Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 251 - 275 of 278

Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.09
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks, programs, photographs and minutes of the Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1961-2011; Majority of material found in 1975-1990

Williamsburg Area Historical Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.41 and Acc. 2005.45
Scope and Contents

Records of the Williamsburg Area Historical Society and six monographs on Williamsburg, Virginia related topics.

Dates: 1983-1993

Williamsburg Area Performing Arts Center Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.105
Scope and Contents

Minutes, reports, correspondence and papers of the Williamsburg Area Performing Arts Center, formerly the Williamsburg Area Civic and Cultural Center, Inc. of Williamsburg, Virginia. This group attempted to create a performing arts center in the Williamsburg area, but was not successful.

Dates: 1999-2007

Williamsburg Arts Council Scrapbook

 Collection — Box: 1, Bound Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.029
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1967-1974 of the Williamsburg Arts Council, consisting of programs, news clippings, photographs, financial records, fliers and correspondence.

Dates: 1967-1974

Williamsburg Bibliophiles Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 W67
Scope and Contents

Papers of the Williamsburg (Va.) Bibliophiles. Includes articles of organization, minutes, membership lists, accounts and budgets, newsletters, correspondence, programs, donations and contributions, and materials relating to a student book collecting contest sponsored by the organization. Includes first accession ((Mss. 90 W67))and additions.

Dates: 1974-1991

Williamsburg Bicycle Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00168
Scope and Contents

Records, 1983-1993, of the Williamsburg Bicycle Association. Includes the constitution, minutes, correspondence, fliers, membership lists, and records of dues paid to the organization.

Dates: 1983-1993

Williamsburg Crossroads Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 323
Scope and Contents

This collection includes summaries of reports for the Williamsburg Crossroads project. The project was a collaboration between the College of William and Mary, the City of Williamsburg, James City County, Colonial Williamsburg, and several other local businesses. The project was in charge of creating a plan for the economic development of the Greater Williamsburg area.

Dates: 1997-1998

Williamsburg Documentary Project

 Collection
Identifier: UA 351
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected and created by the Williamsburg Documentary Project. The Williamsburg Documentary Project conducts oral history interviews and builds physical and digital archives, as well as other activities, through which it interprets the past of Williamsburg, Virginia.The collection includes publications, news clippings, interviews, and planning documents about Merchant's Square, New Town, food, immigration, as well as events related to...
Dates: Circa 1930-2015; Majority of material found in 2008-2015

Williamsburg Historic Records Association Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00033
Scope and Contents

Organizational records of the Williamsburg Historic Records Association (W.H.R.A.).  Includes accession record of donations, newspaper articles, press releases, brochures, photographs, resolutions, correspondence, notices of annual meetings, minutes, WHRA constitution and some material on the formation of WHRA. There is also a resolution honoring Janet Coleman Kimbrough.

Dates: 1984-2009

Williamsburg Knitting Mill Company Payroll Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ami T3 Oversize Double Folio
Scope and Contents

Payroll book, 1912-1916, of the Williamsburg Knitting Mill Company, Williamsburg, Va. which lists employees, many of whom are female.

Dates: 1912-1916

Williamsburg Methodist Church Checkbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch12
Scope and Contents

Checkbook, 1927-1930, containing vouchers for funds paid by H. L. Bridges while treasurer of the Williamsburg Methodist Church, South, Williamsburg, Va. which includes a contract and correspondence concerning building the church's parsonage.

Dates: 1927-1930

Williamsburg Music Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 W92
Scope and Contents

The Wednesday Morning Music Club changed its name to the Williamsburg Music Club.  All accessions include the records of the club with programs, publicity, yearbooks, presidents notebooks, minutes, scrapbooks, as well as a history of the organization.

Dates: 1964-2011

Williamsburg. Office of the Registrar Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.211
Scope and Contents

3 volumes of the Voter Registrar's office of the City of Williamsburg, Virginia, consisting of a "List of White Voters, 1896, 1904-1946,"  "Colored Registered Voters, 1902, 1904-1946, 1930-1953, 1964," and "White Registered Voters, 1904-1964, 1905-1953."

Dates: 1896-1964

Williamsburg Players Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 W67 and 1995.11
Scope and Contents Collection consists of correspondence, financial and legal documents, receipts, meeting minutes, photographs, newspaper articles, slides, as well as other material of the Williamsburg Players. Mss. 91 W67 Twelve scrapbooks of publicity, photographs, newsclippings, and programs, from its founding in 1956 to 1987. Mss. Acc. 1995.11 Programs, newsletters, minutes, news clippings, play reading committee material, correspondence regarding grants, photographs and drawings...
Dates: 1956-2004

Williamsburg Poems

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01194
Scope and Contents

Three poems related to Williamsburg.  "Lay of the Lost Lion" by Cynthia Beverley Tucker Coleman, originally in the Williamsburg Garden Club's 1932 "Williamsburg Scrapbook."  "The Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, VA, Its origin and fame and how it got its name" by the History Committee.  "My God, They've sold the town" a poem about John D. Rockefeller, Jr.'s purchasing houses in Williamsburg.

Dates: undated

Williamsburg Post Office Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Apo6 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1873-1880, of registered letters sent and received from the Williamsburg Post Office, Williamsburg, Va. when N. D. Piggott was the postmaster.

Dates: 1873-1880

Williamsburg Reunion Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.01
Scope and Contents

The collection includes programs, booklets, and various material from the Williamsburg Reunion. The Williamsburg Reunion is a series of activities designed to celebrate the common heritage and shared memories of everyone who lived in the Williamsburg area 40 or more years ago.

Dates: 1968-2010

Williamsburg Tourist Letter

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 119
Identifier: SC 01741
Content Description

A letter written by a father to his daughter Helen. The three page document is written on College of William and Mary stationary labeled with the name of President J.A.C Chandler. Within the letter, the father explains his plans to travel to other sites such as Jamestown and Richmond, and describes the old parish church he visited while in Williamsburg.

Dates: August 16th, 1919

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015

Williamsburg, Va. Businessman's Association Minute Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Mi2-MsV Mi3
Scope and Contents

Minute books, 1899-1925, of the Businessman's Association, Williamsburg, Va. which includes the constitution stating that the purpose of the organization is to "encourage and promote the commercial, mercantile and manufacturing interests of the city of Williamsburg . . . ,".

Dates: 1899-1925

Williamsburg (Va.) Merchant's Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20u Oversize
Scope and Contents

An account book of an unknown merchant in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1845-1849

Williamsburg, Virginia Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00397
Scope and Contents Photocopies of three letters written from Williamsburg, Virginia by W.W. Vest, J.M. Chevers and Unknown. W.W. Vest of Williamsburg, Virginia to John M. Speer (or Speed) of Lynchburg, Virginia about hiring out of negroes and financial matters. 1843. Unknown in Williamsburg, Virginia to Robert Saunders in Fauquier, Virginia about family and a scandal at "The Springs." 1844. J. M. Chevers, a student in Williamsburg, Virginia, to Rev. CW. Thomson in Richmond,...
Dates: 1843-1846

Williamsburg, Virginia Souvenir Photograph Booklet

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01152
Scope and Contents

Souvenir photograph album of Williamsburg and vicinity, early 20th century.

Dates: circa 1906

Williamsburg Woman's Club World War II Oral History Project Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.76
Scope and Contents

This collection is composed of transcripts and cassette tapes of interviews with 80 people by the Woman's Club of Williamsburg, Virginia to document the World War II experiences of people living in Williamsburg, Virginia in 2004. Folders may contain correspondence, biographical information, copies of photographs, previously written remembrances of WWII, and release forms. The collection also includes a small number of files created by the Woman's Club during the duration of the project.

Dates: 2004-2008; Majority of material found in 2004

Dudley Woodbridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 89 W85
Scope and Contents

Speeches and newspaper clippings relating to the career of Dudley Warner Woodbridge, who was professor, 1927-1966, and Dean of the Law school at the College of William and Mary. Also includes photographs and letters written to him on the occasion of his retirement.

Dates: 1897-1969

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 143
Correspondence 101
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 80
Photographs 71
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 38
∨ more
Financial records 36
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 33
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 33
Account books 31
Legal documents 28
Programs 28
Scrapbooks 28
Minutes 27
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 26
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 24
Diaries 22
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 22
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 20
Reports 20
Letters (correspondence) 19
Clippings (information artifacts) 18
Printed ephemera 18
Pamphlets 17
Newspapers 16
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 15
Certificates 13
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 12
Ledgers (Accounting) 12
Receipts (financial records) 12
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 11
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 11
Notebooks 11
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 10
Fliers (printed matter) 10
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 10
Manuscripts (document genre) 10
World War, 1939-1945 10
Invitations 9
Photocopies 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 9
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 9
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 8
Genealogy 8
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Poems 8
Publications 8
Speeches 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 8
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Business records 7
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
Jamestown Festival (1957) 7
Maps 7
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 7
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 7
Agendas (administrative records) 6
Broadsides 6
Deeds 6
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 6
Slides (photographs) 6
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--21st century 6
Women--Education--Virginia 6
World War, 1914-1918 6
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg--History 5
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 5
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
College of William and Mary--Students 5
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 5
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Newsletters 5
Obituaries 5
Postcards 5
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 5
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
Speeches, addresses, etc. 5
Typescripts 5
United States--History--War of 1812 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 5
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 5
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Audiocassettes 4
Christmas cards 4
College of William and Mary--Presidents 4
Deeds--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 4
Journals (accounts) 4
Mental illness--Treatment--History 4
Morticians 4
Negatives 4
Oral histories 4
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 275
French 3
German 2
English, Old (ca.450-1100) 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 59
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 18
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 17
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 10
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
Coleman family 5
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 5
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 5
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 5
Madison, James, 1749-1812 5
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 4
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 4
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Williamsburg Reunion (Va.) 4
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 3
Galt family 3
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 3
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 3
Kimbrough, Janet C 3
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 3
Armistead Family 2
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 2
Economic Development 2
Ewell, Elizabeth S., 1814- 2
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 2
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 2
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Geddy, Vernon M., Jr 2
Hall, Channing Moore, III 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Jamestown Corporation 2
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 2
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
McCandlish, Robert 2
Millington, Thomas Charles, fl. 1836-1850 2
Molineux, Will 2
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 2
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 2
Oxrieder, Julia W. 2
Pedersen, Thelma 2
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 2
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 2
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 2
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 2
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 2
Seddon, James Alexander, 1815-1880 2
Sheldon, Jacob D. 2
Shiflett, Glenna Graves 2
Southall family 2
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
The Virginia Comedians 2
Tucker 2
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 2
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 2
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Post-War Planning Commission (Va.) 2
Woodbridge, Dudley Warner, 1896-1969 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Alexandria gazette 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
American Studies Program 1
Anthony, James 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
Armistead, Moss 1
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Army Nurse Corp 1
Arnold, Benedict, 1741-1801 1
Art Song of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less