United States--History--War of 1812
Subject Source: Local sources
Found in 25 Collections and/or Records:
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg, Va....
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Identifier: Mss. 65 B625
Scope and Contents Papers, 1772-1872, of the Blow family. Chiefly business papers, 1772-1820, of Richard Blow of Portsmouth and "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and his son George Blow, Sr. and George Blow, Jr. of 'Tower Hill' and Williamsburg, Va. Richard Blow was a partner in stores in Virginia and North Carolina (trading as Richard Blow and Co., Briggs & Blow, Baker & Blow [South Quay, Nansemond County, Va.], Blow & Barksdale [Petersburg, Va.], and Blow and Scammel). He was also a plantation owner...
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Identifier: SC 01228
Scope and Contents Dealer Description: Orderly Book from Captain James Charlton's Company, 12th United States Infantry, during the War of 1812. Records muster rolls, returns, morning reports in one section and regimental, brigade and divisional general orders in another section. Capt. Charlton's company was recruited primarily from the back county of Virginia (43 soldiers), Pennsylvania (6), Maryland (4), and North Carolina (11). Against the name of each soldier is recorded his home...
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad45 Oversize
Scope and Contents Daybook, 1854-1879, kept by James Turner Clarke, physician in Augusta County, Virginia. Also includes copies of deeds of trust for the benefit of Clarke, bounty land warrants for War of 1812 obtained by Clarke; 1907-1908 transactions concerning the building of a tower on the Methodist Episcopal Church (South) at Mount Solon, Virginia. and notes, 1910, concerning archaeological digs in Arizona.
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C68
Scope and Contents Typescript copies of letters and extracts, written by Edward Coles (1786-1868), who held the positions of secretary to President James Madison and Governor of Illinois. Subjects covered by the letters include James Madison and the War of 1812; Madison's not emancipating his slaves at his death; the claiming of public lands by individual states; the estate of James Monroe; Andrew Jackson; Thomas Jefferson's authorship of the Ordinance of 1787; and Jefferson's relationship with John Adams....
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents This inventory contains personal correspondence, business correspondence and accounts, receipts, loans and promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records of the Jesse Garth family, Charlottesville, Albemarle Co., Virginia, The majority of the inventory deals with correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854, between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...