Letter, 1794 April 27, Norfolk, [Va.] to [?]. 4 p. on 1 leaf ; 20 cm. Relates an incident of tarring and feathering in Norfolk, Va. in connection with the embargo and notes the arrival of Major [John] Rivardi to examine points of defense on the river.

Letter, 4 May 1861, to Robert E. Lee from T. Rowland of Fairfax County, Va. desiring a commission with the Virginia forces, bearing endorsement of Lee. Includes printed material regarding Lee, such as his farewell address to the Army of Northern Virginia, his will, and  photographs and engravings of Lee.

This collection contains three folders of materials about the Lesbian and Gay Union at the College of William and Mary. It includes fliers for events, meeting schedules, correspondence, funding proposals, a packet of materials from the 1986 Gay Awareness Week, and materials received from student groups at Virginia Tech and James Madison University. It also includes a copy of the by-laws of the Lambda Alliance, an early gay student group at William and Mary.

Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

The papers of William & Mary Law School Professor Emeritus John M. Levy include speeches given at various events by Dr. Levy, newsclippings either written by Levy or pertaining to Levy, as well as coursework and research during his tenure at the Law School.

An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.

6 items.

Papers, 1918-1936, of Lewis Peyton Little, a Baptist minister in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence and notes concerning his duties as a chaplain in World War I and the writing of his books. There are drafts of his "Imprisoned Preachers and Religious Liberty in Virginia" (Lynchburg, Virginia., J.P. Bell Co., 1938) and of an unpublished work entitled "The Battle of Bethel".

The collection is typescripts, most of which are letters, 1829- 1837, from Deborah Norris Logan at "Stenton," Germantown, Pa. to her grand-niece Deborah Norris Woodson of Goochland Court House, Va.

Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.

Letters, 1716, written by Philip Ludwell (1672-1727) to Alexander Spotswood and to William Blathwayt concerning charges of malfeasance against Ludwell and his removal as auditor of Virginia.

Letter, 15 Oct. 1839, James Lyons, Richmond, Va. to Judge [Nathaniel Beverley] Tucker, Williamsburg, Va. Letter of introduction for Joseph M. Carrington who plans to attend Tucker's law lectures [at the College of William & Mary]. Carrington has already studied Blackstone, Coke, etc.

Letters from Charles J. MacConnell (1837-1909) while serving on the USS Pensacola and Monogahela to his wife while touring the Peruvian Central Railway (1873-1874, 1877). Also includes a cabinet card depicting MacConnell and the rest of his Pensacola crew on deck off Valparaiso, Chile in 1873.

Papers, 1848-1866, of Dr. W. H. Macon of New Kent County, Va. Includes accounts, 1798, and a draft of his petition, 1866, to the U. S. Senate for the restoration of his full citizenship after the Civil War.  11 items.

Letter, 20 December 1805, from Bishop James Madison, Williamsburg, to James Breckenridge, Botetourt County, Va. Concerns defending Madison against a claim to deprive him of land surveyed near Guyandot Falls by Breckinridge. Asks Breckinridge to discount fee at next College [of William and Mary] settlement. Also concerns Madison's Map of Virginia (1807) and a new method of taking latitudes.