College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae
Found in 33 Collections and/or Records:
Abner K. Pratt, II Student Papers
Two papers written by Pratt for Professor Warner Moss' Government class. One is titled "The Influence of Ethnic Groups in Boston Politics" (Jan. 15, 1947), and the other one is titled "Republican-Democrats in a Boston Ward with a Consideration of the Effects of Improved Economic Status on the Political Preference of the Boston Irish" (May 19,1947).
Agnes F. Donaldson Student Paper
History class paper written by Donaldson about the Wren Chapel.
Edmund W. Allen Letter to his Parents
A letter written by College of William and Mary student Edmund W. Allen to his parents. In the letter, Allen writes about his courses, life in Williamsburg, Virginia, and faculty at the College.
Anna Dorsey Cooke Allison Papers
The collection includes Allisons Greek 303 class notes, her freshman Duc cap, a scrapbook she kept while an undergradate at William & Mary, and her gym shirt.
The scrapbook includes ephemera such as pins, tickets stubs, and programs, as well as the 1955 orientation program, a meal ticket, and her Rush schedule. Also included in the scrapbook are her student identification cards from all four years.
George William Bagby Certificate of Distinction
Certificate of Distinction presented by William & Mary to George William Bagby, dated June 28, 1894 for having passed his Greek examinations. It is signed by John Lesslie Hall.
Barbara Ruth Bevan Papers
This collection consists of a typewritten one-page essay about "The College Bell" by Barbara Bevan and pages from the August 1941 issue of Mademoiselle magazine. The magazine "drafted" female undergraduates from different universities to serve as guest editors for this issue. The pages included in the collection are specific to Bevan, who served as the issues Beauty Editor.
Janette Dye Erkin Barr Photographs
The collection features photographs of events, portraits, and candid photographs of varying sizes which showcase high school and college years of the subject, Janette Dye Erick Barr and her peers. The photographs document student life and the campus of William & Mary.
Benjamin Irby Student Paper
Student paper titled "Immigration." There are penciled notations written in an unknown hand.
Charles F. Counts Student Papers
Two student papers written by Counts. One is on the poetry of Chaucer and the other is on Macbeth.
Charles Irving Carey Student Paper
Student paper titled "Southern Literature and Its Makers," written by Carey for his A. B. degree, June 3, 1905.
Charles L. Kendrick Papers Addition, 1981 - 1994
Christopher J. Bright Notebooks
14 spiral bound notebooks, dating from 1984-1987, belonging to Christopher J. Bright '87 from his time as a student at William & Mary. The notebooks contain Bright's handwritten notes, included dates, and syllabi materials. They cover coursework in Education (1), Government (7), and History (5).
Letter from Herbert A. Claiborne, Jr. to Joseph G. Griswold
Letter written by William & Mary alumnus Claiborne replying to William & Mary alumnus Griswold's invitation to return to Williamsburg, an invitation given by the "Committee to the approaching Celebration." The letter was written eight days after the 1859 fire and speaks to its rebuilding and the perseverance of the College, its faculty, and alumni.
Class of 1954 Photographs and Ephemera, 1949 - 2011
22 photos, 3 scans, 3 receipts, 2 newspaper clippings, an article, a booklet, and Colonel Re-Echo Class of 1954.
Daniel Hatcher Student Paper
Student paper titled "The Study of Political Science." Notations in pencil are on several pages, made by an unknown hand.
Glenn Close Letter 2019, 2019-03-09
A two page letter from Glenn Close to Katherine Rowe. In the letter, Close expresses how humbled she feels to receive an Honorary Fellowship from William and Mary, and accepts the request to give a speech during Commencement.
Janette Dye Erkin Barr photographs
John B. Terrell Essay
John B. Terrell's degree essay titled "National Honor vs. National Greed."
John G. Warburton Chemistry Experiment Book
Experiment book kept by John G. Warburton for his Chemistry I class at William & Mary during the 1915/1916 academic year.
John Lloyd Newcomb Note
Note to the faculty of William & Mary, written by John Lloyd Newcomb and signed by him and G. L. Stevens, requesting permission to leave campus for their homes for a specific period of time.
Julius F. Wilson Student Paper
Student paper written about Smithfield ham.
Edmund and Carol Keiter Photograph Collection
Linda Lavin Papers
Minge Perkins Papers
This collection is compiled of materials created by and referring to Minge Perkins' experience as a student and later Alumni of William & Mary.
Pen and Ink Sketch by Fred Eilers
Pen and ink sketch of a naked Native American male spear fishing. The image was produced for the 1930 issue of the Colonial Echo (see page 123).