Overview

This is an official naval record of Rear Admiral Alvin Duke Chandler.  Two hole punches are in the top of each page conforming to the manner in which a Naval Officer's Record is maintained.

Scope and Contents Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...

Scope and Contents

Letter written April 27, 1854 from Joseph Beale, U.S. Germantown, Montevideo, South America, to his wife, in care of Col. Blow, Norfolk, concerning his fondness for his wife and child and his wish to leave the Navy as a doctor and enter into private practice. ALS

Scope and Contents

Large amount of letters from Bernard T. Lindsey to his wife, Julia from 1943-1946.  During World War II, Lindsey served as a Bosuns' Mate, First Class in the United States Navy.  He participated in the Pacific theater and served on board the USS RINGOLD (1940), USS ALBERMARLE (1941), USS NEW JERSEY BB-62 (1942), and USS WISCONSIN BB-64 (1943-1946). These letters cover the time that Lindsey served on the USS WISCONSIN.

Scope and Contents Letters written to the Rev. Clement M. Butler, Rector of St. John's Church, Georgetown, Washington, D.C., relating to the deaths and funeral obsequies of victims of the explosion on board the "U.S.S. Princeton" on February 28, 1844. The "Princeton" was the first screw-steam warship in the United States Navy. The 1844 accident occurred on board when a defective gun burst during a shooting demonstration, killing Secretary of State Abel P. Upshur, Secretary of the Navy Thomas Gilmer and...

Scope and Contents Letters of William Tell Cobb (1840-1913), of Mauricetown, New Jersey, and his brother, Edwin Cobb (b. 1838), also of Mauricetown, New Jersey. William Cobb participated in the battles of Fair Oaks and 2nd Manassas while in the Army, and the battle of Fort Fisher while in the Navy; he describes these battles in his letters. Edwin Cobb provides an eyewitness account of the battle between the "Monitor" and the "Merrimac". Other topics dealt with in the letters are camp conditions and everyday...

Scope and Contents

Two page letter commending Rear-Admiral F. W. Dickins for his service as Commander of the Coast Squadron as he retires. Evans notes that Dickins was an excellent squadron commander and his hallmarks were "cheerful, prompt and efficient compliance with every requirement of whatever nature" throughout his years of service. Evans expresses hope that Dickins "will enjoy a well-earned rest" at this conclusion of his work.

Scope and Contents Letters from Robert F. Fiske, a Lieutenant in the U.S. Navy Reserve during World War II, possibly stationed or serving in Washington, D.C., Norfolk, Virginia and Bermuda, to his wife, Deborah Fiske. His wife appears to live in Brookline, then Boston, Massachusetts. He is an educated man who writes with a casual style. There were three items not related to World War I included with this accession: two items from World War II - description of Shaef War Room at Reims, France and...

Content Description This collection consists of over 85 handwritten letters and 3 photographs. It documents the final year of World War II (1945) from the perspective of a United States Navy parachute rigger stationed at U.S.N.A.S. Klamath Falls in Oregon. W.A. (Wilfred Allen or Al) Fountain wrote to Evelyn Ruth Lanphere, who lived in Coupeville, on Whidbey Island, in Washington State. Few letters are dated; envelope postmarks detail the letters’ chronology. The end of World War II is often...

Content Description

The collection contains a log book, correspondence and biographical materials documenting the life of midshipman Gabriel Galt Williamson. Williamson served on the U.S.S. North Carolina, flagship of commodore John Rodgers in the Mediterranean. Biographical information including a timeline outlining the life of Williamson is also included in the collection.

Content Description

Collection contains letters addressed to a George P. Mell during his naval career in World War II. Letters arrive from his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Mell, as well as pastor Evan D. Welch & other family members.

Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia.The collection also contains the personal...

Scope and Contents

Brief cover letter from Hubard asking Mason to read a letter he enclosed from an R. G. Harris who is attempting to get his nephew into the navy as a midshipman.

Scope and Contents Two handwritten letters from Walter Lada to his girlfriend Irma Marhan while Lada was stationed in Bainbridge, Maryland at the United States Naval Training Center, perhaps as part of the lead-up to the Korean War. Marhan's address is Long Island City, New York, and Lada refers to her as "Hon" in both letters. Both letters are written on U.S.N. stationery. The first sheet includes an illustration of a topless woman with a short hair bob dancing for a group of sailors. The second...

Content Description

Letters from Charles J. MacConnell (1837-1909) while serving on the USS Pensacola and Monogahela to his wife while touring the Peruvian Central Railway (1873-1874, 1877). Also includes a cabinet card depicting MacConnell and the rest of his Pensacola crew on deck off Valparaiso, Chile in 1873.

Scope and Contents

Military dog tag for John Lee Pruitt, dated 10/1943, USNR. some rust stains on tag.

Scope and Contents

Letter from Mrs. E.E. Moffitt, Richmond, Virginia to Josephus Daniels, Secretary of the Navy, Washington, D.C. asking him to meet with John Hart who is one of her valued friends. September 10, 1916.  Not postmarked, thus probably hand delivered as a letter of introduction by John Hart.

Scope and Contents

Papers, ca. 1824-1983, relating to Yorktown, Va. Includes articles concerning Yorktown; materials relating to the surrender of Cornwallis and to the celebrations [1824, 1881, 1930-1937 and 1981], documents concerning Yorktown National Military Park  [now Colonial National Historical Park] and the Navy Mine Depot [now Naval Weapons Station].

Scope and Contents

Three letters written by US Navy Corpsman, N. L. Michael, while serving in the Da Nang Run Area of Vietnam.

Scope and Contents

Letter from Hugh Nelson, Chamber of the House of Representatives, Washington, D.C.,  to an unidentified recipient recommending his nephew Thomas N. Carter for admission to the United States Naval Service.   March 3, [ca. 1811-1823].

Scope and Contents Letters from Valentino Vozza to his girlfriend, then wife, Lee Perley, while he served in the Navy during World War II. He was part of the Ninth fleet while in California, and the Third fleet, on the ship U.S.S. Mundo, and stationed in San Diego, California, San Francisco, California, Bremerton, Washington and the Pacific Front in and near Guam, Pearl Harbor and Japan. His wife was in or near Los Angeles, California and Ocean Park, California. Valentino Vozza moved up...