Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 229

Brown Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00025
Scope and Contents This accession contains letters, receipts, sermons, legal documents and other material related to the Brown family of Madison and Schoharie Counties in New York, and Fairfax County, Virginia. The bulk of the papers concern clergymen farmers Rev. Jesse Brown and his sons, the Rev. Joseph Brown and the Rev. Augustus Americus Brown. Most of the collection is made up of ephemera related to the Brown's farm, including the buying and selling of items for the family, selling timber from their land,...
Dates: 1836-1908

John Brown Letter to James Brown

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.134
Scope and Contents

One letter from John Brown of Philadelphia to his brother, James Brown. The letter concerns life in the military. Brown describes the conduct of Benjamin Logan, Colonel of the Kentucky County, Virginia militia, the sale of Brown's property on Potts Creek in Virginia, and the possible resignation of General Arthur St. Clair from the army.

Dates: 1792 March 29

Dabney Browne Letter to G. Southall

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.088
Scope and Contents

One letter from Dabney Browne, a professor at the College of William and Mary, to G. Southall concerning the room and board for members of the Jones family. He states the Jones' would have to sleep in a room without a fireplace and sit in the family sitting room. The charge for board would be 120 dollars each, with a tuition fee of 20 dollars.

Dates: 1838 November 1

Karla K. Bruno Papers, 2007-2010

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.128
Scope and Contents

Material collected and created by William & Mary alumna Karla K. Bruno, ranging from 2007-2010 and related to the organizations 'Save the Wren Cross,' 'ShouldNicholBeRenewed.org,' and 'The Society for the College.' Also included are: copies of material related to the Department of Philosophy (2007), an interview with Gene Nichol on PBS's "What Matters" (January 2008; VHS tape) and a Fox News piece "Wren Cross" with Brit Hume (circa 2006-2007, VHS tapes.

Dates: 2007-2010

Carl M. Bunker Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01010
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1944-1945, written by Carl M. Bunker, a private in the US Army during World War II, to his parents in Dayton, Ohio.  For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.

Dates: 1944-1945

Maud Miller Buxton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.187
Scope and Contents Letters, legal and business documents, photographs and news clippings of Maud Miller Buxton and associated families of Miller, Buxton and Ditterick. Maud Miller was born in North Dakota and eventually moved to McMinnville, Oregon via Minnesota. Correspondence spans her early childhood through her marriage to Henry Thurston Buxton and Frank Ditterick. Most letters concern family news. Includes commencement invitations, marriage invitations and clippings of marriage announcements and...
Dates: 1891-1962; Majority of material found in 1891-1947

Cyril Buzek, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00077
Scope and Contents 154 letters, 2 postcards, and a photograph, 1945–1946.  The letters are from Cyril Buzek to his parents and sisters in Lane City, Texas.  Buzek came to Camp Peary, near Williamsburg, Virginia, in January 1945 for basic training in the Navy.  After short stints in Norfolk and Newport News, he was sent to Panama in July 1945, where he was posted at various sites.  The nearly continuous stream of letters ended in late December 1945, but there were two additional ones from Panama written in May...
Dates: 1945-1946

John C. Cabaniss Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00620
Scope and Contents This collection contains twelve letters written by John C. Cabaniss, a proprietor of the Folsom Street coal yards in San Francisco, California to his mother, Mrs. Nancy Hill [Nancy Sink Cabaniss Hill] in Franklin County, Virginia.  Cabaniss moved to San Francisco during the Gold Rush. Most of his letters mention that he is coming home soon, is in good health and the business is doing well.  For a time, a friend from home, Moses G. Noble, lives with him.  The letters also mention...
Dates: 1851-1855

N. Cairns Letter to Hugh McCalmont

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00024
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of one letter written from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil by N. Cairns to Hugh McCalmont of Belfast, Ireland concerning business conditions in Brazil, the effects of the suppression of slavery and the slave trade had in Brazil, and its effects on commerce.

Dates: 1831 February

Caley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.192
Scope and Contents The collection is mostly personal correspondence and diaries, chiefly 1895-1968, collected and written by Mary Davidson Caley, her two daughters, Maybelle Caley Barker and Hilda Caley Noble, and Hilda’s daughter, Nadine Noble Sondergard. The Caley’s were white middle class women who lived in Sierra Madre, California for the majority of their lives.  The personal letters and diaries of three generations of women contain topics related to the household operations, Spanish Flu 1918, farm...
Dates: circa 1895-1968

Carl Holmberg Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01113
Scope and Contents

This collection contains a single letter, written immediately after the announcement of the surrender of Germany by a mother in Connecticut to her son, Private First Class Carl Holmberg, who had been wounded. The letter discusses the arrival of V-E Day, the continuing fighting in the Pacific, and advice to not continue serving.

Dates: 1945 May 7

Charles Carter Letter to Edmund Pendleton

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00563
Scope and Contents

Letter by Charles Carter, Ludlow Farm,  to Edmund Pendleton 23 August 1783. Concerns the sale of lands belonging to Carter's grandfather Robert "King" Carter,  to pay off Charles Carter's debts to the estate of John Robinson being administered by Pendleton.

Dates: 1783 August 23

Catlett Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....
Dates: 1865-1921

Jean Champion Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00026
Scope and Contents

The collection contains letters written by Jean Champion to her parents while visiting Havana, Cuba with her friends in 1939. In the letters, Jean describes her contact with diplomatic officials in Cuba, impressions of presidential candidate Fulgenico Batista, visiting clubs, and going to the beach.

Dates: 1939 July-August

Chandi J. Singer papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00065
Scope and Contents This collection contains diaries as well as holiday letters kept by Chandi J. Singer, former Swem Library staff member at William & Mary. Some of the topics discussed in the diaries include dancing at various clubs in Las Vegas, Nevada and Scottsdale, Arizona, college classes, and going to concerts among others. The diaries have been transcribed by the author. Some of the holiday letters include brief biographies and articles about the authors. Additions to the collection include events...
Dates: 1966-2022

E.B. Chaney Letter to his Brother

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00220
Scope and Contents

Letter from E.B. Chaney to his brother about his home and selling of tobacco. Location unknown.  February 18,1867.

Dates: 1867 February 18

John C. Chaney Letter to Sutherland Chaney

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00222
Scope and Contents

Draft of a letter by John C. Chaney, Richmond College [Va.] to Bro. Sutherland asking for monetary help so he can continue his studies at Richmond College.  February 2, 1867.

Dates: 1867 February 2

Thomas Putnam Chapman, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00279
Scope and Contents

Collection of letters, cards, ephemera, and personal items belonging to Thomas Putnam Chapman, Jr. A large portion of the letters are written to his family from his time spent as a student at the College of William and Mary. Included with Thomas' letters are letters from his father and other family members. This collections is currently in processing and is not fully available to researchers. The collection guide will be updated once processing of the collection is complete.

Dates: 1875-1935

Fern Cheesebrew Letters

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00144
Scope and Contents Letters, 1941-1945, written to Fern Cheesebrew of Middleport, Ohio. Letters are written from various people in the United States Armed Force and primary correspondents include her husband, Frank Cheesebrew, John Piatt, and Clifford Hayes. Both Cheesebrew and Piatt are eventually stationed in different locations in the Pacific Theater, including Hawaii and the Philippines, while Hayes seems to stay at a base in Tampa, Florida. Letters primarily include information about their daily lives in...
Dates: 1941-1945

Christopher Wren Singers Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 7.067
Scope and Contents

Contains letters, post cards, scrapbooks, audio CDs and other material related to the Christopher Wren Singers, an a capella student organization that specializes in singing madrigal music. Included in the accession are letters and postcards from alumni, scrapbooks of events from 1991-2001, and a 2012 book celebrating 25 years of the Cristopher Wren Singers.

Dates: 1989-2012; Majority of material found in 1993-2003

President Grover Cleveland Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00229
Scope and Contents Collection of Grover Cleveland items given and collected by Flora A. Darling.  Includes a letter from Mrs. Frances F. Cleveland, Lakewood, New Jersey, to Mrs. Augustus Ramon Salas declining the Presidency of the United States Daughters [of 1812], May 11, 1892.  August 27, 1887 document with the Presidental Seal and signature of Glover Cleveland, President.  Typed black bordered announcement of the death of Hon. Glover Cleveland, "A Proclamation by the President of the United States [Theodore...
Dates: 1887, 1892, 1908

Glenn Close Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 93 C62 and Additions
Scope and Contents

Collection of papers concerning actress Glenn Close that document her career as a Broadway, television, and screen success. Includes recorded interviews, clippings, invitations, programs, playbills, videos, and other related materials.

Dates: 1966-2013; Majority of material found in 1980-1995

Waverly M. Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.176
Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs, letters, and ephemera related to the life and career of Dr. Waverly M. Cole, an anesthesiologist from Richmond, Virginia. Included in the papers are awards and school diplomas, photographs of Cole while a student at the College of William and Mary and the Medical College of Virginia (MCV), and letters written to Human Rights organizations.

Dates: circa 1935-2007

Gertha Sykes Collins Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates: 1942-1951

William Collins Letter to Charles Collins

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00235
Scope and Contents

Letter from William Collins, Warren [Rhode Island] to Charles Collins, Newport, Rhode Island, requesting information about a chain for sale, noting he needs "one of 1 inch and about 50 fathoms" and an anchor "suitable for a chain of about 800 pounds."  March 23, 1831.

Dates: 1831 March 23

Filtered By

  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: Letters (correspondence) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 35
Clippings (information artifacts) 23
Financial records 15
College of William and Mary--Students 14
Scrapbooks 14
∨ more
Diaries 13
Printed ephemera 12
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 12
World War, 1939-1945 11
Correspondence 10
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 8
Ledgers (Accounting) 8
Legal documents 8
Postcards 8
Certificates 7
Invitations 7
Programs 7
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 7
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 7
Receipts (financial records) 6
Reports 6
United States. Navy--History--20th century 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Korean War, 1950-1953 5
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 5
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 5
World War, 1939-1945--United States 5
Booklets 4
Fliers (printed matter) 4
Greeting cards 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Minutes 4
Newspapers 4
Photographic prints 4
United States. Navy--History--World War, 1939-1945 4
Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Personal narratives, American 4
Virginia--Description and travel 4
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 4
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 4
Account books 3
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 3
American Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Carte de visite photographs 3
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Courtship--United States--History--20th century 3
Cuba--Description and travel 3
Diplomas 3
Education, Higher--United States--History 3
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Love-letters 3
Marriage certificates 3
Negatives 3
Notebooks 3
Orders (military records) 3
Pamphlets 3
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 3
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Photograph albums 3
Poems 3
Report cards 3
Research notes 3
Transcripts 3
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Participation, French 3
United States. Navy 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
Virginia--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 3
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 3
World War, 1914-1918--France 3
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans--United States 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Accomack County (Va.)--History 2
Advertising cards 2
African Americans--History--19th century 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
Bible records 2
Broadsides 2
Cabinet photographs 2
California--Description and travel--19th century 2
Catalogs 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Circulars (fliers) 2
Class materials 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
College of William and Mary--University Development 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Courtship--1910-1920 2
Cuba--History--19th Century 2
Debt 2
Deeds 2
Editorials 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 223
French 9
German 7
Latin 4
Spanish; Castilian 3
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 7
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 6
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
United States. Army. 4
∨ more
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 3
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 2
College of William and Mary 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Darling, Flora Adams, 1840-1910 2
Hickman family 2
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 2
National Society, United States Daughters of 1812 2
Steuben, Friedrich Wilhelm Ludolf Gerhard Augustin, Baron von, 1730-1794 2
Whig Party (U.S.) 2
Woman's National Christian Temperance Union 2
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 1
Adams, Laura 1
Archer family 1
Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 (Fargo, N.D.) 1
Baldwin, Frank Dwight, 1842-1923 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Barnes, C.M. 1
Battaile family 1
Belt, John Benjamin 1
Blain, Mary Randolph, 1840-1939 1
Bond, Herbert George, 1846-1928 1
Booton, Lucy Mary Modesitt 1
Boswell, John E. (1947-1994) 1
Bosworth, John Woodbridge 1
Bouton, George 1
Bramlett, B. R. 1
Bramlett, Kay 1
Branch, Emma R. 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
Bristow, Elizabeth Jean Acker 1
Bristow, Joseph Christian, Jr., 1945-2005 1
Brown, John, 1757-1837 1
Browne, Dabney 1
Bunker, Carl M. 1
Burger, Warren Earl, 1907-1995 1
Burnham, James C. 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Buzek, Cyril, Sr., 1922-1958 1
Cabaniss, John C., 1805-1858 1
Cairns, N. 1
Caley family 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Carrington family 1
Carter, Charles (of Ludlow), 1733-1796 1
Carter, Lloyd 1
Carter, Robert, 1663-1732. 1
Catlett family 1
Champion, Jean 1
Chaney, E.B. 1
Chaney, John C. 1
Chapman, Thomas Putnam, Jr. 1
Cheesebrew, Fern 1
Christopher Wren Singers 1
Clark, Barbara 1
Clark, Jefferson H., b. 1890 1
Clayton, James P. 1
Cleveland, Grover, 1837-1908 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Cocchia, Rocco, 1830-1901 1
Cole, Stanley 1
College of William and Mary Endowment Association 1
College of William and Mary. Campus Police Department 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Music 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Franklinian Society 1
College of William and Mary. Licivyronean Literary Society 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Collins, Benjamin D. 1
Collins, Gertha Sykes 1
Collins, Grace Shipley 1
Collins, William 1
Columbus, Christopher. 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Cooke, John R. 1
Coupland, Jonathan R 1
Craig Family 1
Craig, Albert Clifton, 1842-1862 1
Cunningham, George A., 1835-1904 1
Cunningham, H.R. 1
Curtin, Robert L. 1
Daingerfield family 1
Daniels, Josephus, 1862-1948 1
Dansby, James 1
Daughters of the American Revolution 1
Davis family 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1
Dawson, Agnes Balloch Bready 1
Dawson, William, Jr., 1885-1972 1
Dept. of Philosophy 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Development Office--Endowment Association 1
+ ∧ less