Search all record types where
- keyword(s): Personal Papers Faculty Staff
- and keyword(s): *
Showing Results: 1 - 25 of 28
Nancy Marshall Records, 1986-2000
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.077
Scope and Contents
The papers of Nancy Marshall include material related to her appointment of the position of Dean of the Swem Library at the College of William and Mary, some of her speeches and articles, personal notes and correspondence from individuals affiliated with the College of William and Mary, material related to the Friends of the Library Board, and other material.
Dates:
1986-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Howard Scammon Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates:
1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dew Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1794-1895, of the Dew family. Mostly correspondence of Thomas Roderick Dew, faculty member and president of the College of William and Mary and his brother Benjamin Franklin Dew, a lawyer of Newtown, King and Queen County, Va. Correspondents include William Boulware, Edward Everett, and Andrew Stevenson. Includes documents, 1838-1858, relating to Thomas Roderick Dew's estate such as his will, inventories of personal property, court degrees, and accounts....
Dates:
1794-1895
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Johnson Family papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.352
Scope and Contents
The collection contains the correspondence from Robert Bruce Johnson to his parents and his aunt during the period of his service in the U.S. Army Air Force from his enlistment in September 1942 to his discharge in September 1945 after the conclusion of World War II. Johnson began his service as a private with the 19th Anti-Submarine Squadron, where he served until the fall of 1943, when he was promoted to corporal in the 812th Bomb Squad. The letters include descriptions of his movements...
Dates:
1942-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Millington Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.
Dates:
1801-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Marshall Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M34
Scope and Contents
Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies...
Dates:
1755-1835
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sewell Hopkins Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Se8
Scope and Contents
Dates; 1881-1984; personal and professional papers of Sewell Hepburn Hopkins (1906-1984), a marine biologist and Professor of Biology at Texas A & M University (1935-1972), best known for his research into the effects of oil spills on marine life in the Gulf of Mexico. His papers document his professional career, but focus on Research Project 9 (1947-1950), headed by Hopkins and sponsored by the Texas A & M University Research Foundation, regarding abnormally high mortality rates in...
Dates:
1881-1984
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Pearl H. Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.043
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a family Bible, ration books from World War II, correspondence, a diary, stenographers' notebooks, and other personal materials.
Dates:
1930-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Terry L. Meyers Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.047
Scope and Contents
The papers of College of William and Mary Department of English faculty member Terry Meyers document his career and research interests. Acc. 2004.01 is the printed four page illustrated prospectus for "Uncollected Letters of Algernon Charles Swinburne", 3 vols., to be published May 2004 by Pickering and Chatto, London. Acc. 2009.256 includes file of material relating to Prof. Terry Meyers' ACLU lawsuit about the Virginia law which required him to obtain permission to...
Dates:
1993-2010; Majority of material found in 1988-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas A. Graves Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.21
Scope and Contents
This collection includes the personal papers of Thomas Graves mostly in the form of appointment books, travel diaries, and personal correspondence. Box 1 holds appointment books of Thomas Graves from the 1960s through the 1990s. Box 2 holds cards, personal notes, and a travel diary of Andrew Graves. Box 3 holds scrapbooks from Graves' time as president of the College of William and Mary. Box 4 holds travel diaries beginning in the 1960s. Finally, the contents of box 5 books and miscellaneous...
Dates:
1961-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G54
Scope and Contents
The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. The majority of the...
Dates:
1712-1989; Majority of material found in 1947-1989
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents
This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....
Dates:
1919-1958
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. Melville Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.026
Scope and Contents
This collection documents activities and events at the College of William and Mary during the career of W. Melville Jones. It is primarily composed of material collected in scrapbooks. The first scrapbook was digitized and the original returned to the donor. For the digital scans of the first scrapbook, the papers are arranged as a model of the original volume. The papers are arranged chronologically with two loose photographs without a date filed at the end. Identification...
Dates:
1930-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Grace Warren Landrum Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.013
Scope and Contents
This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.
Dates:
1890-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Armand J. Galfo Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.019
Scope and Contents
The collection contains materials related to Dr. Armand J. Galfo's teaching in the School of Education, service to the College of William and Mary, and scholarship throughout his career, his teaching and scholarly activities, awards and achievements, and service in the Air Force and Air Force Reserves.The materials consist of correspondence, news clippings, photographs, pamphlets, publications by Dr. Galfo, research materials of Armand and Mary Galfo, teaching notes, photocopies...
Dates:
circa 1940-2008; Majority of material found in 1958-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Amos Koontz Papers II
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 K83
Scope and Contents
Personal and professional papers of Amos Ralph Koontz, surgeon. The personal papers, 1865-1986, include the correspondence of Koontz, his wife, Besse (Stocking) Koontz and their son, James William Koontz. Included are travel diaries, documents concerning the College of William and Mary and Johns Hopkins and material relating to social clubs and societies. The professional papers contain correspondence relating to Koontz' medical practice, political material, documents pertaining to military...
Dates:
1865-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carl A. "Pappy" Fehr Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.017
Scope and Contents
The collection contains materials related to Dr. Carl A. Fehr's music professorship as well as his direction of the College of William and Mary's choral program and those of The Common Glory and The Founders summer pageants and the Williamsburg Baptist Church choir. In addition to his reflections on choral direction and discipline, the collection includes extensive materials on Dr. Fehr's professional management of the College's choral program, a series of published choral programs, a...
Dates:
1907-2012; Majority of material found in 1945-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
G. Walter Mapp Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 84 M32
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1895-1935, of George Walter Mapp consisting chiefly his of personal and professional correspondence. Topics in the correspondence include women suffrage, Prohibition, 1918 First District of Virginia Congressional Democratic primary, 1928 presidential election, and the 1929 Virginia gubernatorial Democratic primary. In addition to papers pertaining to Mapp's political career, much of the collection pertains to Mapp's legal practice on the Eastern Shore of Virginia and includes...
Dates:
1873-1941
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Rene A. Henry papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.082
Scope and Contents
The collection includes the personal and professional papers of Rene A. Henry including a number of photographs, correspondence, scrapbooks, press releases, and publications that pertain to his life and career in sports marketing, public relations, housing, construction, television, entertainment, association management, and government service. The collection also holds materials from the 1988 presidential campaign of George H. W. Bush and Dan Quayle.
Dates:
1953-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Booton-Modesitt Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.570
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Modesitt-Booton families of Luray, Virginia. The bulk of the collection consists of papers relating to Lucy Marye of Luray, Virginia who married James Modesitt in 1815. She was widowed in 1827 and remarried James Booton in 1830. Lucy was born to Peter and Eleanor Marye and was sister to William Staige Marye, who is considered one of the founders of Luray, Virginia Also included are letters by John Booton and others relating to slavery and politics, children's copy books,...
Dates:
circa 1809-1880; Majority of material found in 1820-1850
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.09
Scope and Contents
Personal papers of and concerning Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler, president of William & Mary. The collection includes biographical materials, a student notebook kept at John Hopkins University; scrapbook of letters compiled in honor of the fifteenth anniversary of Chandler's presidency; and correspondence, 1895-1916. There is correspondence of Frederic William Boatwright and some letters concerning the Richmond Academy, the Women's College of Richmond, and Richmond College....
Dates:
1893-1934
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hans C. von Baeyer Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.103
Scope and Contents
The bulk of this collection contains subject files, correspondence, reports, and committee files created and collected by William and Mary Physics Professor Hans Von Baeyer while he was Director of the Virginia Associated Research Campus (VARC) from 1979-1984. Included in this material are: correspondence and reports of Board of Visitors Meetings; reports of the William and Mary Self-Study committee in 1983; and correspondence with various William and Mary offices and departments. The papers...
Dates:
1979-1984
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tyler Family Papers, Group B
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia...
Dates:
1868-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Ludwell H. Johnson III Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.042
Scope and Contents
1992 Accession: Box 1: Correspondence and memoranda written and received by Johnson as a member of the faculty and chair of the History Department and while serving as a member on several college committees (e.g., Faculty Library; Planning; Continuing Studies; Faculty Affairs; OIEAHC). Box 2: Personal papers, including correspondence, clippings, and material on student advising. Box 3: Standard exam questions used by the History Department. Acc. 2008.164:...
Dates:
circa 1960-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard B. Sherman Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.055
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1994.048: Thirty boxes of personal papers.
Acc. 1998.025: Copy of Sherman's autobiography Learning from the Past: Memoirs of a Would-Be Historian.
Acc. 1999.088: Two boxes of personnel files and correspondence.
Dates:
circa 1960-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center