Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results
New Search
Search all record types where
  • keyword(s): George Washington

Showing Results: 1 - 11 of 11

Charles Washington Coleman, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00011
Scope and Contents The collection is arranged into three series and includes correspondence, receipts, insurance documents, and photographs.  Series 1 contains correspondence, which is arranged alphabetically by the surname of the sender. Series 2 contains financial papers and largely includes bills and receipts for the estate of Coleman's father, Thomas.  Series 3 contains general subject/miscellaneous files and covers topics such as the Shelton-Laurel Massacre, Coleman's friend Rear Admiral Robley D. Evans,...
Dates: 1807-1908
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Dates: 1834-1928, 1988, undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Luther Kibler Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. MsV Ad84-97, Ad97A - 97B
Scope and Contents James Luther Kibler was a historian, author, newspaper correspondent and secretary of the Socialist Party in Virginia. Scrapbooks, ca. 1920-ca. 1940, of James Luther Kibler, of Williamsburg, Va. Scrapbooks contains newspaper clippings of current events pasted onto magazine pages, mostly concerning Virginia and the history of the Williamsburg area. Includes some handwritten and typed notes as well as loose mimeographed copies of radio talks, 1942, given by Elwood Street, Director,...
Dates: circa 1920-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Southall Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates: 1807-1904
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg Poems

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01194
Scope and Contents

Three poems related to Williamsburg.  "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook."  "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee.  "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates: 1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Edmund Randolph Letter Regarding Finances

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00974
Scope and Contents

Letter, 21 Feb. 1780, of Edmund Randolph, Williamsburg, Va. to unidentified recipient. Letter concerns a suit to collect the principle and interest of a bond. Also mentions Mr. Hunter, West, Peyton, and [George] Wythe.

Dates: 1780 February 21
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...
Dates: 1784-1934; Majority of material found in 1830-1892
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00017
Scope and Contents These papers contain correspondence, photographs, business papers, artifacts, certificates, and other materials related to Charles Edward Gary, Jr. Mr. Gary was a prominent African American business owner in Williamsburg, operating for decades the West End Valet Shop off Prince George Street. The collection comprises business ledgers and other West End Valet Shop records over several years, as well as legal documents pertaining to the Valet Shop and Gary family estates such as leases and...
Dates: circa 1870s-2000s; Majority of material found in 1940-1980
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Pulaski Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Content Description

Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame. Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings. Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.

Dates: 1877-2014
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

FISH Inc. records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00343
Content Description

Records pertaining to the history and operations of FISH. FISH is an all volunteer organization, supported by the local community, providing food, clothing, small house ware items, and some transportation for medical appointments to residents who are in an emergency or crisis situation.

Dates: 1985-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Financial records 3
Poems 3
∨ more
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Artifacts 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Legal documents 2
Photographs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Business records 1
Certificates 1
Charities--Virginia--Richmond 1
Charity organization 1
Children--Death 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Commonplace books 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Food banks 1
Genealogy 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
History of the College 1
Lawyers--Virginia--History 1
Membership lists 1
Men--Virginia--Societies and clubs 1
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Minutes 1
Photocopies 1
Poetry 1
Reports 1
Resolutions (administrative records) 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Scrapbooks 1
Shelton Laurel Valley (N.C.)--Massacre, 1863 1
Slavery--Virginia--History 1
United States Military Academy 1
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Refugees 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States--Religious History--Christianity 1
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
Volunteers 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
Women--Virginia--Williamsburg--Social conditions--19th century 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
Yorktown (Va.) 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Coleman family 3
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 3
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Alexandria gazette 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
∨ more
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coke, Richard, 1790-1851 1
Coleman, Charles Washington, 1826-1894 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Deneufville, John Augustine 1
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 1
Ewell family 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 1
FISH, Inc. (Williamsburg, VA) 1
Gary, Charles Edward Jr. , 1907-2001 1
Gary, Zelda DeBerry 1
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 1
Improved Benevolent Protective Order of Elks of the World 1
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 1
MacCaulay, Alexander, 1745-1798 1
Office of the President 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 1
Southall Family 1
Southall family 1
Southall, George Washington, 1775-1835 1
Southall, George Washington, 1810-1851 1
Southall, Peyton Alexander, 1804-1855 1
Tucker 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tucker-Coleman Family 1
United States George Washington Bicentennial Commission 1
Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Washington family 1
Washington, George, 1732-1799 1
West End Valet Shop (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
+ ∧ less