Scope and Contents

Recipe book, 1806-1815, of William A. Baker, of Winchester, Va., containing recipes for beer, wine, and liquor as well as formulae for varnish, sealing wax, cosmetics, medicinal remedies, ink, and dyes. The volume also includes pen and ink sketches (tinted with watercolor) showing the construction of a piano with detailed notes and genealogical data concerning the Foster and Baker families.

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, 1845-1846, of Betsy Woodson V. Morton which includes home remedies, and detailed instructions and diagrams for dyeing and weaving counterpanes, carpets, and dimity.

Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Scope and Contents Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian.  The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while...

Scope and Contents

Receipt [recipe] book, ca. 1890, of R. B. Cringan, Richmond, Va. which includes home remedies and loose papers.

Scope and Contents

One page letter from Dr. Nathan Colgate Whitehead in Norfolk dated 19 February 1836.  It is an order from Dr. Whitehead for various elixirs and compounds presumably to be used for administration to his patients.  Included in his requests is sarsaparilla, li[qu]orice, French Chloride Lime, French Chloride Soda, Jujube paste, and Chloride Lime among other requests.

Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1863-1864, of Captain Edward Restieaux, the chief quartermaster of the Pennsylvania Reserves Divison under General Samuel Crawford. This ledger is a list of medicines given to soliders, and include the name of the medicine, amount given, and to whom it was given. Medicines given include potassium chlorate, bismuth, camphor, glycerin, and morphine, among many others.

Scope and Contents

Travel account, 1744, of George Zimmerman's trip from Switzerland to America. The majority of the volume consists of medicinal remedies kept by Zimmerman. There are loose pages and a fragment of an indentured contract, 1760. Written in German.

Scope and Contents Manuscript recipes, mainly nineteenth century, and a recipe manuscript volume, 1830-1845, including recipes for relishes, jellies, puddings, and cakes. Also includes recipes for soap and home remedies. Additions to the collection (1999.32) include correspondence of Sally Gray (daughter of Virginia G. Gray), article, "Holiday Hints,"edited by Virginia G. Gray, handout on "Colonial Cookery," by Virginia G. Gray and her manuscript, "An American Colonial Cookery, 1607-1800," as well as...

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, 1835-1860, of an unidentified person which includes home remedies and cleansers.

Scope and Contents

Photocopy, 1761-1782, of a memorandum book used by John Littlefield, of Wells, Maine which mentions The Stamp Act, Boston Tea Party, resolves of the Wells, Maine Committee; and notations concerning soldiers. It was later used, 1790-1823 and 1845, for recipes for various medicines, legal forms, and Littlefield family records.

Scope and Contents

Memorandum book, 1829-1880, of Littleton Clayvell which contains a brief record of the meetings of the Maryland Annual Conferences of the Methodist Protestant Church and a record, 1847-1880, of marriages, births, and deaths. The volume also contains medicinal remedies, a list of stockholders in the Roanoke Bridge Company, and accounts of weather and farming.

Scope and Contents

Medical accounts of Dr. Richard P. Ludlow and Alexander Somervail in Essex County, Virginia with members of the Rowzee family. Includes invoices against the estate of John Rowzee.

Scope and Contents

Ledger kept in Lexington, Va. Mainly concerns selling of wood, beef, and corn. The first few pages were used to divide property of a deceased person. The book includes a folder of loose papers, ca. 1825, which includes accounts, correspondence, and prescriptions.

Scope and Contents Record ranging in date from 1928-1932, entitled "Physicians Record of Prescriptions" kept by Nelson F. McNorton. The record contains an account of whiskey dispensed for medicinal purposes at Yorktown, Williamsburg, Richmond, and other locations in the Tidewater region of Virginia during Prohibition. Books such as these were supplied by the Treasury Department as part of the National Prohibition Act. Physicians recorded a serial number, date, name and address of patient, the quantity and...

Scope and Contents

Invoices, receipts and related material for financial transactions during the nineteenth century, mostly in Virginia and on the East Coast.  The collection is arranged alphabetically by the name attached to the document, with usually one document per name.  Many items do not have locations, but most are in Virginia. These items give an overview of the types of goods purchased and the price of these purchases during the nineteenth century.

Scope and Contents

Notebook, circaa. 1820-1840, of an unidentified physician or pharmacist. The volume contains medical formulae as well as formulae for household remedies, inks, and dyes.

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, ca. 1845-1855, of an unidentified person which includes formulae for ink and home remedies.

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, ca. 1850-1860, of an unidentified person which includes household hints and home remedies.

Scope and Contents

Contain oystering accounts; farm accounts for "Porto Bella," York County, Virginia and "New Hope," [?]; cash accounts of Williamsburg, Virginia; list of ages and prices of slaves; records of physician's visits to family and slaves; remedy for colic; and memorandum of a purchase of land from College of William and Mary in October 1847.

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, ca. 1820-1900, of Harriet P. Sheldon, Williamsburg [Va.] and Mary B. Curtis, Wilson's Creek, Gloucester County, Va. which includes loose papers and newspaper clippings. The volume includes home remedies and a list of household items. The first portion of the book contains recipe of Williamsburg's women.

Scope and Contents

Record, 1696-1730, of rents received and due from tenants of Sir Francis Head, Whindhill Manor, [Kent Co. ? Eng.] including home remedies and recipes. Includes an inventory.

Scope and Contents

Journal, 1853-1857, of Daniel G. Smith, merchant, of Leesburg, Va., which includes a list of slaves with a record of provisions and shoes; sketch of lime kiln; recipes; and medical cures.

Scope and Contents

Recipe book, circa 1825-1835, of Dr. John B. Wiley, Gerrardstown, West Virginia. The volume includes home remedies, a recipe for cold cream and a household inventory, 1829.

Scope and Contents

Account book, 1849-1875, of William Fravel, Shenandoah County, Va. which includes a remedy for "itch."