Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): "FAMILY BIBLE"

Showing Results: 1 - 25 of 61

Johns Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01285
Scope and Contents

Two handpainted Johns Family coat of arms. Large genealogical tree as part of application for membership in the Colonial Dames for Edyth Johns Tyson Cotten. Three pages from the Johns Family Bible beginning with the Marriage Certification for John Johns, Jr. of Baltimore, Maryland and Mary M. McGuire of Essex County, Virginia in 1861 and ending with birth of Arthur Johns in New York in 1936.

Dates: 1861-1936

Colvin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C72
Scope and Contents Papers of the Coleman, Davis and Pannill families of Orange and Culpeper counties, Va. Includes correspondence, 1827-1838, of William Davis with Peter F. Armstead, Linn Banks and William B. Wallace concerning the collection of money owed by Wallace. The papers include Davis's accounts and papers relating to his estate. There are also land records concerning Orange County, Va. and leases from Alexander Spotswood (1676-1740) and Alexander Spotswood (ca. 1746-1818.) Collection includes Sale...
Dates: 1734-1839

Pearl H. Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.043
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a family Bible, ration books from World War II, correspondence, a diary, stenographers' notebooks, and other personal materials.

Dates: 1930-1970

Lindsey and Gladden Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00614
Scope and Contents Genealogical papers of the Lindsey and Gladden families. Includes: funeral program of John B. Lindsey in Carrollton, Missouri on September 2, 1893; sheet music of "'Tis the Harvest Time;" 1912 postcard to Miss (?) Gladden in Rockingham, California from Port Republic, Virginia; undated Heidelberg Picture Card of "The Boy Samuel;" 1902 religious leaflet; typed transcript of a letter to Sister Blanche from her brother in Clarksburg, West Virginia about the death of her mother (undated);...
Dates: 1893-1912

Bryan Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Sm Coll Bryan
Scope and Contents

Copy of letter, 1780 June 3, from Jonathan Bryan, Long Island, N. Y. to wife, Mary Bryan, "Brampton Plantation," near Savannah, Ga.; copy of letter, 1825 August 12, from St. George Tucker to his granddaughter, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter; and genealogical data from a Bryan family Bible.

Dates: 1780 and 1825

Tillar-Pope Families Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00074
Scope and Contents The collection includes items which belonged to Vernon Tillar (W&M Class of 1932) and the Pope Family. Included in the collection is an early 20th century photograph of the Kappa Alpha House (Alumni House) and Tillar's wallet. The wallet's contents include his W&M student activity card, his YMCA cards and receipts, and his Medical College of Virginia receipts. Also included is an unidentified mercantile ledger account book from Drewrysville, Va. that was also used as a clippings...
Dates: 1841-1933

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates: 1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892

First Baptist Church Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00341
Content Description

This collection is formed of materials created by the First Baptist Church of Williamsburg, dating from the mid-1800s to the present day. Inculded in this collection are church records such as member rolls, meeting minutes, photographs, bibles, building blueprints, and audio visual materials.

Dates: 1866 - 2017

William Tandy Burrus Ledger

 Collection — Box 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.131
Scope and Contents Based on information gathered by Special Collections staff in 2011, there appear to be three possible creators of the ledger: William Tandy Burrus (1766 or 1776-1831), WTB (?-prior to 1836?), or William Stevens (1773-1843).The ledger (200 pp., 15 pages are missing in the front, several pages are missing in back, and several halves of pages are missing) records transactions for miscellaneous merchandise, wheat and tobacco. The contra page shows payments were mostly made in cash,...
Dates: 1801-1895

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Dates: 1613-1960; Majority of material found in 1770-1875

Family Bible

 File — Box 2, Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection:

This collection includes a family Bible, ration books from World War II, correspondence, a diary, stenographers' notebooks, and other personal materials.

Dates: 1930-1970

Sale Family Bible

 File — Box 2
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Sale Family Bible

Dates: 1734-1839

Watkins Family Bible Record, 1761-1962

 Item — Box Manuscripts Oversize Box 13: Series id97705; Series id114506; Series id182684; Series id127060; Series id201905; Series id203226; Series id57625, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id57625
Scope and Contents

Original family bible records from the Watkins Family, sent by Harry Watkins, Jr., of Mount Shasta California. Also records birth records of Morton Family members. Undated letter. Bible record date from 1761 to 1962.

Dates: 1761-1962

Jones-Fauntleroy Family Bible

 File — Box 1, Folder: 13
Scope and Contents

One page of births (1828-1868) and one page of deaths (1830-1939); obituaries of Miss Martha T. Jones (d. 1952 January 16) and Fanny Curtis Jones (d. 1954 October 28); 1 page of marriages, Curtis-Fauntleroy-Jones; and 1 memo from C. Nelson to Miss Jones.

Dates: 1826-1916

Jerdone Family Bible Record

 Item — Box 19: Series id198980; Series id198870; Series id198939, Folder: 3
Identifier: id198959
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents 2 pages. Copy.

Dates: 1775, undated

Volume 1: Koontz Family Bible

 File — Bound volume 1
Identifier: id70597
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...
Dates: 1809-1965; Majority of material found in 1936-1965

Series 4: Ewell family Bible, 1810-1919

 Series
Scope and Contents

Series 4 contains the Ewell Family Bible, published by Williams and Whiting in 1810, and signed by Thomas Ewell. Family records are in the center of the Bible. The first entry is the birth of Thomas Ewell in 1784 and the last entry is from 1918.

Dates: 1810-1919

Extracts from Dandridge family Bible

 Item — Box 27: Series id175191, Folder: 8
Identifier: id175310
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents

Manuscript.

Dates: 1712-1868

Pope Family Bible (includes Family Record)

 File — Box 2, Folder: 2
Identifier: id308083
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection includes items which belonged to Vernon Tillar (W&M Class of 1932) and the Pope Family. Included in the collection is an early 20th century photograph of the Kappa Alpha House (Alumni House) and Tillar's wallet. The wallet's contents include his W&M student activity card, his YMCA cards and receipts, and his Medical College of Virginia receipts. Also included is an unidentified mercantile ledger account book from Drewrysville, Va. that was also used as a clippings...
Dates: 1841-1933

James W. Koontz Family Bible Pages, Undated

 File — Box 2, Folder: 2
Identifier: id70237
Scope and Contents

Pages from family Bible, giving Births, Deaths and Marriages, starting with James W. Koontz (b. 1838). Notes on Graves family.

Dates: Undated

Records copied from old Drumwright family Bible., 1877

 Item — Box 10, Folder: 49
Identifier: id146965
Scope and Contents

Thomas J Drumwright m. Nancy W. Blow February 11 1836. Alex Blow m. Elizabeth M. Jarrad April 20 1809 (Alex Blow, son of Henry Blow and Rebecca born 1788). Elizabeth M. Jarrad, daughter of Henry Jarrad and Margaret B., b. June 28, 1784. Nancy W. Blow, daughter of above born 1812, February 20. George Blow Drumwright, son of T.J. and Nancy W., was born 1850, June 18;

Dates: 1877

James Monroe Material: Correspondence re: Family Bible

 File — Box 11, Folder: 8
Identifier: id154653
Scope and Contents From the Collection: The collection contains mostly personal and business correspondence of Jay Winston Johns, Jr., including papers of the Atlas Fuel Corporation of New York, New York and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Lee-Jackson Memorial, Inc.; the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation; and "Ash Lawn," now owned by the College of William and Mary.The correspondence of Johns includes correspondence with Virginia Democratic Party figures such as Albertis S. Harrison, William M. Tuck, Mills Godwin,...
Dates: 1918-1979

Records of births in family Bible pages, 1799-1908

 File — Box 7: Series id93559, Folder: 4
Identifier: id93920
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents John Millington, Elizabeth Letts, Sarah Anne Letts (who married J.M.), Robert Moore Blankenship, John Millington Blankenship, Richard F. Morris, Robert Blankenship Morris.

Dates: 1799-1908

Records of births and deaths from the family Bible, 1779-1954

 File — Box 7: Series id93559, Folder: 5
Identifier: id93921
Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents John Millington, Sarah Anne Letts, Mrs. Harriet Blakenship, Robert E. Blankenship, R.M. Blankenship, Annie Blankenship, Kate Blankenship, Sarah Anne Millington, George Beale Millington.

Dates: 1779-1954

Birth, Marriage, and Death Entries in the Goodwin family Bible, 1881-1974

 File — Box 1: Series id181760; Series id182019, Folder: 2
Identifier: id181764
Scope and Contents

Copies of Bible entries from the Goodwin Family Bible for marriages, births and deaths.  6 pp. 1 item.

Dates: 1881-1974

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Type
Archival Record 51
Collection 10
 
Subject
Correspondence 4
Bibles 3
Financial records 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
∨ more
Genealogy 2
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Religion 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Bible records 1
Brampton Plantation, Ga 1
Certificates 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
Hampden-Sydney College--History--19th century 1
History of the College 1
Indians of North America 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Legal documents 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--18th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Notebooks 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Photostats 1
Poems 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Religion and culture 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Tower Hill (Sussex County, Va.) 1
United States -- Religion -- 19th century 1
United States Military Academy 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia. Militia. 15th Regiment 1
Virginia. Militia. 4th Regiment 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 17
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Blow family 1
Burrus, William Tandy, 1776-1831 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1