Special Collections Research Center

Journal, 1813-1829, of Opequon Factory, a grist mill at Harpers Ferry, Jefferson County, Virginia [West Virginia] belonging to the John Clark estate and operated by Benjamin Davenport. It includes accounts with Bushrod Washington, and the estates of John Davenport and Adrian Davenport.

Photocopy of the certication of incorporation of the Order of the First Families of Virginia, 1607-1620, with accompanying correspondence designating the College of William and Mary as the home of the Charter. Also included is a document signed by George M. Bryant, Jr., of the State Corporation Commission, which verified that the photocopy was a true copy of the charter.

Photostats likely made in 1979 or 1980. Certificate dated 1980, program dated 1979.

Marriage agreement between George Hamilton, Earl of Orkney and Elizabeth Elizabeth Villiers, Countess of Orkney.  On reverse,  "Sealed and Delivered (the parchment being first stampt with the sixpenny Stamp) by the within named George Earle of Orkney and Elizabeth Countess of Orkney his wife..."  March 14, 1695.

Papers, 1868-1942, of the King and Orndorff families of Van Buren Furnace, Shenandoah County, Va. The collection includes papers, 1891-1942, of Early Orndorff, documents in German of a maternal ancestor, Emily Wilde, who came to America in 1877 and letters, 1882-1890, written to Frank King and his wife from G. H. Rochling and Ferd Lipfert, Annaberg, Germany.

Two letters from Robert Ould to Nathaniel Beverly Tucker.

The 1868 letter, written from Richmond, Virginia, is four pages and refers to the punishment being meted out to Southern rebels, especially Jefferson Davis. (Ould was the Confederate chief of the Bureau of the Exchange of Prisoners.)

The 1877 letter is two pages and concerns Ould's son who was on trial for a shooting.  Ould attended the proceedings.

The personal papers of Julia W. Oxrieder include materials related to Williamsburg, Virginia, documents of interest she collected related to her many interests, and personal material about her life and work in Williamsburg. Many items are copies of biographies, newspaper articles, and ephemera documenting local history including folklore, education, Williamsburg people and organizations, African Americans, and other topics.

Diary, 1856-1861, of P. R. Page, of Gloucester County, Virginiaa. which concerns his farm and weather.

Journal, 1860-1862, of P. Vick & Co., merchants, Franklin Depot [now Franklin], Va.

Genealogy material of the Pace Family of Virginia and other branches in the United States.

Gregory Page to "Mama."  Discusses his health, school routine, fear of smallpox in Richmond, Va., and mentions Judge [St. George] Tucker.

Memorandum book, 1762-1797, of John Page begun while a student at the College of William and Mary. It contains a record of the General Episcopal Convention in Philadelphia in 1785, notes in Latin and Greek, and scientific and astronomical writings, including a notation of a November 1776 observation of astronomical activity by Page and Bishop James Madison.

Letter, 14 September 1804, of John Page to [Bishop James?] Madison. Congratulates the recipient for the "happy state of affairs"under his administration.

What muse can dictate or what works express.  A handwritten poem  by John Page.  Undated.

Copy of letter written to "Gentlemen" which concerns military commissions for Thomas Tavener and John Badgley.

Letters, 1887-1890, written to James H. Painter, of Painter's Mills, Preston County, West Virginia, and Mrs. Mary J. Painter of Oakland, Alleghany County, Maryland.

Photographs (and negatives) of papers concerning the marriage of Count Antonio Barziza, Venice, Italy to Lucy Paradise, daughter of John and Lucy Ludwell Paradise, Williamsburg, Va. Includes a typed copy of a letter, 24 February 1805, from Lucy Ludwell Paradise to Littleton Waller Tazewell; and a photograph of a letter, 28 January 1831, written by Margaret Nelson Bellett. Description: Photographs Williamsburg, Va. Williamsburg Restoration, 1930. 18 cm.

Parham writes Mann Page of Prince George County, Va. to give him his recommendations for members to serve on a committee of a Masonic organization and to express the wish that Page remain as grand master of Masons of Virginia for another year. 24 November 1894.

This collection contains completed questionnaires sent to women who attended William and Mary between 1918 and 1945, keypunch cards recording the data, computer printouts, and a code book. This data was gathered by Laura Parrish for her thesis "When Mary Entered with her Brother William: Women Students at the College of William and Mary, 1918-1945" (M. A. Thesis, College of William and Mary, 1988).

Handwritten memoir by Anna Eliza Caroline Partin about her experiences in Petersburg and Richmond, Virginia during the Civil War, particularly the siege of Petersburg.  Biographical information on Anna Eliza Caroline Partin, John William Partin, the Bunkley Family and the Ferrebee Family.  Copy of picture who may be Anna Eliza Caroline Partin. The biographical and genealogy folders are photocopies of a handwritten scroll.

January 28, 1857 letter written by Thomas Y. Pass to Alan Womack asking for instructions on what he should do with the enslaved children Womack left at his house. Pass writes that he does not want the children without their mother, and he has had "trouble enough" with them.

Content warning for derogatory language directed towards children enslaved, allusions to child abuse, mentions of buying and selling humans.

Papers, 1828-1886, of Samuel Paul, merchants of Mt. Solon, Va. and who served as Augusta County, Va. Sheriff, 1866-1869, and Treasurer, 1870-1882. Includes correspondence with merchants in Richmond and Staunton, Va., Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa.; receipts; legal agreements; tax records; business and animal licenses; and instructions given to county officials from state officials. Collection also includes scrapbooks, [post 1850]-1886, kept by Araminta G. Paul and Blanche Paul.