Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Women travelers--Diaries

 Subject
Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 24 Collections and/or Records:

Mabel D. Bragdon Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00862
Scope and Contents

Mabel D. Bragdon kept a travel journal when she visited various cities in Europe including Vienna, Austria, Nuremberg, Germany, Paris, France, and Canterbury, England from October 14, 1906 to November 20, 1906. The journal concludes with Bragdon's voyage home to Boston, Massachusetts and is 77 pages in length. For a more detailed description, see folder link below.

Broome Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.296
Scope and Contents Papers of the Broome family of Richmond, Virginia. Includes 2 diaries of Louise B. Taliaferro from a 1924 European trip and one diary of an unknown woman from a 1924 European trip.  Includes photographs, genealogical material, legal and business papers and correspondence, including letters of Talbot Broome during voyages to South America. The connection between Louise B. Taliaferro and the Broome Family has not been established.  Louise B. Taliaferro was married to William M....

Catherine Brown Travel Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00232
Content Description

Three volumes of a diary kept by Catherine Brown describing destinations and activities while traveling in Europe with her family and some friends in the summer of 1907. Postcards are interspersed throughout the diaries. Cities visited include Chamonix, Bossons Glacier, Mont Blanc, Lake Como, Geneva, Verona, Milan, Venice, Heildelburg, Nuremberg, Luzern, Zurich, Interlaken, Bern, Leipzig, Dresden, Berlin, Paris, Potsdam, Brussels, and Amsterdam.

Edith M. Clayes Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00878
Scope and Contents Travel diary of Edith M. Clayes of a voyage from California to Washington, D.C. Clayes visited, among other places, the Panama Canal; Havana, Cuba; Key West, St. Augustine and Miami, Florida; Richmond, Virginia; and the Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, Maryland areas. She writes about her personal experiences as well as the history of the places visited. The cover of the diary is made of wood board with a leather spine. The cover is attached with hob nails, is gilded in places and...

Daisy Crisler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00931
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters written to and received by Daisy Crisler of Canton, Georgia for the years 1904 and 1914. The letters were written for the most part during ship voyages to Europe. Letters addressed to Daisy Crisler in 1904 were sent by her friend 'Fannie.' Daisy's letters from 1914 describe her own travel experience in great detail. One of the letters is written in a different handwriting and mailed from Georgia. Most letters are written on letterhead of ships...

Diary (Alaska)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00758
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1931, of a woman named Laura on her trip to Alaska. It primarily includes photographs pasted into the diary with annontations and descriptions of the places that she visted, but also includes diary entries about her trip. Photographs are primarily of lakes, glaciers, and other scenary, but there are also photographs of the author and people that she met along the way. She traveled with Emma Campbell, Edith Schaeffer, and Claire Gutman.

Diary (Panama)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00745
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1935-1936, of an unknown woman on a trip to Panama. Entries include descriptions of the country, the people she meets, and an illness that she contracts while there. She also describes her voyage back to the United States, her treatment, and her travels through Los Angeles, California.

Helen Drumm Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00939
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1927, 1928, 1934 of Helen Drumm, a teacher of Tacoma and Republic, Washington (State). Helen Drumm records her 1927 and 1934 trips to California describing some places and structures in great detail. Her entries also cover the year 1928 when she moved to Republic, Washington to take on a new teaching position.

For the 1934 trip her entries include writings of are of a more religious nature.

Elizabeth Todd Gilmore Diary

 Collection — Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01762
Content Description

A hundred and eighty page diary kept by Elizabeth Todd Gilmore while on a trip to Europe in 1934. Gilmore traveled with her friend Rhea through Austria, England, Italy and Germany. While in the last two countries, Gilmore remarked upon the conditions of the Fascist and Nazi controlled tourist sites she visited.

Content warnings for anti-Semitism

Gertrude Lovett Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01300
Scope and Contents This collection contains the diaries, 1953-1960, of Gertrude Lovett of Beverly, Massachusetts. The diaries describe trips taken by Lovett and her husband, Earle Lovett. The first diary, 1953, concerns a road trip taken by the Lovetts starting in Massachusetts and traveling to the West Coast of the United States and Canada, including stops in a number of National Parks. There is also an account of a trip to Florida in 1960.The second diary contains an account of a 1959 trip to...

Katherine Hamilton Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00651
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1890-1897, of Katherine Hamilton of Shreveport, Louisiana. The first part of the diary details a trip that Hamilton took to Europe aboard the steamship Scythia, from June 1890 to September 1890. The next part of her diary details a trip that Hamilton took to New Orleans in December 1892. The rest of the diary includes very brief entries about particular days, including when she visited Chicago for the World's Fair in 1893.

Anna Lou Jose Papers, 1905-1936, 1964

 Collection — Box 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.298
Scope and Contents Papers, 1905-1936, of Anna Lou Jose on her trips through Europe. Includes details about the sea journey to Europe as well as details of her daily activities and places visited. Also includes information about the first three days of the 1936 Summer Olympics, held in Berlin. There is also ephemera that was tucked into one of Jose's diaries from her travels. Also includes an expense book from 1905 to 1906 as well as an undated address book. Finally, there is a diary of an unknown person, dated...

Lisa Karlin Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00676
Scope and Contents Diary, 1967, of Lisa Karlin, a young woman on a trip to Israel and Syria. Primarily concerns the places that she visited each day, which include the University of Tel-Aviv, a "Yemonite village," a kibbutz, and a mosque. Karlin also says that they were taken "unofficially" into Syria, where they saw destruction caused by the Six Day War, including destroyed tanks and guns. There are also drawings of Jewish religious symbols throughout the volume. Finally, there is an itinerary at the...

Margaret Hudson Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00744
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1886, of Margaret Hudson on her trip to the 1886 Liverpool Exposition in England. The first 20 pages of the volume are diary entries, while the rest is a journal of expenses and notes.

Helen Liszka Marx Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01184
Scope and Contents

The diaries of Helen Liszka Marx are two notepads, one with personal information such as poems and addresses, and the other a diary of her travels from Chicago to Ohio, Vermont, Oklahoma, and Missouri from June 1935 to August 1936.

Muriel McCormick Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.779
Scope and Contents

Diaries and photographs, 1937-1949, of Muriel McCormick.  McCormick was a staff member at the United States embassy in Paris, France, from 1945-1946, and much of the collection chronicles her travels through Europe.

Motor Trip Diary and Blanket

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00889
Scope and Contents Car trip diary, 1927-1934 and travel blanket of an unidentified woman. The diary records her trips in her Erskine Studebaker and later a new 1934 Ford. Includes are dates, miles, times and who accompanied her, as well as brief remarks. The following description was provided by the seller: "She writes of attending the 1927 Cleveland Industrial Exhibition and seeing the exhibit titled "The Tower Of Jewels" she attended ball games, boat races again, dances, camping, picnics,...

Coral Patridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01151
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1920s-1941, of Coral Patridge of New York, New York. Includes a travel diary of a trip she took by train from New York to New Mexico in the 1920s.  Also includes 29 photographic prints, 9 of which feature New York City; some of the photographs also have descriptive information on the back.  There is also an address book, a postcard sent from Germany, and a card with the history of the name "Patridge."

Rowena Goddard Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01211
Scope and Contents Contains the diary of Rowena Goddard of Portland, Maine kept while traveling in Germany with her mother in the spring and summer of 1889. Goddard spends most of her trip in Dresden taking drawing lessons from a Herr Schinker. Some some other sites she visited while in Germany include Berlin, Bohemia, Karlstad and Bayreuth. In her diary, Goddard wrote of taking German lessons and socializing with other students and friends, wandering and observing the city she is in, her extensive travels by...

Gladys Ryan Travel Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00908
Scope and Contents Diary of Gladys Ryan written during her trip to Europe. She begins her trip on a train from Oakland, California via Chicago to New York. She sails June 25, 1929 on the Saturnia of the Casculisch line. She describes life aboard the ship. Her first stop is Algiers, then she visits Capri, Naples, Amalfi, Pompeii, Rome, Florence, Venice, Vienna, Prague (where a man in a tavern spat at her and her friend), Munich, Lucerne, Interlaken and Montreaux. She describes the tourist sites and...

Clara Louise Schiefer Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00724
Scope and Contents Diary, 1933,  of Clara Louise Schiefer, Rochester, N.Y. The following description was provided by the seller: "1933 handwritten diary of Clara-Louise Schiefer who had lived on Westland Ave. in Rochester, NY.  Lots of memorabilia stuck in between the pages in regards to that day's entry. Some of the memorabilia items are:  Vintage 1933 Halloween invitation to a party on Grosvenor Rd; School football photo of Brighton High School team; newspaper clippings, etc.  Ms. Schiefer toured Germany...

Marie Katherine and Oliver E. Seegelken Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.083
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California.The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports.  Marie Seegelken also wrote vignettes...

Sarah M. Severance Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00837
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook of Sarah M. Severance (b. 1835) documenting her visit to the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco, California through postcards and detailed description.

Warner Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.251
Scope and Contents Diaries, accounts and address book of Anna P. (Anne) Warner (b. 1876) of Washington D.C.  and Rebecca P. (Bess) Warner, sisters of Washington, D.C.  The sisters came from a well-off family and traveled extensively in Europe. They remained single and shared an apartment.  It has not been determined if one of the two 1899 diaries and the address book were kept by one of the sisters or by another family member. Most of the diaries contain detailed entries on their travels abroad,...