Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Typed carbon copy of letter to Judge H. G. Connor of Wilson, North Carolina about Connor's “George Davis” address on the aftermath of the Civil War.  Washington, D.C. March 30, 1912.  Davis cites examples of how the Confederate states were unfairly treated after the war.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Receipts regarding Richard G. Dunn, as trustee and guardian to Cornelia Adams.  1854 and 1857.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Black and white photograph, 5 x 7, of the grave of Dr. Thomas Arnott, marked by a granite slab, at the Warreneye Church site, New Kent County, Virginia.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Three undated flyers publicizing the fifth edition of "The Old Virginia Gentleman and Other Sketches" by Dr. George W. Bagby.  Flyer announcing lecture by Dr. George W. Bagby -- "Movis Addams" in the Town Hall, Salem, undated.  Newspaper article about the "Miscellaneous Writings" of the late Dr. George W. Bagby, undated. July 7, 1901 issue of the Farmer and Mechanic newspaper from Raleigh, N.C., Volume XVI, Number 35 with an article on "Ensign Worth Bagley."  Financial papers, including a...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Consists of many family items relating to the Brown/ Browne family of Robert L. Browne, class of 1970, including: New Testament Bible written in Swedish bearing the name of Alma Louise Carlsson (Dec. 10,1875- Oct. 23, 1960) along with the date, 1890.  An immigrant from Sweden, Alma was the mother of Helen L. Browne. Certificate of Naturalization presented to Leonard L. Bjornson, December 24, 1910.  An immigrant from Sweden, Bjornson was the husband of Alma L. Carlson...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Consists of many family items relating to the Brown/ Browne family of Robert L. Browne, class of 1970, including: New Testament Bible written in Swedish bearing the name of Alma Louise Carlsson (Dec. 10,1875- Oct. 23, 1960) along with the date, 1890.  An immigrant from Sweden, Alma was the mother of Helen L. Browne. Certificate of Naturalization presented to Leonard L. Bjornson, December 24, 1910.  An immigrant from Sweden, Bjornson was the husband of Alma L. Carlson...

Scope and Contents

Deed, Southern Railway Pass, Sanitarium Notebook.

Scope and Contents

Family Song books, WWII ration books, WWII letter.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Account for Mrs. Elizabeth Ashley for household goods with prices noted and signatures of payment.  Items include callicoe, thread, cloth, shoes, looking glass and other items.  Account is to Archibald White.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: The Mack Screenplay is a Blaxploitation film written by Robert James Poole, referred to as Bobby Poole, a prison inmate who claimed to have written the screenplay on toilet paper.  It was made into a film directed by Michael Campus and starred Max Julien and Richard Prior.  The screenplay is about a man named John "Goldie" Mickens (Julien), a recent parolee who decides to become a pimp in Oakland, California in pursuit of wealth.  However, his brother Olinga, a Black Nationalist,...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Bottom portion of a document with the seal of the United States and the signatures of John Davis, Acting Secretary of State and President Chester A. Arthur.  September 28, 1883.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Printed broadside open letter from the Honorable Garrit Smith, Congressman from NY and staunch abolitionist dated February 14, 1873.  It is addressed to the Cuban Anti-Slavery Committee of New York.  In the letter, Smith addresses the requests of the committee to write a letter to the press in support of their cause.  Instead, Smith produced this open letter that condemned Spain for its barbaric treatment and continued enslavement of the Cuban people and also the United States government for...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

One page account of an unknown merchant.  Some of the names mentioned are Sylvester Cochran, John McCarty, John Crockett, Pat Collins, Patrick Flaharty, Mike Fitzgerald and others.  Another small page includes a notation for Patrick Seacy's board with the signature of John Landers. Location unknown. 1852-1853.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Unpublished paper by Carmen Brissette Grayson titled, "Montgomery C. Meigs: Informal Power Behind the Scenes, 1861-1862" with accompanying newspaper article from the Washington Post dated August 16, 1997.  The article features Grayson's research and the story of the Civil War in the Williamsburg area, as it related to Meigs and his family. Grayson's work regarding Meigs was later published in an edited form in: The Peninsula Campaign of 1862:...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Obituary and news story on Major William Allen of Claremont, Surry County, Virginia, dated May 19th, 1875.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from Oscar F. Alston, Cleveland, Ohio, to his wife about his trip to Cleveland, partly by boat.  He took his children with him and tells his wife how much they miss her.  1865. Per a researcher, Mr. Alston was part of a major migration of free people of color to Ohio from North Carolina.

Scope and Contents

Invoice from Torsch & Rea, printers in Baltimore, Maryland, to John F. Allen & Co., for 10 "Wett Back" tobacco labels. 

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Two letters from Thomas H. Daniel, Prince George, Virginia to Dr. Thomas P. Atkinson, Danville, Virginia, about selling Atkinson's land in Prince George. Daniel also mentions a House of Delegates resolution to  reapportion representatives throughout Virginia. 1848 and 1849.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Promissory note for Alison J. (last name not clear) for $36.80 with 6 percent interest, dated February 15, 1883, White Plains, Virginia.  Unsigned.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from B.E. Anderson to D. L. Delaplaine, at the M Hotel, regarding the R and C Plank Road.  Date unclear, but probably February 23, 1870.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Lengthy letter from Matthew Steele of Liverpool, England to C. Birnie in Taneytown, MD dated June 20, 1821.  In it he details his trip to Paris to visit his daughter who was attending school in the city.  He gives illustrative description of his travels enroute to Paris and of his sojourns around and outside the city.  Steele and his daughter also travelled to the Netherlands, Brussels, and Holland.  While doing his eastern visits, Steele toured the battle of Waterloo field where he...

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Letter from James W. Alexander, New York, New York with "Seacombe" heading, to his Uncle, Dr.  J.L. Cabell about his daughter' Bessy's wedding and family news.  November 6, 1887.  Some pages missing.

Content Description From the Collection: Four page letter addressed to his sister from Paris, France. In it, he describes the beauty of getting to know the history and people of Paris, his awe in being at the center of where the Revolution began, and his impressions of the statues and art work. He also mentions seeing a man every so often who adorns a piece of red ribbon in their button hole signifying their recognition as a man of the "Legion of Honor." This, along with the frequency of seeing men in military uniform and...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter dated February 9th, 1841 from I. Fletcher to General E. B. Chase from Washington, D.C. to Lyndon, Va.  In his letter, Fletcher describes the arrival of President Elect William Henry Harrison to Washington.  "the force of Harrison and reform has commenced... were it in old Roam times the auspices would be very unfavorable..."  He talks about the celebration and protest in the city and discusses at length the woes in regard to the future of the Whig Party's power and influence in...

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Letter to Elizabeth Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from her Aunt Adeline Alston, dated 1850 and letter to niece Margaret Burton in Williamsboro, Granville County, North Carolina from Aunt M. P. Alston, dated 1863.  Family news, particularly health of family members.Per an Alston researcher: "Marina Priscilla Williams Alston (1810-1897) was married to George Washington Alston (1801-1849) in 1829. They had 3 sons, Philip, William, and George Jr. After...