Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 55

John A. Hunter Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00289
Scope and Contents

Letter from Jno. A. Hunter, Medical Director, S.W. Va., C.G. Hospital, Charleston, Va. (W. Va.). to Major General William Wing Loring, Charleston, Va. (W. Va.). He reports on the sanitary condition of the army, casualties and wounded from fighting at Fayette Court House, Cotton Hill, Montgomery's, and Charleston and enemy losses at Fayetteville.

Dates: 1862 September 15

Edward R. Jones, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01262
Scope and Contents Letters, 1861-1898, bulk, 1861-1864, of Edward R. Jones, Jr. of Co. K, 95th Pennsylvania Volunteers. (Col. John M. Gosline's Pennsylvania Zouaves) written to his mother, aunt, cousin, and William Butt, Jr. Letters were written from Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. and describe camp life and battle, express his views on the war, and discuss family affairs. Includes a description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and Jones' part at the Battle of Fredericksburg (1862). He also...
Dates: 1861-1898, circa 1992

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

Dates: 1860-1875

Memories of Rebel Prisons

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00217
Scope and Contents Bound manuscript titled "Memories of Rebel Prisons".  Contains a list of Union prisoners from the Civil War kept in the Confederate prisons of 'Castle Thunder' and 'Libby' in Richmond, Virginia and a prison in Salisbury, North Carolina.  A memorandum written by Joshua Harris Aubin dated May 14, 1940 reads, "The first thirty pages are in hand writing of Captain W.B. Galucia (1834- 1902), after that in my hand-writing although I cannot recall when or in what circumstances."...
Dates: 1883

William H. E. Morecock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents

Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment.  Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853.  Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.

Dates: 1850-1890

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...
Dates: 1862

Robert Ould Letters to Nathaniel Beverley Tucker

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00677
Scope and Contents

Two letters from Robert Ould to Nathaniel Beverly Tucker.

The 1868 letter, written from Richmond, Virginia, is four pages and refers to the punishment being meted out to Southern rebels, especially Jefferson Davis. (Ould was the Confederate chief of the Bureau of the Exchange of Prisoners.)

The 1877 letter is two pages and concerns Ould's son who was on trial for a shooting.  Ould attended the proceedings.

Dates: 1868, 1877

Emanuel Peter Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01212
Scope and Contents Letters written primarily by Emmanuel Peter while serving in the 49th Pennsylvania Volunteers and mailed to his family. Includes letters from war camps near Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C. Other locations include Fairfax, Chickahominy, Warwick County, Harrison's Landing, Berryville, Belle Plain, White Oak Church, Rappahannock River, Brandy Station, Petersburg (Weldon Railroad, Fort Hell, Fort Wadsworth), Harper's Ferry, Winchester, Middletown, and Richmond in Virginia. Letters...
Dates: 1861-1865

William H. Phillips Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 P54
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1838-1865, of the Crowder and Phillips families of Lunenburg and Mecklenburg counties, Virginia. Includes letters, 1861-1865, of William H. Phillips while serving in the 14th Virginia Infantry Regiment on Jamestown Island, at Chester, Virginia and near Farmville, Virginia.

Dates: 1838-1865

Pollard Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01195
Scope and Contents Correspondence and memoir; 1862-1897, bulk 1862-1866, of Civil War soldier Sergeant Joseph Lawrence Pollard, Co. I, 26th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Gen. A. P. Hill's division). Letters were written by Pollard to his wife Martha Elizabeth 'Pat' Hutchinson Pollard at 'Rosewood' in the upper part of King and Queen County, Virginia. Letters describe camp life and respond to his wife's news of family and home. Letters were written from Gloucester Point, camp near Richmond, Chaffin's Bluff,...
Dates: 1862-1945

Rufus S. Read Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00735
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1861-1864 of Rufus S. Read (b. 1840) a Union soldier of Pennsylvania. He mustered into Company "K", Pennsylvania 31st Infantry on 5/27/1861 as a musician, and into 2nd Company, U.S. Light Artillery in 1862. For a preliminary description, provided by the seller, see finding aid link below.

Dates: 1861-1864

Colonel Robert W. West Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00096
Scope and Contents

One page letter from Colonel Robert W. West to Mrs. Lucy Tucker, Mrs. Lucy Hausford, and Mi[f]s. Emily Morrison dated 29 November 1863.  It is a summons for the ladies to return to Mrs. Vest's home in Williamsburg, all of the property they took without permission.  He requests them to comply within a week or he threatened to send colored troops to their homes to search and remove the items for them.

Dates: 1863 November 29

Robinson Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 R56
Scope and Contents Includes letters, chiefly 1793-1848, written to John Robinson from Merit M. Robinson and Ann Robinson of Smithfield, Va. and from his sons Moncure Robinson, Conway Robinson, Eustace Robinson, Alfred Robinson and Cary Robinson. The collection includes notebooks containing copies of letters, 1853, written by Conway Robinson on a tour of the British Isles and copies of letters, 1861-1864, written by Cary Robinson (1843-1864) while serving in the 6th Virginia Infantry Regiment as well as papers,...
Dates: 1725-1940; Majority of material found in 1793-1848

General David Allen Russell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer  newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of...
Dates: 1858-1868 and undated

See Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Se3
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1821-1918, of the See family of Hardy County, W. Va. Includes correspondence, 1856-1877, of Silas R. See and of his wife Anna [or Annie] See. Many of the letters were written by women and some were written by Anna See's sisters living in Pendleton County, W. Va. Several letters, 1861, were written by Silas R. See while serving in the Confederate Army.

Includes transcripts of letters prepared by Mark J. See in 1995.

Dates: 1821-1918

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...
Dates: 1834-1898

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954

William Taylor Correspondence

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.18
Scope and Contents Letters, September 1862 through October 1864, from Captain William Taylor, a soldier in the Pennsylvania Regiment during the American Civil War. The letters were written from camps in Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky, Illinois, Tennessee, Mississippi, Indiana, and Maryland to his wife Jane McKnight Taylor. Included are his descriptions of the Battle of Fredericksburg, the shelling of Vicksburg, the fighting, retreat, and siege outside of Knoxville, the siege of Petersburg, and the Petersburg mine...
Dates: 1862-1864

Thomas Morton, Jesse Cox, and Andrew I. Jones Bond Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00283
Dates: 1862 April 5

Christopher Tompkins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T59
Scope and Contents

Logbooks, account books and accounts, 1807-1841, of Christopher Tompkins kept while captain of ship "Pocahontas", 1807-1809, and while running a general merchandise store in Mathews Co., Va. Includes typed excerpts from a memoir of Tompkins compiled by his son, Christopher Quarles Tompkins in 1860 and twenty-one pages from an account book listing foodstuffs of A. Y. P. Garnett, surgeon in Sally Tompkins' Confederate hospital, Robertson Hospital, in Richmond, Virginia during the Civil War.

Dates: 1778-1838

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates: 1716-1946

Tyler Family Papers, Group G

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group G
Scope and Contents Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes I-III contain papers (many are typescript copies) of the Gardiner family of New York. Include letters of Juliana McLachlan Gardiner, her sons David Lyon Gardiner, Alexander Gardiner and daughter Margaret Gardiner Beeckman. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the...
Dates: 1645-1917

Unidentified Civil War Union Soldier letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01793
Content Description This collection contains a letter written by an unknown Union Army Civil War (1861-1865) solider in Newport News, Virginia dated Jan 9, circa 1863. The solider wrote to his sister about the conditions of the soldier's camp. In his description of the camp, he describes the amount of soldiers camped and the size of the camp. He writes that twenty soldiers were sick "with a bad cold." He also wrote the soliders were protecting five union families from the rebel forces. When he went scouting,...
Dates: 1865 January 9

Elizabeth Van Lew Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 V32
Scope and Contents Papers, 1854-1926, collected by John Albree in preparing lectures on Elizabeth Van Lew. Includes letters, notes, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Includes typed copies of her scrapbook. Collection also includes material concerning Jefferson Davis and Civil War letters from North Carolina. Acc. 2000.54 is microfilm of the collection. Folders 1-10 of the Elizabeth Van Lew Papers are available in Swem Library’s microforms area on 1 reel of microfilm, call number E608 .V34...
Dates: 1854-1926

Andrew J. Weeks Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00239
Scope and Contents 37 letters, mostly during the Civil War era, written by Andrew J. Weeks, of Brooklyn, New York, to his sister, Hannah Weeks of Merrick, Long Island, New York. He was a 1st sergeant of Co. D., 10th Regiment of the New York infantry Volunteers. He wrote from Fort Monroe, Virginia, Gosport Navy Yard, Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, Point Lookout, Maryland, Beaufort, North Carolina and Riker's Island, New York. On March 9, 1861, Weeks states the Merrimac has sunk the Cumberland and the Ericcson...
Dates: 1861-1902; Majority of material found in 1862-1866

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 46
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 41
Correspondence 20
Diaries 10
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 8
∨ more
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 7
West Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 6
Account books 5
Financial records 5
Letters (correspondence) 5
Receipts (financial records) 5
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 4
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 4
Photographs 4
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 4
Virginia--Maps 4
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Legal documents 3
Maps 3
Military records 3
Orders (military records) 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
Transcripts 3
Typescripts 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 3
United States--Politics and Government 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps--United States 2
Maryland--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Notebooks 2
Poems 2
Programs 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 2
Reports 2
Speeches 2
Technical reports 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Accounts 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
American Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Appointments (military records) 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battle of Gaines' Mill, 1862 1
Battle of Hatcher's Run, Feb. 1865 1
Battle of Locust Grove, 1862 1
Battle of Malvern Hill, 1862 1
Battle of Opequon (Third Battle of Winchester), 1864 1
Battle of South Mountain, 1862 1
Battle of West Point (Ga.), 1865 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bristoe Station, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. North Carolina Infantry Regiment, 46th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 21st--History 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 36th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 6th 1
Constitutional law--United States. 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.) 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Fair Oaks (Henrico County, Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Genealogy 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
French 1
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Loring, William Wing 2
McCausland, John 2
Tyler Family 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
Albree, John 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Benjamin, Mary A 1
Booth family 1
Churchill, Cassimere, 1840-1861 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Copland, Charles 1
Cox, Jesse 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Edmunds, Henry E. 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Everett, David R., -1862 1
Finney, George W. 1
Finney, William A. 1
Fitzhugh, H. 1
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 1
Galucia, Warren B., 1834-1902 1
Gardiner Family 1
Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 1
Gardiner, David Lyon 1
Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 1
Garnett, Alexander Y. P. (Alexander Yelverton Peyton), 1820-1888 1
Gensel, Ira F. 1
Gilmer Family 1
Gilmer, Anne Baker 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Gosport Navy Yard (Va.) 1
Harrison, Carter Henry, 1831-1861 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
Hill, D. H. 1
Hill, Daniel Harvey, 1821-1889 1
Hooker, Joseph 1
Hughes family 1
Hughes, Robert William 1
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 1
Hunter, David 1
Hunter, John 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Jenkins, Albert Gallatin 1
Jenkins, John H. B. 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Jones, Andrew I. 1
Jones, Edward R., Jr. 1
Lee, Henrietta B. 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Linkous, B.R. 1
Longwood University 1
McCandlish, Robert 1
McClellan, George Brinton 1
Morecock, William Henry Edloe 1
Morton, Thomas 1
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 1
Penny, Edward T. 1
Peter, Emmanuel 1
Peticolas, C. L. Southern Cross 1
Pollard, Joseph Lawrence 1
Pollard, Joseph P. , M.D. 1
Preston Family 1
Preston, Francis 1
Preston, John, 1764-1827 1
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 1
Robinson Family 1
Robinson family 1
Robinson, Conway 1
Robinson, Moncure, 1802-1891 1
See Family 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Skipwith, Robert 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Tompkins, Christopher Quarles, 1813-1877 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
+ ∧ less