Skip to main content

Helen Liszka Marx Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01184

Scope and Contents

The diaries of Helen Liszka Marx are two notepads, one with personal information such as poems and addresses, and the other a diary of her travels from Chicago to Ohio, Vermont, Oklahoma, and Missouri from June 1935 to August 1936.

Dates

  • 1935-1936

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Physical Description

2 vols.

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Biographical Information:

May 19, 1916-February 25, 2008

Died in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Per obituary, she was a member of the Cathedral of the Sacred Heart, where she was also a life time member of the Pilot Club and the Women’s Guild. She loved animals and was always faithful in feeding her birds. Her late husband, Nester L. Marx, owned and operated Adjustment Service of Knoxville. When he died in 1975, Helen took over the company until she retired. Preceded in death by her husband, Nester L. Marx; her parents, Vin and Helen Liszka; sisters, Leona Trapler and Evelyn Dombrowski; and her uncle Chester. She leaves to cherish her memories: nephew Steve Dombrowski and his wife Kathy; nieces, Debbie and husband Jacob, Denise, Donna and husband Eric, and Carol and husband Jack.

Further information about this individual or organization may be available in the Special Collections Research Center Wiki: .

Extent

0.01 Linear Foot

Acquisition Information:

Purchase.

Physical Description

2 vols.
Title
Guide to the Helen Liszka Marx Diaries
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Anne Johnson.
Date
2009-01-16
Language of description
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: