Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): Mathematics
  • and keyword(s): *

Showing Results: 1 - 25 of 217

Mathematics Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm6
Scope and Contents

Textbook, 1799, on mathematics. Name on inside cover is Sally Palty Davis.

Dates: 1799

Department of Mathematics Records, 1985-2005

 Collection
Identifier: UA 146
Scope and Contents

Series 1 contains syllabi and exams for math courses taught at William and Mary from 1958-1986. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid.

Series 2 contains announcements, minutes, reports, and other printed material from the Department of Mathematics.

Dates: 1958-2005; Majority of material found in 1958-2005

William David Yancey Mathematics Certificate

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.105
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a certificate of William David Yancey reading that he has "passed Examinations in the Introductory Class of Mathematics." The certificate was signed on June 24, 1896 by Professor Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, Secretary of the Faculty at the College of William and Mary.

Dates: 1896 June 24

George A. White Mathematics Textbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.156
Scope and Contents Contains a mathematics textbook kept by George A White of Matthews County, Virginia from 1823-1826. The volume consists of various mathematical problems in geometry and trigonometry, colored illustrations of some of the mathematical problems, and conversion charts dry and liquid measurements, English money, and cloth measurements. At the end of the book are two pages of possible merchant accounts for George A. White from 1840-1841. The volume also contains several loose pieces of paper...
Dates: 1823-1826, 1840-1843

Thomas P. Watkins Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.163
Scope and Contents

Mathematics notebook, circa 1820-1822, of Thomas P. Watkins, a student at the College of William and Mary. Includes Watkins' notes on plane trigonometry, likely taught by Ferdinand Stewart Campbell. Includes theorems, proofs, and corollaries, as well as drawings which illustrate each of them.

Dates: circa 1820-1822

Eleanor Calkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.02-3
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of College of William and Mary Professor of Mathematics Eleanor Calkins' 32 gradebooks from 1927-1961, a notebook with A-Z listings of her favorite musical recordings (the exceptional ones noted in red), and three yearbooks, 1915-1917, entitled Mossoks, from Columbia College in Lake City, Florida.

Dates: 1915-1961; Majority of material found in 1927-1961

Emily Harrell Lynch Papers, 1938-1946

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.040
Scope and Contents Twenty-seven photographs and four newspaper clippings belonging to Emily Harrell Lynch, William & Mary class of 1942. Typical student activities are documented include sports such as football and Homecoming Parades, May Day, Christmas, initiations, college buildings, and other typical college activities. Box 1 contains the newspaper clippings and box 2 contains the photographs. Acc. 2012.337 includes a photograph of Lynch, Dorothy Griffin, Frances Poarch, and Harriet Murray,...
Dates: 1938-1946

Edmund R. Custis Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm8
Scope and Contents

Arithmetic book, 1806-1808, of Edmund R. Custis [Accomack County, Va.] The volume was also used as an account book, 1814, by Custis.

Dates: 1806-1808; 1814

Ferdinand Stewart Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.094
Scope and Contents The collection includes a letter, fragments, and a printed law defense pertaining to a legal case involving Stewart.The letter, written by Stewart to John Tyler of William & Mary's Board of Visitors, is dated July 6, 1825. In it, he states to Tyler that there are a couple of evils affecting William & Mary. One is the lack of preparation of the students, specifically in regards to their knowledge of the Classics. He suggests requiring students have a previous knowledge of...
Dates: 1825, 1830, 1834

John Tyler Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm7
Scope and Contents

Mathematics book, 1802-1805, of John Tyler, of Spotsylvania County, Virginia.

Dates: 1802-1805

Emily Calkins Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.090
Scope and Contents

The scrapbook of Emily Calkins includes news clippings related to the College of William and Mary as well as events from throughout Virginia for the time period 1936-1942.

Dates: 1936-1942

William N. Smith Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm18
Scope and Contents

Mathematics book, 1859, of William N. Smith, Laurel Mills, Rappahannock County, Virginiaa. The volume was also used as a handwriting copybook, and as a legal and business book.

Dates: 1859

Thomas Bridgforth Copybook

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00146
Scope and Contents

Mathematics copybook kept by Thomas Bridgforth in Lunenburg County, Virginia. Gives rules for solving various problems and examples of calculations. Book has been laminated and rebound.

Dates: 1808

Henry Carrington Alexander Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nm19
Scope and Contents

Notebook, 1854, of Henry Carrington Alexander containing notes on mathematics, on [Carl Friedrich Staeudlin's History of Theological Knowledge ?], Sir Isaac Newton's Optics, and notes for [?] The Sick Man's Book. The volume also contains "helpful" thoughts (Biblically based) and newspaper clippings, 1889, on the death of James Laurence Cabell.

Dates: 1854

L. D. Switler Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nge1
Scope and Contents

Notes, 1870, taken by L. D. Switler while a student at the Webster Institute, Norfolk, Virginiaa. The notes concern history, mathematics, philosophy, geography, and Latin.

Dates: 1870-1870

C. E. Branscome Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.120
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of mathematical teaching materials and genealogical material created by C.E. Branscome, and a letter from C. E. Branscome to "Librarian."

Dates: 1958, 1960

Michael Kelly Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 K29
Scope and Contents

Four mathematical copybooks, 1841-1849 and n.d., with handwritten entries belonging to Elizabeth Gernet[s] and Isaac Knecht. Also included are S. Augustus Mitchell's First Lessons in Georgraphy for Young Children (1870) and Peter Parley's Method of Telling About Georgraphy to Children (1840).

Dates: 1840-1870

Summer Institute for High School Teachers of Science and Math Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 294
Scope and Contents

A pamphlet and a report describing the Summer Institute by Melvin A. Pittman, Director. The Summer Institute might have been sponsored by the College of William and Mary.

Dates: 1959-1965

James Lewis Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nf1
Scope and Contents

Notes, circa 1779-1844, of James Lewis [Gloucester County, Virginiaa. ?] concerning farming and math (using farming examples). The book contains some dated entries ranging from about 1779 to 1847 and includes loose newspaper clippings.

Dates: 1779-1844

George See, Jr. Notebook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad152
Scope and Contents

Contains arithmetic examples. Enclosed are letters (1863-1871) to and from members of the See family including letter, October 7, 1863 of Cyrus See on paper with a printed image of General Ambrose Burnside.

Dates: 1863-1871; 1810

Eugene Ernest McCutchan Grade Report

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.169
Scope and Contents

Grade and attendance report for Eugene Ernest McCutchan for the period ending in June 1894 at the State Male Normal College of Virginia and William & Mary. Includes his evaluations in English, History, Mathematics, French, and Logic.

Dates: 1894 June 23

John M. Kirkpatrick and Rev. E.D. Saunders correspondence

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01810
Content Description

One letter from John M. Kirkpatrick to Rev. E.D. Saunders, written on February 10, 1845. Kirkpatrick, a resident of Farmville, Virginia, is inquiring about a teaching job in the math department at Rev. Saunders' school in Petersburg, Virginia. E.D. Saunders was the first President of the Petersburg Classical Institute, a first-class boys preparatory institute. Kirkpatrick would become a teacher at the school.

Dates: 1845-02-10

John Page Letters

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.219
Scope and Contents The collection consists of two letters. The first letter is dated October 13th. Though no year is listed, it was likely written by Page in 1831. The letter is addressed to Burwell Bassett, who served on the Board of Visitors at William & Mary with Page. The letter focuses on the recently vacated mathematics professorship and Page's feelings regarding it. The second letter is dated November 30, 1836 and is addressed to Col. Charles S. Morgan of Richmond. In it, Page mentions the...
Dates: circa 1831, 1836

Francis Henney Smith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01067
Scope and Contents

Two letters written by Francis H. Smith. The first letter, September 6, 1860, to James T. Ames, concerns Armory, "model musket," and swords. The second letter, March 7, 1888, concerns his resignation as superintendent of Virginia Military Institute in 1886 which was withdrawn and an investigation into his period of service by the Virginia General Assembly. Both letters include a typescript copy.

Dates: 1860 September 6; 1888 March 7

Office of the President. Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.06
Scope and Contents Collection includes biographical materials, writings, and correspondence.This is an artificial collection of correspondence, 1848-1898, of and concerning Benjamin Stoddert Ewell while he was serving on the faculty and as president of the College of William and Mary. Prominent correspondents include: Ambrose Burnside, Ulysses S. Grant, Hugh Blair Grigsby, John Johns, Joseph E. Johnston, Robert McCandlish, Matthew Fontaine Maury, George Gordon Meade, Charles Minnigerode, William...
Dates: 1848-1898; Majority of material found in 1866-1886

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Repository
Special Collections Research Center 213
 
Type
Archival Record 166
Collection 47
Organization 2
Subject 2
 
Subject
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 13
Correspondence 13
Mathematics--Study and Teaching 13
Notebooks 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 5
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Mathematics--Study and teaching--Virginia--History 4
Photographs 4
College of William and Mary--Presidents 3
Financial records 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Reports 3
Scrapbooks 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
College of William and Mary--Faculty. 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Copybooks 2
Music 2
Pamphlets 2
Sound Recordings 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Account books 1
Accounts 1
African Americans--History. 1
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Announcements 1
Athletics--Football 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Buildings and Grounds--Barrett Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Chandler Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Trinkle Hall 1
Buildings and Grounds--Washington Hall 1
Business records 1
COVID-19 (Disease) 1
Cartography--Virginia 1
Certificates 1
Chesterfield (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Christmas Activities 1
Civil engineering--United States--History--19th century 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary--Employees 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--21st century 1
College students 1
Commonplace books 1
Confederate States of America. War Dept 1
Coronavirus infections 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Events centers 1
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Furloughs 1
Genealogy 1
Geography--Study and teaching 1
Geography--Study and teaching--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gradebooks 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Hardy County (W. Va.)--History--19th century 1
History of the College 1
History--Study and teaching--United States 1
Homecoming 1
Latin language--Study and teaching 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Legal documents 1
Letters to the editor 1
Lithographs 1
Lunenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Masks 1
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
May Day 1
Minutes 1
Penmanship 1
Personal narratives 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Philosophy--Study and teaching 1
Photostats 1
Poems 1
Poetry 1
Powhatan County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Publications 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 54
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 11
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 7
College of William and Mary. 5
Madison, James, 1749-1812 5
College of William and Mary--Faculty 3