Showing Collections: 1 - 12 of 12
Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, Whiting Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B58
Scope and Contents
Letters, chiefly 1765-1817, of the Blair, Banister, Braxton, Horner, and Whiting families. Correspondents include John Blair (1732-1800), Anne (Blair) Banister and Mary (Blair) Braxton Burwell Prescott. Many of the letters are written by women.Subjects covered in the collection include the Baron de Botetourt, William Tryon, Martha Washington, dueling, social life and customs, marriage and courtship, medicine, the Richmond theater fire, slavery, War of 1812, the College of William...
Dates:
1760-1890; Majority of material found in 1765-1817
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Blair Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68s B57
Scope and Contents
An artificial collections of papers concerning the Blair family of Williamsburg. Includes land grant, 1741, signed by James Blair (1655-1743); document, 1768, signed by John Blair (1689-1771) concerning Loudoun County, Va. justices of the peace; depositions, 1787 and n.d., of John Blair (1732-1800) concerning a lawsuit in the Superior Court of Chatham County, Ga. (Margaret Eustace vs. Seth John Cuthbert) which concerned the estate of his brother, James Blair (1741-1772); deposition, November...
Dates:
1741-1792
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (III)
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents
The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...
Dates:
1750-1991
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Philip Johnson Legal Documents
Collection
Identifier: SC 00688
Scope and Contents
Legal documents concerning the estate of Philip Johnson of Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia. Investiture of Bruton Parish, James City County land to Philip Johnson to eventually become part of the City of Williamsburg at the Court of St. James, dated November 1763. Chancery lawsuit, 1791, written to the Honorable George Wythe Judge of the High Court of Chancery, concerning a trust agreement made in 1769 with Peyton Randolph, Lewis Burwell, Robert Carter Nicholson, and Philip...
Dates:
1761-1791
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents
Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more. Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.
Dates:
1873-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
The Old Court Journal
Collection
Identifier: SC 00398
Scope and Contents
Photocopy of a typed manuscript of "The Old Court Journal" by Miss "Gibbie Galt" telling the story of the Virginia Gazette and Williamsburg, Virginia. 1 item.
Dates:
circa 1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Myron Schmall Collection
Collection
Identifier: SC 00571
Scope and Contents
Original letters and documents pertaining to the history of early Virginia, particularly Williamsburg, and negative prints of pages containing accounts of Williamsburg found in 18th century gazeteers.
Dates:
1711-1815
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Seminar on Colonial Life Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 20
Scope and Contents
This collection includes records related to the Seminar on Colonial Life at the College of William and Mary such as correspondence, publication, press releases, and related material. Howard Fowler was the director of the Seminar on Colonial Life. The subjects of the black and white photographs include buildings within Colonial Williamsburg, including the Wythe House as well as costumed interpreters, Dr. W. A. R. Goodwin, and the Wren Building at William & Mary.
Dates:
1937-1941
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Tucker-Coleman Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents
Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates:
1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Wythe Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents
Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...
Dates:
1779-1927
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Samuel H. Yonge Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Y8
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1890-1935, of Samuel Humphreys Yonge. Yonge was an army engineer who worked on flood control projects and navigational improvements. Yonge was interested in excavations at Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. and in archaeological projects throughout Virginia. Included is correspondence; early twentieth century photographs of ruins and excavations at Jamestown; notebooks of land patent abstracts and other notes concerning Jamestown; and printed material. The collection also includes an...
Dates:
1890-1935
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center