Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 33
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Au5
Scope and Contents
An extensive collection of business correspondence, financial papers, daybooks, legal papers, and account books, chiefly 1800-1850, of Col. Daniel Philippe Aunspaugh, documenting his work as tanner and justice of the peace at Bedford County, Va. The collection also includes accounts, 1832-1857, of James Oney.
Dates:
1800-1881
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap2
Scope and Contents
Receipt book for accounts paid by Henry Bedinger of Berkeley County, Virginia, 1789-1801. Also contains accounts of a private school with teachers and pupils, 1848-1849 (5 pages at end of book), farm memoranda and accounts of an unknown person with farm laborers (including a list of negroes hired for manual labor) and household servants, 1856-1873. 182 pages.
Dates:
1789-1873
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.61
Scope and Contents
Business ledgers of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1970. (Acc. 1995.61 and 1999.11)
Dates:
1926-1970
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...
Dates:
1613-1960; Majority of material found in 1770-1875
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents
The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates:
1856-1940
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C89
Scope and Contents
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.
Dates:
1858-1899
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.44
Scope and Contents
Business and family papers of the Charles R. and Charles E. Diggs family of Mathews, Virginia and Susan, Virginia. The Diggs Family owed an automobile engine business. In 1921, it was named "Overland and Willys Knight Automobiles Mianus Engines, " but had other names through the years. The family also sold seafood products. Charles Robert Diggs worked in various automotive and machine shops in the area after 1920's.
Dates:
1914-1960; Majority of material found in 1920-1940
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates:
1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap9
Scope and Contents
Receipt book, 1853-1876, of Dr. G. G. Davison, Lexington, Va. The receipts were pasted into a printed book which was also used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings.
Dates:
1853-1876
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.51
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and...
Dates:
1743-1890
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 H83
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1865-1879, of Charles Howard, sheriff of Hanover County, Va. concerning estates for which he was administrator. Includes a memorandum book of accounts, loose accounts and legal documents concerning two lawsuits.
Dates:
1865-1879
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame11-13
Scope and Contents
Ledgers, 1793-1799, of James Campbell, merchant, of Lexington, Va. One volume (MsV Ame12) includes accounts with members of the Watt family which were paid for by weaving. There are also loose receipts and legal documents in the third volume (MsV Ame13).
Dates:
1793-1799
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev2
Scope and Contents
Receipt book, 1887-1909, of L. C. Watts, sheriff of Albemarle County, Virginia.
Dates:
1887-1909
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 L55
Scope and Contents
Accounts, 1758-1792, of Moses Leonard, treasurer and collector of taxes for several parishes in West Springfield, Mass.
Dates:
1758-1792
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 M74
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, 1857-1895, of members of the Mongle and Hughes families of Holston, Washington County, Va. and Evergreen, Tenn. Among the correspondents are J.J. Hughes, his sons William A. Hughes and Oliver F. Hughes and his daughter Sarah A. Hughes Mongle; and Samuel A. Mongle and James Mongle of Abingdon, Va. Includes papers, 1874-1884, concerning the registration of voters in Washington County, Va.; and accounts, 1832-1916, of Hughes & Co., Mongle & Hughes and J.B. Mongle &...
Dates:
1832-1916
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev11-Lev12
Scope and Contents
Receipt books, 1811-1837, for cash money paid out by Hudson Martin, sheriff, and Nicholas L. Martin, deputy sheriff, of Nelson County, Virginiaa. which includes memoranda, 1826 and 1828, of the birth dates of Jane L. Martin and Henry B. Martin.
Dates:
1811-1837; Majority of material found in 1811-1832
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents
Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...
Dates:
1802-1914
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.57, 2009.194, 2010.406
Scope and Contents
Papers of Richard H. Patchin of Marlborough, Ulster County, N.Y., who was a teacher, clothing sales clerk, farmer and public lecturer. Largely includes accounts of Patchin’s daily activities and personal reflections. Correspondence and professional documents also make up a portion of the collection. The materials document Patchin’s work as a teacher, farmer, clothing sales clerk, and lecturer in and around Marlborough, New York during the mid and late 19th century. The...
Dates:
1829-1902; Majority of material found in 1860-1890
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.003
Scope and Contents
This collection contains account books, statements, receipts, and checkbook stubs from the Peninsula Bank and Trust Co. and the Treasurer's book for the William and Mary chapter (Eleanor Calkins, Treasurer).
Dates:
1925-1937
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R34
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.
The ledgers are stored off-site and require a 72 hour notice for retrieval.
Dates:
1886-1923
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap37
Scope and Contents
Invoice and receipt book, 1825-1831, of Robert Barraud Taylor, of Norfolk, Va. The receipts are tipped in.
Dates:
1825-1831
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lev15
Scope and Contents
Receipt book, 1833, of Hiram Martz, Smith's Creek, Rockingham County, Va. for road claims and county levies allowed by the county court of Rockingham County. The volume includes notes and household inventory, 1855, of Benjamin Franklin Matthews Martz.
Dates:
1833-1855
Collection
Identifier: SC 00934
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1772-1799, of Anglican minister William Selden (1741-1783) and his wife Mary Ann Hancock Selden (1745-1789) of Elizabeth City County, Virginia. These papers are primarily financial in nature and document the Selden family's management of the Elizabeth City Parish, the family estate, slave holdings, and the hire of estate slaves to local plantation owners. These papers consist of receipts, labor contracts, financial summaries, and a small leather financial ledger. The labor contracts...
Dates:
1771-1799
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Dates:
1826-1857
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sm5
Scope and Contents
Papers (including business correspondence, accounts and account books) of Cornelius Smith, miller and merchant, of Laurel Mills, Rappahannock County, Va.; of his son S. Russell Smith; and of Daniel Amon Grimsley who served in the Virginia General Assembly. Consists of 4 boxes of material and 39 ledgers.
Dates:
1805-1890
