Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels Papers
-
No requestable containers
Scope and Contents
The papers of Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels include scrapbooks, correspondence, invitations, publications, course work, and other material from her student life. Much of the material is from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary from 1937 through 1939. This covers the range of typical student activities from classes to football games to student government and other organizations. There is also some earlier material from Hopewell High School and the State Teacher's College. Some of the ephemera details Nickel's social life as a student and includes a card giving her future husband "social privileges at the College of William and Mary."
The collection also includes correspondence received by her mother, Judith Fenner Barnard.
Dates
- Creation: 1929-1953 (bulk 1929-1935)
- Creation: Majority of material found in 1929-1935
Creator
- Nickels, Elizabeth Barnard (Person)
Language of Materials
English
Conditions Governing Access:
The course work material in this collection contains grade reports which are restricted until May 2014. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Conditions Governing Use:
Before reproducing or quoting from any materials, in whole or in part, permission must be obtained from the Special Collections Research Center, and the holder of the copyright, if not Swem Library.
Biographical Information:
Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels graduated from William & Mary in 1939. She was a member of Euclid, the J. Leslie Hall Literary Society, and the YWCA.
Extent
2.75 Linear Feet
Acquisition Information:
Acc. 2010.246 was received on 4/21/2010. Acquisition information for material received after 7/13/2009 is available by consulting a Special Collections Research Center staff member.
Processing Information:
Acc. 2010.246 and Acc. 2010.249 accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in April 2010. Acc. 2011.361 accessioned and minimally processed by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in May 2011. Fully processed by Emma Tainter, student volunteer, May 2017.
Subject
- Barnard, Judith Fenner (Person)
- College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae (Organization)
- Title
- Guide to the Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels Papers
- Author
- Record created by Steven Bookman, University Archives Specialist, in 2010.
- Date
- 2010-04-27
- Language of description
- English
- Script of description
- Latin
- Language of description note
- The collection description/finding aid is written in English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository