Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 51 - 70 of 70

Red Oak Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01259
Scope and Contents

Daybook of a grocer in the small town of Red Oak, Virginia. This daybook contains a list of daily goods sold, cost amounts, and to whom goods were sold. The daybook contains 292 pages, all of which contain handwritten entries, and measures 15 inches x 7 inches x 1 inch.  This daybook contains page number notations that refer to a second ledger (likely to an account ledger which showed money owed by specific individuals), but the location of this second ledger is currently unknown.

L. S. Rhodes & Sons Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R34
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.

The ledgers are stored off-site and require a 72 hour notice for retrieval.

Richard Rabenstein Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01060
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1942-1944, of Richard Rabenstein of Chester, West Virginia. Rabenstein was born on 5 December 1933, making him 8 years old when he started keeping this diary. Discusses events at school, at his church, scores of football and basketball games, the weather, and other issues.

Robert W. Campbell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00902
Scope and Contents Robert Campbell lives near Reliance, Virginia in Warren County, Virginia. He is likely a high school student since he usually notes whether he attended school, which he often does not. He begins writing in November 1906 with one or two line entries of his activities, which consist of school, work, events such as butchering or marriages, visits to area towns, visits to neighbors, playing, hunting, fishing, work in the garden and church. He also gives the weather for most entries....

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

S. B. Barham, Jr. Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad19-MsV Ad20
Scope and Contents

Account books, February-May 1903, kept by a merchant at Runnymede, Virginia. S. B. Barham, Jr. was the son of Doctor S. B. Barham. He is referred to in his father's diaries as "Sid."

Scrapbook Regarding Virginia and the College of William and Mary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc40
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1927-1948, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clippings about Virginia and the College of William and Mary.

St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church (Portsmouth, Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch11
Scope and Contents

Minute book, 1925-1929, of the vestry of St. John's Protestant Episcopal Church, Portsmouth, Va.

Staff of Whittacker Memorial Hospital (Newport News, Va.) Bylaws and Meeting Minutes

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00900
Scope and Contents Bylaws, 1930 and meeting minutes, 1943-1948 of the medical staff of Whittacker Memorial Hospital, Newport News, Virginia. The bylaws define medical staff as medical doctors and the meetings cover all aspects of the hospital's medical services, general administration and day to day business. The meeting minutes cover a variety of business including matters related to staff and patient care. At least one reference to abortion was found by a researcher (during a class demonstration in 2/2010)....

Stenographic Report of the Investigation of the Public Schools

 Collection
Identifier: MsV Ad146
Scope and Contents Listed as Richmond City Council Joint Committee Minute Book in Swem Catalogue.Minutes, 1912, of an investigation into the public schools of Richmond, Virginia by a committee appointed of members of the City Council and Board of Aldermen to investigate overpayments of salary, curriculum, lack of harmony and cooperation among teachers, principals and the superintendent, and control by the State Board of Education.Includes testimony by female teachers and by J.A.C....

T. F. Rogers Daily Charge Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame C1
Scope and Contents

Daily charge book, 1923-1925, of T. F. Rogers, clothing store merchant, of Williamsburg, Va.

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...

Robert H. Tucker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 T795
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1923-1957; of Robert H. Tucker, professor of economics at Washington and Lee University, who served on Virginia Commission on County Government and the Virginia Commission on State and Local Government. Includes articles, speeches, lectures, reports and other writings concerning Virginia state and local government, tax reform, education, highways, economics, and Washington and Lee University. Most of the material is undated.

Union Co-Operative School papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01813
Content Description

A series of two letters and two pamphlets regarding the policies and curriculum of the Union Co-Operative School in Bedford city, Virginia. Correspondence is addressed to Mr. R.A. Bradley of Hammett, Virginia from the Union Co-Operative School and includes information on tuition and boarding costs as well as the structure of the curriculum. The two pamphlets outline the school's policies and initiatives as well as the courses offered within the program for prospective students.

Virginia Association for Local Self-Government Publications

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01296
Scope and Contents Printed broadsides, pamphlets and newspapers published by the Virginia Association for Local Self-Government which was against statewide prohibition. Includes "The Trumpeter" a newspaper style publication of the Virginia Association for Local Self-Government (July-August 1914) and a July 14, 1860 address, "The American Citizen" by Hon. D. W. Voorhees of Indiana before the Liberary Societies of the University of Virginia. A note in the accession record suggests these...

Virginia Cities Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Courtney Sharpe Ward Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.25, 2008.106
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, notes, papers, newspaper clippings, drafts and published articles belonging to Courtney Sharpe Ward, a writer for the Richmond News Leader in Richmond, Virginia. Many of her articles had a historical connection. The addition mostly consists of material on the 1957 350th Anniversary of Jamestown. Includes photograph and 1957 Press Card of Courtney Sharpe Ward.

Thomas L. Williams Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00254
Scope and Contents

Photographs, negatives, slides, film, postcards, ephemera, correspondence and artifacts belonging to Thomas L. Williams, photographer for William & Mary for 35 years. He was also a photographer for Camp Peary and Colonial Williamsburg prior to working for William & Mary.

Williamsburg Methodist Church Checkbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ch12
Scope and Contents

Checkbook, 1927-1930, containing vouchers for funds paid by H. L. Bridges while treasurer of the Williamsburg Methodist Church, South, Williamsburg, Va. which includes a contract and correspondence concerning building the church's parsonage.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 21
Virginia--History--20th century 21
Account books 16
Photographs 14
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 13
∨ more
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 11
Financial records 10
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 8
African Americans--Virginia--History--20th century 7
Minutes 7
Diaries 5
Farm management--Virginia--History--20th century 5
Ledgers (Accounting) 5
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 5
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Church records 4
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--20th century 4
Legal documents 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Newspapers 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Reports 4
Speeches, addresses, etc. 4
African Americans--Religion 3
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Pamphlets 3
Postcards 3
Programs 3
Publications 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Scrapbooks 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History 3
West Virginia--History--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 2
African Americans--Virginia--Portsmouth--History 2
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Hopewell (Va.)--History 2
Invitations 2
Invoices 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Journals (accounts) 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Lumber trade--United States--History 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Methodist Church--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Negatives 2
Newport News (Va.)--History 2
Newsletters 2
Notebooks 2
Petitions 2
Press releases 2
Printed ephemera 2
Slides (photographs) 2
Speeches 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Teachers 2
Technical reports 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Governors 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
4-H clubs--United States--History 1
Aberdeen--Angus cattle 1
African American physicians 1
African American women--Diaries 1
African American women--Education 1
African American women--History--Sources 1
African Americans--Education--Virginia 1
African Americans--History--20th century 1
African Americans--Hospitals--Virginia--History--20th century 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
African Americans--Virginia--Cumberland County--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Lightfoot 1
African Americans--Virginia--Richmond--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agricultural laborers--Virginia 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American foxhound 1
American poetry--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Virginia State Senate 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
∨ more
Dalton, John N. 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United States Congress 2
4-H Club (Chesterfield County, Va.) 1
Andrews, Hunter Booker, 1921-2005 1
Barber, Florence 1
Barranger & Company, Inc. 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Bosworth, John Woodbridge 1
Bradby family 1
Bradby, Signor 1
Central Virginia Educational Television Corporation 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
Civilian Conservation Corps (U.S.) Company 1364 (Petersburg, Va.) 1
Clark, James W. 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Commonwealth Club (Richmond, Va.) 1
Crump family 1
Cumberland County (Va.). Bon Brook Public School No. 4 1
Daily Press (Hampton Roads, Va.) 1
Daley, Thomas R., 1862 - 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Duke, Salena Niebling 1
Dunlop family 1
Ebenezer Baptist Church 1
Etheridge, Jeanne 1
Faculty Women's Caucus 1
Fling, John Bosworth 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
George, W. Brooks 1
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 1
Grace Street Gardens (Richmond, Va.) 1
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 1
Haus, Zelda 1
Holmes, Edna 1
Holmes, Ruby 1
Holmes, Rufae Cleonia 1
Holmes, Samuel B. 1
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Jerusalem Baptist Church (James City County, Va.) 1
Johnson, Robert Garrett, 1895-1987 1
Jones family 1
Keep Virginia Beautiful. Inc 1
Langton, Helen 1
Marion College, Junior (Marion, Va.) 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Matthews, Joseph James (Captain) 1
Meade, Robert Douthat, 1903-1974 1
Methodist Church. Virginia Conference. Richmond District. Gloucester Circuit. 1
Metropolitan Richmond Chamber of Commerce 1
Michaux, Lightfoot Solomon 1
Morriss, Louise Lightfoot 1
Nance, Lilian Hancock, 1898-1990 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Osment, Carole 1
Parker, Bessie, ca. 1905 - 1
Parker, Lena Augusta, ca. 1902 - 1
Pedersen, Thelma 1
Perrin family 1
Rabenstein, Richard 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Richmond Academy 1
Richmond Theatre (Richmond, Va.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
School of Education 1
Simpson family 1
Stuart Hall (Staunton, Va.) 1
Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, Pa. 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Tucker, Beverley R. (Beverley Randolph), 1874-1945. 1
Tucker, Robert H. 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 25th 1
United States. Geological Survey. National Aerial Photography Program 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia State Teacher’s College at Farmville, Virginia 1
Virginia. Governor (1978-1982 : Dalton) 1
Virginia. Supreme Court of Appeals 1
Ward, Courtney Sharpe 1
Williams, Thomas L. 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Male Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Williamsburg Military School (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Women's College of Richmond 1
∧ less