Skip to main content

George A. White Mathematics Textbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.156

  • Staff Only

Scope and Contents

Contains a mathematics textbook kept by George A White of Matthews County, Virginia from 1823-1826. The volume consists of various mathematical problems in geometry and trigonometry, colored illustrations of some of the mathematical problems, and conversion charts dry and liquid measurements, English money, and cloth measurements. At the end of the book are two pages of possible merchant accounts for George A. White from 1840-1841. The volume also contains several loose pieces of paper consisting of sketches, accounts, and a torn page from the annual meeting of the Mathews County School Commissioners for 1842 and 1843. The first page of the textbook includes the name Francis T. White at the top of the page.

Dates

  • Creation: 1823-1826, 1840-1843

Creator

Language of Materials

English

Conditions Governing Access:

Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.

Conditions Governing Use:

Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.

Extent

0.05 Linear Feet

Acquisition Information:

Acc. 2014.156 was received by Special Collections from the donor on 7/24/2014.

Physical Description

125 pages

Processing Information:

Accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in November 2014.

Title
Guide to the George A. White Mathematics Textbook
Author
Finding Aid Authors: Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist.
Date
2014-11-04
Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin
Language of description note
The collection description/finding aid is written in English

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository

Contact: