Skip to main content

Bagby Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00175
Three undated flyers publicizing the fifth edition of "The Old Virginia Gentleman and Other Sketches" by Dr. George W. Bagby.  Flyer announcing lecture by Dr. George W. Bagby -- "Movis Addams" in the Town Hall, Salem, undated.  Newspaper article about the "Miscellaneous Writings" of the late Dr. George W. Bagby, undated. July 7, 1901 issue of the Farmer and Mechanic newspaper from Raleigh, N.C., Volume XVI, Number 35 with an article on "Ensign Worth Bagley."  Financial papers, including a 1904 telephone service contract, YMCA Hall contract for 1891, and life insurance checks/receipts and invoices.  Correspondence including an 1893 letter from H.H. Downing to Mrs. Park C. Bagby saying he cannot request anything of the Governor-elect because "it would only incline him to do the opposite," an invitation to see "Mistress Marion Harland" at the Governor's Mansion...in 1892, and a note from Juliet Lee.    Ephemera includes a devotion booklet; undated printed flyer of football cheers for the Annapolis vs. West Point game; 1893 flyer for the "Memorial Bazaar" in Richmond, Virginia; Ice Mission donation slips, receipts and newspaper articles; and newspaper article on sermon about Southern Valor and Womanhood by Bishop Randolph at the Ladies' Memorial Service at St. Paul's.  Handwritten poetry, some original, some not original.

Dates

  • 1854-1901

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Administrative History:

George William Bagby was an editor with the Southern Literary Messenger and other publications.  He was the Virginia State librarian and was well known as a lecturer and humorist, writing under the name "Mozis Addums".
Title
Guide to the Bagby Family Papers
Date
2016-12-09
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Revision Statements

  • May 12th, 2017: Transferred from an artificial collection of backlog material.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: