Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 17 Collections and/or Records:

Charles F. Adams Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00155
Scope and Contents Typed carbon copy of letter to Judge H. G. Connor of Wilson, North Carolina about Connor's “George Davis” address on the aftermath of the Civil War.  Washington, D.C. March 30, 1912.  Davis cites examples of how the Confederate states were unfairly treated after the war.

Myrta Locket Avary Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Av1
Scope and Contents Correspondence and typescripts of articles concerning Reconstruction. Includes reminiscences of her father Harrison Alexander Lockett concerning southside Virginia and photographs.

John Tyler, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 T97

Johnston to Capt. William G. Taliaferro Letter (Photostat)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01248
Scope and Contents Photocopy of letter from Johnston in Lexington, Kentucky to William G. Taliaferro in Bowling Green, Virginia about the end of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. September 30, 1867.

Fitzhugh Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01268
Scope and Contents Letters written from Lee to Manning Marius Kimmel, a fellow Confederate officer and to other acquaintances concerning former Confederate officers, Reconstruction and Kimmel's experiences fighting as a mercenary with Maximilian in Mexico. Includes letter, 4 November 1875, discussing the participation of blacks in the dedication of the equestrian statue of Stonewall Jackson on Monument Avenue in Richmond and the typescript of the speech, 11 August 1875, made by W. H. Payne when nominating Lee for...

Margaret Newbold Thorpe's "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher" and "Life in North Carolina"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01457
Scope and Contents Photostatic copy of "Life in Virginia by a Yankee Teacher", an account by a missionary school teacher, Margaret Newbold Thorpe, who taught black students at Fort Magruder and in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1866-1867. Photostatic copy of "Life in North Carolina," September 1869-1870, an account written by Margaret Newbold Thorpe Stokes about Warrenton, North Carolina. The accounts were apparently written in 1881 and 1907.The photostatic copies were likely made in 1951, when gifted to...

Merritt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M55
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts) of William H.E. Merritt, of Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va. who was a lawyer, member of the Virginia House of Delegates and editor of the "Richmond Whig"and his brothers Dr. Alexander T.B. Merritt of Hicksford, Greensville County,Va. and John F.W. Merritt of Vicksburg, Miss. The collection includes letters, 8 January and 29 March 1857, written by John Minor Botts and accounts of William H.E. Merritt & Brother with...

Scrapbook and Children's Drawing Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Scr2
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1867, of an unidentified person which concerns [John Singleton] Mosby and Reconstruction. The volume includes the rough draft of a story; and was also used as a child's drawing book.

Theodocius Joshua Scurlock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 Scu4
Scope and Contents The collection is primarily composed of letters received by Dr. Theodocius Joshua Scurlock (1828-1887), a graduate of Tulane University and a resident of Texas and Mexico, 1855-1888, from family members in Alabama and Texas, and friends in Alabama, Mississippi, and Texas. The letters reflect the restlessness of the pre-Civil War years, and the difficulties and disillusionment felt by many people during Reconstruction. The diary included was kept by Scurlock on his journey to Mexico, December...

Miles C. Selden Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Se4
Scope and Contents Dated 1839-1880. Letters, 1859-1880, to Miles C. Selden of Henrico County, Va., from Hill Carter at Charles City County, Va. and from Andrew Johnston of Richmond, Va. Also includes accounts, invoices, and receipts, 1839-1863, of Selden as trustee for Beverly and Ann S. Heth.