Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 36

Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Capitol Branch Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 82 A7
Scope and Contents Records of the Colonial Capitol Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities(APVA), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, financial and legal documents, minutes and photographs. The long run of minutes, 1900-1976, document the development and work of this preservation group which took an interest in the historical sites of Jamestown and Williamsburg, Va. There is material relating to the Branch's work to preserve and restore the Capitol grounds, the...

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Bland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 B159
Scope and Contents Papers, 1778-1989, of the Bland family of King and Queen County, Gloucester County, and the James River area of Virginia. Includes mostly genealogical material compiled by Lineous Preston Bland, Jr. Includes correspondence, pamphlets, family trees, scrapbooks, newsletters, photographs, legal and military records, newspaper clippings, and oral histories. Much information focuses on Richard Bland (1710-1766), Virginia statesman and pamphleteer. The collection also...

Schuyler Otis Bland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B61
Scope and Contents Chiefly office files and personal correspondence, 1918-1950, of S. O. Bland while serving as member of U. S. Congress from First Virginia District. Collection includes newspaper clippings on topical and geographical areas of interest to Bland, speeches and talks given by Bland as Congressman, and general papers and personal working files he maintained. Included in the general papers is Bland's voting record. As a representative of the First District, Bland focused a significant...

Bright Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.24
Scope and Contents Papers of the Bright Family of Williamsburg, Virginia and Philadephia, Pennsylvania.  Correspondence and business papers of Robert Anderson Bright of Williamsburg, Virginia and his son Robert Southall Bright, College of William and Mary class of 1891 and a Philadelphia lawyer.  Personal and professional correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs and legal papers. Includes letters between Robert Southall Bright while a student at William and Mary to his father and letter...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents

Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia:  Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888),  J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).

Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...

Campbell Family Papers II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...

Leslie Cheek, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 C41
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1940-1955, relating to the purchase and operation of Faraway Farm, Lake Lure, North Carolina, the rural retreat of Leslie Cheek, Jr. and his wife Mary Tyler (Freeman) Cheek. Includes Cheek's architectural drawings and photographs as well as documentation concerning a painting of Faraway Farm by William Bailey. There are papers concerning an egg project run by the Cheeks as part of the war effort during World War II. The collection also includes...

Theodore Roosevelt Dalton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 81 D17
Scope and Contents Papers, 1933-1978, of Ted Dalton, Virginia state senator, 1944-1959; Republican candidate for governor of Virginia in 1953 and 1957; and U.S. District judge for the Western district of Virginia. Includes correspondence, speeches, news clippings, photographs, recordings, reels of film and legal opinions. Subjects covered include Republican Party politics, the Virginia General Assembly, highways,compulsory automobile insurance, segregation, the Gray Commission Report (Commission on...

Farrar Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.71
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters, contracts, deeds, wills, St. Luke Penny Bank medallions, cemetery plot receipts, plans, blueprints, photographs, birth and death certificates relating to members of the Farrar family of Richmond, Virginia. Daniel James Farrar (1862-1925) had a profound effect on the architecture of the city of Richmond. Daniel followed the example of his father, Joseph who was the son of a free black. Farrar was involved with at least 14 buildings in the 1890’s as designer,...

Galt Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 78 G73
Scope and Contents The collection covers the dates 1750-1982 and consists chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Negatives have been added to Galt III, Group XI, Box IV, folder 44. Some material pertaining to William R. Galt is filed in 78 G73 Galt Family Papers III,...

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

Virginia B. Haughwout Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.17
Scope and Contents Correspondence and legal papers, 1951-1955, of Mrs. Virginia B. Haughwout of Williamsburg, Virginia, about the construction of a "Virginia Gazette" building on her property on the Duke of Gloucester Street. Correspondence is chiefly with her lawyer Robert T. Armistead and Kenneth Chorley, President of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Includes memorandum of argument on behalf of Colonial Williamsburg, Inc., prepared by the firm of Hunton, Williams, Gay, Moore and Powell, 6 June 1955,...

Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents

Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings.  The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.

The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...

Maupin-Washington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M44
Scope and Contents Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Maury Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents Papers, 1777-1977, of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, Eng. Includes letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. A significant amount of the collection is comprised of letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of  the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury (1832-1890) of Liverpool and New...

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Page-Saunders Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 P15
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of members of the Page and Saunders families. Includes correspondence of Margaret Lowther Page of "Rosewell," Gloucester County, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. with her daughter Lucy Burwell Page Saunders and her son-in-law Robert Saunders. The collection includes a diary, 1826, of Robert Saunders while on a trip from New York to Le Havre; published stories of Lucy Burwell Page Saunders; manuscript stories by Roberta Saunders; and correspondence of Robert Page Saunders....

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

Family papers and a collection of Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia of Fay Parr.  Includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents and buildings, newspaper clippings of events and people in Williamsburg, Virginia and publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Legal documents X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 35
Correspondence 33
Financial records 17
Genealogy 11
Diaries 8
∨ more
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 8
Minutes 7
Receipts (financial records) 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 6
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 6
Scrapbooks 6
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Account books 5
Manuscripts (document genre) 5
Newspapers 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Virginia--History--19th century 5
Notebooks 4
Poems 4
Programs 4
Reports 4
Speeches 4
United States--Politics and Government 4
World War, 1939-1945 4
Agendas (administrative records) 3
Carte de visite photographs 3
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Pamphlets 3
Postcards 3
Virginia--History--18th century 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Broadsides 2
Cabinet photographs 2
Catalogs 2
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
Community theater 2
Deeds 2
Design drawings 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Indentures 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
King and Queen County (Va.)--History 2
Marriage certificates 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Parishes--Virginia 2
Petitions 2
Printed ephemera 2
Publications 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--History 2
Southampton County (Va.)--History 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Tax records 2
United States. Navy--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Governors 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
Yearbooks 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
African American physicians 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--Richmond--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--North Carolina--History--20th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Audiocassettes 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 3
Dutch; Flemish 1
German 1
Latin 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Bland family 2
∨ more
Galt family 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 2
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Republican Party (U.S.) 2
Saunders family 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United States Congress 2
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Virginia State Senate 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Colonial Capitol Branch 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Beale family 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bernard Family 1
Bland, Ethel Heckman, 1902-1978 1
Bland, Richard, 1710-1776 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Booth family 1
Bozarth family 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Braxton family 1
Bright family 1
Bright family. 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1943 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bucktrout family 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Cameron, William Evelyn, 1842-1927 1
Campbell, Malcolm E. 1
Carey family 1
Carrington family 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 1
Coalter family 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Conkling, Roscoe, 1829-1888 1
Crump family 1
Culpeper family 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dula family 1
Dunlop family 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Fairfax, Sally, fl. 1771-1772 1
Farrar family 1
Farrar, Daniel James, 1862-1923 1
Farrar, Joseph E., 1830- 1
Fauquier, Francis, 1704?-1768 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
Ford, Worthington Chauncey, 1858-1941 1
Freeman, Douglas Southall, 1886-1953 1
Galbraith family 1
Galt, Alexander D. II, 1827-1863 1
Galt, Elizabeth Judith, 1816-1854 1
Galt, James, 1741-1800 1
Galt, John Minson, 1744-1808 1
Galt, John Minson, 1819-1862 1
Galt, Mary Meares, 1885-1978 1
Galt, Sallie, 1822-1880 1
Garland family 1
Goode, John, 1829-1909 1
Grace Street Gardens (Richmond, Va.) 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Harrison, Fairfax, 1869-1938 1
Haughwout, Virginia B. 1
Hipkins family 1
∧ less