Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 126 - 150 of 256

Maguire Family Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1995.49
Scope and Contents Fragment of scrapbook of trips to Europe, Bermuda made by members of the F. H. Maguire family of Richmond, Va. in 1911, 1917-1919 and 1926. Contains postcards, exhibit catalogs and tourist literature. The postcards, 1917-1919, of France were collected by [F.H. Maguire ?] who served as a captain in the U. S. Air Service. The collection includes passenger lists from the S.S. Coronia, May 23, 1911 (Liverpool to New York), R.M.S.P. Orea, June 19, 1926 (New York to Cherbourg and Southampton), and...

Marilyn Kaemmerle Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.058
Scope and Contents A scrapbook of newspaper articles and other loose clippings in response to a February 7, 1945 Flat Hat editorial, "Lincoln's Job Half-Done," by Marilyn Kaemmerle, then the Flat Hat's editor-in-chief. Kaemmerle advocated for racial equality and integration, particularly at William & Mary. Her editorial piece received a wide response both on campus and across the United States, leading to her removal from the Flat Hat staff and a temporary suspension ordered by the Board of Visitors....

Florence Ann Marquardt Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.741
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1943, of Florence Ann Marquardt's trip to Biloxi, Mississippi and other locations.  Includes photographs, programs, ticket stubs, newspaper clippings, handwritten notes, and other related materials.

John Marshall Scrapbook, 1954-1955

 Collection
Identifier: UA 336
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 12" x 10", with newspapers and magazine clippings about John Marshall and his descendants. the scrapbook also includes a pencil sketch of John Marshall and an APVA booklet about his home in Richmond. Many of the materials date from the bicentennial of Marshall's birth. William & Mary marked the 200th anniversary of John Marshall's birth in 1954-1955.

Nancy H. Marshall A Visit From St. Nicholas (The Night Before Christmas) Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.56
Scope and Contents Series 1-3: Files of Nancy Marshall related to her collection of "Twas the Night Before Christmas" items and books (2005.33) , two documents relating to the Moore Family (2002.56) and a photograph of Nancy Marshall and two news items concerning Night Before Christmas (2006.75-77). Series 4: Artifacts received between 2005 and 2013 as part of the A Visit from St. Nicholas Collection, including figurines, records, puzzles, and other...

Massachusetts State Democratic Party Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Scp1
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1839-1860, of newspaper clippings and pamphlets concerning the Democratic Party. The volume includes speeches by Benjamin Franklin Hallett and proceedings of the Massachusetts State Democratic Conventions, 1839 and 1840.

MBA Party Scrapbook, 1967-1968

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.073
Scope and Contents

One burlap-covered scrapbook, 15" x 12", with unidentified photographs of a party being held for William & Mary MBA students, dated circa 1967-1968.

McLeod-Tyler Family Papers, 1930-1970 and undated

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.120, Acc. 2013.070
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1930-1970 and undated, from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed.

James W. Miller Scrapbook, 1951-1955

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.063
Scope and Contents

One black scrapbook, 16.5" x 18.25", containing clippings about the 1951 football scandal, Pomfret's resignation and A.D. Chandler's election as president, and protests against Chandler's social rules in 1955.

Margaret Mitchell Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.070
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1937-1941, kept by Margaret Mitchell, College of William and Mary class of 1941. The scrapbook contains newspaper clippings, sorority rush memorabilia, programs, photographs, invitations, and playbills. The scrapbook is 14" x 10" and green.

Mona Jean Breit Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00930
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1947-1948, of Mona Jean Breit, documenting her girl club activities with the Hollywood-Willshire Camp Fire Girls. Included are notes on training and rules, honors activities, programs, drawings, clippings, napkins, certificates.

Also included is a 1860 marriage certificate for S.M. Griffin and L.A. Simpson of Jefferson County, Pennsylvania.

Mortar Board Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.013
Scope and Contents

The records of the Virginia Gamma Chapter the Mortar Board honor Society at the College of William and Mary include annual reports, correspondence, fliers and publications, as well as scrapbooks.

Donald L. Mulford Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.035
Scope and Contents Scrapbook, 1964, of Donald L. Mulford which contains photographs of both the Republican and Democratic National Conventions. Includes photographs of Barry Goldwater, Adlai Stevenson, Lyndon Johnson, Bobby Kennedy, Jackie Robinson, and many others. There are also photographs of an NAACP rally, Civil Rights demonstrators, and other events surronding the conventions. Finally, there are typed captions with most of the photographs, which are often critical of the Republican Party officials and...

C. W. Murdaugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.387
Scope and Contents

Papers, ca. 1853-1878 of Portsmouth, Virginia attorney, judge and politician C.W. Murdaugh, consisting of 3 volumes of law notes, notes on politics and history, transcribed stories, poemd and anecdotes, etc. and clippings from papers and magazines, some of which are annotated.

The volumes had at some point been numbered 8, 19 and 83 which indicates that they were once part of a larger collection.

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group B

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1886-1942, of Vice-Admiral Guy Hamilton Burrage. Includes commissions, orders, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and medals. Includes material relating to his command of the "U. S. S. Nebraska" during World War I and the "U. S. S. Memphis" which returned Charles A. Lindbergh from Paris after his historic flight. There are also papers relating to his involvement in an attempt to resolve the Lindbergh kidnapping case in 1932. Addition to this...

National Parks Newspaper Clippings Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad127-131
Scope and Contents

Five scrapbooks of newspaper clippings about various National Parks in the United States.  Compiler is unknown.

National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. The Rev. James Blair Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2014.025
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks, reports, and publications from The Rev. James Blair Chapter of the National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. The bulk of the collection consists of scrapbooks, which date from 1981-2011, containing photographs and other material for events and meetings of the chapter. Also included are conference programs, newletters and publications from the state and national chapters of the Colonial Dames XVII, and histories of both The Rev. James Blair Chapter and...

National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. Virginia Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.44A and additions
Scope and Contents

Records of the Virginia Society of the Colonial Dames of the XVII Century which include scrapbooks, business records, minutes, programs, yearbooks and photographs.

James Poyntz Nelson Manuscript Volumes

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad121-125
Scope and Contents Manuscripts of James Poyntz Nelson, a chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad and the Elizabethtown, Lexington and Big Sandy Railroad.  Includes diaries, a letter copy book and a personal notebook. The Nelson Family lived in Lexington, Kentucky. MsV Ad121  Pocket diary.  1883. 206 pages.  Nelson was the chief engineer of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad. MsV Ad122  Logbook used as a diary.  1886. MsV Ad123  Pocket diary.  1889. Nelson was chief...

Curtis L. Newcombe Scrapbooks

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.069
Scope and Contents

Three scrapbooks, 15" x 13", dating 1940-1946, containing newspaper clippings dealing with fishing in Virginia and the Virginia Fisheries Laboratory.

Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.126
Scope and Contents The papers of Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels include scrapbooks, correspondence, invitations, publications, course work, and other material from her student life. Much of the material is from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary from 1937 through 1939. This covers the range of typical student activities from classes to football games to student government and other organizations. There is also some earlier material from Hopewell High School and the State Teacher's...

Paul W. Norton Scrapbook, 1927-1931

 Collection — Box: 1, Volume: 1
Identifier: UA 5.092
Scope and Contents

The scrapbook of William & Mary student Paul W. Norton includes photographs, routine correspondence from the college, news clippings, programs, dance cards, and other materials related to Notron's time at W&M. The photographs depict: students and student activities; campus buildings, including the Rogers Hall fire; athletics, including track and field, baseball, and football; Norton's fraternity Sigma Phi Epsilon.

Elizabeth Nunn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1991.51 and 2000.33
Scope and Contents

Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.

John Ott Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc17
Scope and Contents

Scrapbook, 1872-1877, of newspaper clippings, notes, and correspondence addressed to John Ott of the Southern Fertilizer Company, Richmond, Virginia. The volume includes a letter in German from Dr. Ernst Engel.

Julia W. Oxrieder Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1990.46
Scope and Contents

The personal papers of Julia W. Oxrieder include materials related to Williamsburg, Virginia, documents of interest she collected related to her many interests, and personal material about her life and work in Williamsburg. Many items are copies of biographies, newspaper articles, and ephemera documenting local history including folklore, education, Williamsburg people and organizations, African Americans, and other topics.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Scrapbooks X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Scrapbooks 255
Photographs 87
Correspondence 66
College of William and Mary--Students 46
Clippings (information artifacts) 37
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 34
Programs 30
Diaries 27
Minutes 24
Account books 22
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 22
Financial records 15
Notebooks 15
Letters (correspondence) 14
Women college students 14
Fliers (printed matter) 13
Reports 13
Postcards 12
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 12
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Pamphlets 10
Publications 10
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 10
Women--Societies and clubs 10
World War, 1939-1945 10
Certificates 9
Legal documents 9
Printed ephemera 9
Student Life--1940's 9
Athletics 8
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 8
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 8
Student Life--1930's 8
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 8
Agendas (administrative records) 7
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 7
Gardening--Societies, etc.--Virginia 7
Invitations 7
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 7
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Negatives 7
Photographic prints 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
Gardening--History--20th century 6
Gardening--Virginia 6
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
Newspapers 6
Poems 6
Slides (photographs) 6
Speeches 6
Student Life--1920s 6
Typescripts 6
Women--Education--Virginia 6
World War, 1914-1918 6
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Scrapbooks 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 5
Greeting cards 5
Ledgers (Accounting) 5
Newsletters 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Women--Diaries 5
Women--Education--Virginia--History 5
Women--History--Virginia 5
American poetry--19th century 4
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Business records 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 4
Genealogy 4
Letter books 4
Rosters 4
Sororities--Social 4
Student Life--1960's 4
Student Organizations 4
Students--Women--Admission in 1918 4
Tickets 4
Athletics--United States 3
Athletics--Women 3
Buildings and Grounds--Old Library (1908) 3
Clubs--United States--Minutes 3
Daybooks 3
France--Description and travel--20th century 3
Homecoming 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 3
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 3
Music 3
Playbills 3
Political parties--United States 3
President's House (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Sound Recordings 3
Student Life--1910's 3
Textbooks 3
United States--Politics and Government 3
United States. Foreign Service 3
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
∧ less
 
Language
French 4
German 2
Japanese 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
Latin 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 22
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 14
College of William and Mary. 8
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 6
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary 5
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 5
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 5
American Red Cross 3
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 3
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 3
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 3
Verkuil, Paul R 3
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Barksdale, Martha, 1900-1974 2
Buchanan, James, 1791-1868 2
Choir and Chorus 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 2
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 2
Fund for William and Mary 2
Harding, Warren G. (Warren Gamaliel), 1865-1923 2
Joseph and Margaret Muscarelle Museum of Art 2
Lee Family 2
Lee family 2
National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century. Virginia Society 2
National Society of The Colonial Dames of America 2
National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia 2
Office of the President 2
Order of the White Jacket 2
Oxrieder, Julia W. 2
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 2
Pomfret, John Edwin, 1898- 2
Republican Party (U.S.) 2
Society of the Alumni 2
Tyler Family 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia Historical Society 2
William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc 2
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Alexandria gazette 1
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. . Nu Chi Chapter 1
Alumni Band Organization. 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Fireside Club 1
American Historical Association 1
American Library Association 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Andrews, M. Carl 1
Andrews, Robert, 1743?-1804 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Yorktown Branch 1
Barnard, Judith Fenner 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Begg family 1
Belk, George Washington, III 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Beloit College 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Berkeley Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bernard Family 1
Bernardin, Joseph Buchanan, 1899-1987 or 1988 1
Bernhardt, Sarah, 1844-1923 1
Bland family 1
Bland, Ethel Heckman, 1902-1978 1
Bland, Richard, 1710-1776 1
Bohannan, Gordon W. 1
Bolling, Maurice Landon 1
Bowers, Rosina 1
Bozarth family 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Branch, Victor Moreau Randolph 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Breeze, Frances, 1919-2002 1
Breit, Mona Jean 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bryant-Cooke, Shaneé L. 1
Burrage, Guy Hamilton, 1867-1954 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Calkins, Emily Eleanor 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Campbell, James Jr. 1
Carey family 1
Carlson, Lane, 1919-2010 1
Carter, Joan Worstell 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
∧ less