Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5
Collection
Identifier: MS 00325
Content Description
This collection contains one bound album of 18 photographs of African Americans, including children, women, as well as men in military uniforms. Photographs were taken by multiple studios in Virginia including the E.C. Leath Photograph Gallery in Petersburg and the Virginia, Evans and Son Gallery in Norfolk, virginia. Other photographs were produced by New York based studios including Adams Studio and Richard Ward Studio. The photographs include carte de visites, tintypes and postcards.
Dates:
circa 1875
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H29
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1847-1934, including correspondence, essays, articles, and poems by John Hart, a Richmond book seller and poems, short stories, and a novel by his wife, Katherine M. Hart. The papers of John Hart include letters concerning the sale of books and two letters by James Branch Cabell. The collection includes diplomas and certificates awarded by the University of Virginia to his [father ?] John Hart of Louisa County, Va. The Hart Papers (II) series contains 200...
Dates:
1847-1934
Collection
Identifier: MS 00347
Content Description
This collection includes eighty two black and white photographs that depict American life at a military base in Virginia. Situated during the Korean War, these photographs mainly feature soldiers. However, couples, women, children, food preparation, and landscapes are also included in the collection. The collection belonged to a soldier stationed at Fort Lee and Fort A. P. Hill in Virginia in 1950. The photos were likely taken by a member of the Quartermaster Corps.
Dates:
1950
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.709
Scope and Contents
The papers of William Welling document his career as a photographic historian. Welling worked as a journalist for the Hamden Chronicle from 1949-1950 and several of his articles are included in the collection. Series 2 holds correspondence between Welling and prominent photographic historians Helmut Gernsheim (1913-1995) of Lugano, Switzerland and George R. Rinhart. Series 3 includes Welling's extensive collection of photographic history research primarily on the 19th century for his books A...
Dates:
1949-2004; Majority of material found in 1970s, 1980s
