Special Collections Research Center

Scope and Contents

Enclosed is a certificate for four beefs taken for public use at Buffalo plantation. I have not received a return from Colonel Nashe's mill. I am just setting off for the mountains.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Williamsburg, Virginia items given by Will Molineux, mostly via the Williamsburg Historic Records Association. Some items are personal papers (newspaper articles, etc.) of Will Molineux. The photograph collection covers the entire Williamsburg area, including James City County and York County. Subjects include people, places, buildings, events, Colonial Williamsburg as well as the College of William & Mary.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Correspondence and notes on Virginia families by Mrs. Margaret H. Morton, genealogist, of Farmville, Virginia in response to inquires.  Most of her notes are transcriptions of courthouse records, though she often created family trees for clients and clients sometimes sent their genealogy history to her.

Mrs. Morton's inventory is filed in the first folder, which lists folders not received with the accession.

Includes index of family names and inquirers.

Scope and Contents

"Julia Green was here...when I told her that you had gotten a letter from Mr. Hoge she said she was so jealous of you that she was ready to fight..."

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...

Scope and Contents

This letter is undated but probably received before December 7, 1858.

Scope and Contents

Fanny has returned to Rev. Hoge's school; her friend writes regarding scarlet fever.

Scope and Contents Buildings & Grounds - Chancellors HallBuildings & Grounds - College AirportBuildings & Grounds - College Camp of 1775-1781Buildings & Grounds - College CemeteryBuildings & Grounds - College FarmBuildings & Grounds - Common Glory OfficeBuildings & Grounds - Crim DellBuildings & Grounds - Development and Expansion PlansBuildings & Grounds - Dudley Digges House...

Scope and Contents

One framed plaque, 10in. x 16in. awarded by the College of William and Mary. Located in Dec Obj S2, SS3. UA 1983.105

Scope and Contents

Annexed an account of the provisions furnished old Syphax last year. He is entirely dependent on his friends.

Scope and Contents

Thanks Morton for his kind letter and encloses a copy of Scribner's Magazine autographed by Byrd.

Scope and Contents

 Letter of Richard Morton to Eleana and Bell Abbott with postscript by Estelle Morton giving details about his illness and mentioning his Virginia article in the Encyclopedia Britannica. [move to acquisition files: Letter, 26 March 2006, of W.W. Abbott to Margaret Cook, Manuscript Librarian,  concerning an item he sent as an addition to the Richard Morton Papers.]

Scope and Contents From the Series:

This series contains records from the Office of the President under Davis Young Paschall. The bulk of the material range from 1960-1971 but some of the records may have been integrated from previous presidencies.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents Concerning high honor conferred on him by the College of William and Mary.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: Contains Susan H. Godson's notes from her contributions to The College of William & Mary: A History (1993).  Most of the notes are handwritten on yellow legal or letter-sized paper and relate to the college's history beginning around 1888 and continuing throughout the twentieth century.  The papers include research-related correspondence, including several letters from the late College President Paschall.  The papers also include reproductions of numerous archival documents and news...

Scope and Contents From the Sub-Series: Frances Bland Coalter is the daughter of St. George Tucker Coalter and grandchild of John Coalter. Her correspondence gives a picture of mid-nineteenth century life and includes a near scandal in her attachment to her married schoolmaster, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge. The contents of this box end with the marriage of Frances Bland Coalter and Henry Peronneau Brown. Letters of Brown and his wife resume in Box 21. Largely papers collected by Frances Bland Coalter between February 1853, when she is...

Scope and Contents From the Series:

Box: 1-2. Letters are arranged alphabetically by author.

Scope and Contents

Scope and Contents A schoolmate who has left Rev. Mr. Hoge's school writes back.

Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Scope and Contents From the Collection:

Williamsburg, Virginia items given by Will Molineux, mostly via the Williamsburg Historic Records Association. Some items are personal papers (newspaper articles, etc.) of Will Molineux. The photograph collection covers the entire Williamsburg area, including James City County and York County. Subjects include people, places, buildings, events, Colonial Williamsburg as well as the College of William & Mary.

Scope and Contents

Have supplied old Syphax with $53.58 worth of food and clothing

Scope and Contents Jona[tha]n Boucher, Epsom, [Eng.] to Sir Frederick [Morton Eden], 3 Nov[embe]r 1786 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed (A/3/1). While Eden was in Paris, police discipline made him write, but since his return to England, Boucher has had no letter. He invites Eden and his friend Deverell of Oriel to spend Christmas with him. He has sent him a letter introducing Mr. Zimmermann of Brunswick.Jona[tha]n Boucher, Epsom, [Eng.] to Sir Fred[eric]k M[orton] Eden, Christ Church, Oxford,...

Scope and Contents Jona[tha]n Boucher to Sir Fred[eri]c[k] M[orton] Eden, London, [Eng.], 9 March 1794 1 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. (A/3/7). He is coming to town with Mr. Stevens [see B/3] on Tuesday and will dine with Eden. Requests a meeting with Capt[ai]n Eden "to settle everything" at Sir Frederick's house.Jona[tha]n Boucher to Sir Fred[eric]k M[orton] Eden, London, [Eng.], 20 March 1794 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. [pasted inside 9 March 1794.] (A/3/8). He has written to the...

Scope and Contents J[onathan] B[oucher] to Sir Frederick [Morton] Eden, Lincoln's Inn Fields, London, England, 16 June 1796 1 page. Autograph Letter Signed. (A3/13). He is sending some notes which Eden may be able to use in his book. Buried a Miss Boucher whose brother "wants to make it out that they & I are related."Jona[tha]n Boucher, Epsom, [Eng.] to Sir Fred[eric]k [Morton] Eden, London, [Eng.], 17 June 1796 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. (A/3/14). The bearer of this letter is Mr. Robert...

Scope and Contents Item 1: Sir] Frederick Morton Eden, Ch[rist] Ch[urch], Oxford, [Eng], to Jon[athan] Boucher, Epsom, [Eng.], 8 Nov. 1786 2 pages. Autograph Letter Signed. Bears seal. (B/4/1). He has been entertaining Mr. Zimmerman [see A/3/1] in Oxford. He agrees with Boucher on the subject of the Commercial Treaty with France and thinks that more might have been done. Problems with "Billy's Commission" by which he lost 6 months rank. Hopes to come to Epsom soon. Item 2: [Sir] Frederick Morton Eden, Lambeth...