Search collections where
- keyword(s): "williamsburg historic records association"
Showing Results: 51 - 59 of 59
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Cole-Lane Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00059
Scope and Contents
Collection includes materials related to the Lane and Cole families of Williamsburg, Virginia including wills, voting ballots, property reciepts, deeds, photographs, contracts, estate documents, invitations, diaries, and correspondence. The materials detail the political, economic and social issues in Williamsburg during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Specific Virginia properties are named, i.e. "Lilliput" and "Lightview." The emancipation of named enslaved...
Dates:
Majority of material found within 1794-1934
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Vernon Geddy, Jr. Speech on Williamsburg Restoration
Collection
Identifier: SC 00613
Scope and Contents
Typed copy of a speech on Williamsburg and the Restoration given to the Bruton Parish Men's Club during August, 1988.
WHRA.
Dates:
1988 August
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Christine Henderson Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: SC 00610
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook of Christine Henderson, class of 1924, Williamsburg High School. Memorabilia includes original photographs.
Dates:
1920-1924
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lloyd H. and Ruth Elizabeth Williams Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.21-2007.66-2015.146
Scope and Contents
Mss. Acc. 1998.21: Papers, (bulk 1947-1959), of Lloyd Haynes Williams, photographer and journalist. The largest part of the collection is financial in nature. Includes newspaper clippings concerning Williams, including an obituary and editorial at his death. Includes papers of Mrs. E. E. Goodrich. Also includes notes on sailing, shipbuilding, fishing, oystering and crab industries. There are many notes concerning piracy and a manuscript by Williams called "Blackbeard's Account."...
Dates:
1917-2008 and undated; Majority of material found in 1947-1959
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Thomas E. Pugh Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents
The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material. Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940. He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944. His first...
Dates:
1914-2001; Majority of material found in 1941-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents
This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections. The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates:
1858-2015
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Capital Club of Williamsburg Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.09
Scope and Contents
Records of the Capital Club of Williamsburg (formerly named the Middle Plantation Club of Williamsburg), which was founded by Rawls Byrd in 1966. The collection includes organizational histories, membership directories and rosters, meeting minutes, scrapbooks of club events, and other material.
Dates:
1960-2019; Majority of material found in 1970-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00210
Scope and Contents
This collection contains correspondence, clippings, notebooks, and other material related to Archibald F. Ward, Jr. Included in the collection are notebooks and articles pertaining to Ward while he was the Chaplain at Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia, biographical material related to Ward, a notebook describing Ward's experience at Magruder and Camp Peary, correspondence with various members of the Rockefeller family, and correspondence related to the 250th anniversary...
Dates:
1939-2007; Majority of material found in 1945-1960
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center