Showing Collections: 1 - 14 of 14
College Papers Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.
Dates:
circa 1880s-1990s
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...
Dates:
1751-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.09
Scope and Contents
Personal papers of and concerning Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler, president of William & Mary. The collection includes biographical materials, a student notebook kept at John Hopkins University; scrapbook of letters compiled in honor of the fifteenth anniversary of Chandler's presidency; and correspondence, 1895-1916. There is correspondence of Frederic William Boatwright and some letters concerning the Richmond Academy, the Women's College of Richmond, and Richmond College....
Dates:
1893-1934
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard Lee Morton Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents
Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...
Dates:
1756-2006; Majority of material found in 1930-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Davis Young Paschall Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the...
Dates:
1931-2001; Majority of material found in 1931-2001
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents
Series 1 (Acc. 1980.123): One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13.Series 2 (Acc. 1984.019):
For preservation reasons, researchers will have to access all materials in this series on...
Dates:
1888-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robb-Bernard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas L. Williams collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00254
Scope and Contents
The collection includes photographs, negatives, slides, film, postcards, ephemera, correspondence and artifacts belonging to Thomas L. Williams, photographer for William & Mary for 35 years. He was also a photographer for Camp Peary and Colonial Williamsburg prior to working for William & Mary.
Dates:
Circa 1940-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Cities Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Dates:
1663-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Courtney Sharpe Ward Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.25, 2008.106
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, notes, papers, newspaper clippings, drafts and published articles belonging to Courtney Sharpe Ward, a writer for the Richmond News Leader in Richmond, Virginia. Many of her articles had a historical connection. The addition mostly consists of material on the 1957 350th Anniversary of Jamestown. Includes photograph and 1957 Press Card of Courtney Sharpe Ward.
Dates:
1950-1969
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center