Skip to main content

Order of the First Families of Virginia Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01246

Scope and Contents

Photocopy of the certication of incorporation of the Order of the First Families of Virginia, 1607-1620, with accompanying correspondence designating the College of William and Mary as the home of the Charter. Also included is a document signed by George M. Bryant, Jr., of the State Corporation Commission, which verified that the photocopy was a true copy of the charter.

Photostats likely made in 1979 or 1980. Certificate dated 1980, program dated 1979.

Dates

  • 1979, 1980

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Historical Note:

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Custodial History:

Transferred from the University Archives on March 23, 1984.

Acquisition Information:

gift
Title
Guide to the Order of the First Families of Virginia Papers
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2012-04-11
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: