Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 9 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ar5
Scope and Contents Copies of papers concerning the Armistead family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes copies of wills; letter of R. T. Armistead concerning his Civil War record; Confederate passes issued to Robert H. Armistead and his oath of allegiance to United States. Includes copies of letters of Cynthia Beverley (Tucker) Coleman and printed circular of Female Seminary, Williamsburg, Va.
Identifier: SC 00395
Scope and Contents A report sponsored by the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities, "Black Education in Williamsburg-James City County, 1619-1984" by Philip D. Morgan, 1985. 1 item. 76 pp.
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ne1
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1999.19a and Additions
Scope and Contents The collection includes personal as well as offical papers of Channing M. Hall III of Williamsburg. Hall was a member of the Williamsburg City Council and most of the collection concerns the government of the Williamsburg, Virginia.
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more. Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.54
Scope and Contents Scrapbook of the Magruder School Parent Teacher Association (PTA). Magruder School is located on Penniman Road in York County, Virginia. Includes history of the School Improvement League of Magruder School, the precursor to the PTA, certificates and newspaper clippings.
Identifier: Mss. 1.11
Scope and Contents This is an artificial collection of material from and about Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia including material from the annual fifty year reunions. The school newspaper, The Powder Horn, 1930-1937 and 1946-1948, is available in Rare Books call number AN47 .W54 P68.
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.54, 2000.004, 2008.70
Scope and Contents The bulk of the collection contains papers related to Stella Neiman while on the Williamsburg City Council. These include reports, minutes, agendas, clippings, and a report on the desegregation of the public schools. The collection also contain Professor Fraser Neiman's Harvard dissertation on English literature. Stella Neiman was a member of the Williamsburg City Council from 1966-1970, the Williamsburg-James City County School Board from 1981-1987 and the Williamsburg Planning...
Identifier: SC 00695
Scope and Contents Glenna Shiflett's papers concerning the Twentieth-Century Gallery (This Century Gallery) of Williamsburg, her teaching career in public schools and tax and other documents for property on Richmond Road in Williamsburg, Virginia owned by her and her husband, Thomas Shiflett.