minister, his sister, Ann Butler (Berkeley) Berkeley, and his wife Mary Eppes (Thweatt) Berkeley; and of Mary B. Thweatt. Includes letters from Lewis Minor at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio. Letter, 18 February 1835, details a stagecoach ride; letter, 21 December 1844, discusses agricultural meetings and the division and sale of slaves to settle an estate; and letter, 30 August 1862, written by Charles...
Dates:
1828-1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Blow Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Dates:
1613-1960; Majority of material found in 1770-1875
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Blow Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation...
Dates:
1772-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William H. Brodnax Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B80
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1825-1834, addressed to William H. Brodnax of Hicks Ford, Greensville County, Va. by Robert R. Barton; Thomas Ruffin (12 October 1829, concerning his opposition to changes in the Virginia Constitution); R. B. Starke (concerning a letter purportedly by [William ?] Maxwell advocating the abolition of slavery); and Robert W. Withers of Greene County, Ala.
Dates:
1825-1834
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Alexander Brown Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B83
Scope and Contents
Inventory contains the papers of Alexander Brown (1843-1906), farmer, merchant and author who lived in Nelson County, Virginia. Includes correspondence relating to his books, The Genesis of the United States, The First Republic in America, The Cabells and Their Kin, New Views, and other correspondence and business papers of Brown including letters...
Dates:
1815-1910
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Brown Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B84
Scope and Contents
Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves). Includes land signed by Henry Lee and John Tyler, items relating to "Actonplace" [Acton] English estate of William Jennings and plats of land in Albemarle County, Virginia; as well as letters of members of the Brown family. Charles Brown Papers 1792-1888, Albemarle County Virginia is available on microfilm in Swem Library’s...
Dates:
1792-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Dates:
1790-1929
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents
Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Dates:
1838-1964
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
David A. Bucher Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B87
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1769-1912, including letters, 1861-1874, written to David A. Bucher, dentist of Shade Gap, Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania and later, of Bridgewater, Rockingham County, Virginiaa. The letters are from relatives and friends in Bridgewater, Virginia, Martinsburg, West Virginia, Hancock, Maryland, Orbisonia, Carlisle, McConnellsburg, Gettysburg and Round Grove, Pennsylvania and Polk City, Iowa. One letter concerns the Battle of Gettysburg. Collection also includes legal...
Dates:
1769-1912
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Martin Parks Burks Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B91
Scope and Contents
Martin Parks Burks was the deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia. Chiefly accounts, receipts, and business letters of Martin P. Burks, 1798-1866, including records while he was deputy sheriff of Bedford County, Virginia.
Dates:
1798-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James Lawrence Cabell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C13
Scope and Contents
Letters to James Lawrence Cabell, professor of anatomy and surgery at the University of Virginia from John A. Cabell and Joseph C. Cabell; and Russell Murdock (discussing the optic nerve.)
Dates:
1841-1884
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campbell Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents
Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Dates:
1726-1920
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Campbell Family Papers II
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents
The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...
Dates:
1795-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robert S. Campbell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C18
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, personal accounts, 7 ledgers, and legal papers, 1869-1912, of Robert S. Campbell, sheriff of Fluvanna County, Va. Includes materials on raising cattle, travel, the duties of a sheriff, and material relative to Fluvanna County. One of the ledgers is 502 pages in length and contains numerous correspondence loosely tucked inside the volume.
Dates:
1869-1912
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents
The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...
Dates:
1667-1862; Majority of material found in 1792-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Catlett Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents
Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....
Dates:
1865-1921
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Cocke Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C64
Scope and Contents
Papers include letter, 13 March 1838, from Charles Carter at University of Virginia to C[ary] Charles Cocke; letter, n.d., of Jesse Pound to W. E. Webb; letter, 24 June [18]46, of W. E. Webb, "Loch Lomond," Goochland Co., Va. to [John Hartwell] Cocke, Bremo, Fluvanna Co., Va.; letter, 27 June 1884, of W[illiam] R[uffin] C[oleman] Cocke, Philadelphia, to Charles [Hartwell Cocke ?]; account, 1885, of Cary Charles Cocke; and list, n.d., of slaves at "Bremo" and "Lower Bremo" Fluvanna Co.,...
Dates:
1838-1885
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Conway D. Whittle letter
Collection
Identifier: SC 01857
Content Description
Letter to Richmond, Virginia slave traders Davis, Deupree and Co., from Virginia physician Conway Davies Whittle inquiring about the rates of sale of 24 enslaved persons owned by Whittle. Age, gender, complexion, and skills are mentioned to describe the enslaved people.
Dates:
1860 November 2
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center