Special Collections Research Center

The collection consists of one letter written by a Union soldier named Herbert George Bond at Union Mills, Virginia to his brother in Dummerston, Vermont. It describes the illness and death of a fellow soldier, the arrival of a slave fleeing from Richmond at their camp, and Bond's expectation that his troop will travel to Fredericksburg.

Journal, 1873-1875, of George W. Hershberger, merchant, of Luray, [Page Co.], Va.

Journals, 1795-1805, of Abraham Hewes, merchant, of Alexandria, Va.

Journal, 1854-1856, and daybook, 1856-1857, of Hibble and Stubbs, merchants, at Cappahosic, Gloucester County, Va.

Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.

Collection includes additions.

Deloris Hicks is a former pupil of Campbell County and Evington Elementary Schools. Deloris Hicks describes a typical day attending a former Rosenwald school, her family background and community efforts to restore the Rosenwald schools in Virginia. Deloris Hicks recounts her time as a student attending a Rosenwald school during segregation in Virginia.

Letters written by D. H. Hill of the 46th North Carolina Infantry Regiment to an unidentified addressee and to Nancy C[aroline?] Nance expressing affection and describing the Battle of Bristoe Station.

Letters, 28 May 1861 and 15 April and 11 May 1862, written by Daniel Harvey Hill to his wife Isabella (Morrison) Hill, describing preparations for battle at Yorktown, Va. and building fortifications over Lord Cornwallis' earthworks; the Peninsular Campaign; morale of his soldiers; and his children. Includes a printed circular, 19 April 1865, to Hill, urging soldiers not to desert during truce negotiations.

This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.

Diary, 1855-1862, of a child in Norfolk, Va. (apparently dictated to or copied over by her mother) and of her mother. Concerns trips to North Carolina and New York City and to springs in Virginia and records the family's move to a plantation near Richmond, Texas. Includes reports of friends dying in Norfolk during the yellow fever epidemic of 1855 and records the mothers ill health (possibly tuberculosis).

Hand written receipt signed by J. M. Martin of an agreement for him to pay Sally A. H. Hunter two hundred and seventy dollars for the hire of Joe, Austin, and Beverly, slaves owned by her, for work on his farm for the year 1862. In addition, Martin agreed to clothe them well, and return them with a hat and blanket each at the end of the year.

Ledger, 1840-1864, of Hirshes & Webb, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Virginia. One volume (MsV Ame56) contains accounts and a memoranda of James F. Clarke, physician, Mt. Solon, Virginia and a poem concerning the Civil War, "The Soldier's Dream."

Note: MsV Ame57 is filed in Oversize.

Three ledgers belonging to John Hoffman of Rockbridge County. John Hoffman was probably a merchant. Other Hoffman names mentioned are David Hoffman and Sarah Hoffman.  Index included in ledgers.

Papers, 1795-1835, of the Holland family of Nansemond County, Va. and Jasper County, Ga. Includes a manuscript volume, ca. 1795-1800, used by George Washington Holland for arithmetic exercises; diary, 1832- 1835, kept by William S. Holland to record farming activities, descriptions of Fourth of July celebrations, a meeting concerning states' rights, and the sighting of a comet. Also includes genealogical information of the Holland family.

This collection is composed of three scrapbooks, 1939-1941, about College of William and Mary sports created by Joe Holland, Class of 1944 and member of Sigma Pi Fraternity.

Case book, 1896-1924, of Gray G. Holloway, a physician, of Portsmouth, Virginia.

Photograph album, circa 1930s, of the Rufae Holmes and Samuel B. Holmes families of Richmond, Virginia. Includes photographs of family members, including A.B. Holmes; schools, including Douglas High School in Baltimore; students; and activities including football and a road trip taken on the Skyline Drive in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.  In 2014, family descendant Carole Osmet added six additional photos of the family.