This collection contains material produced during the 2017-2018 academic year, which celebrated and commemorated 50 years of African American students in residence at William & Mary. Included are printed material and artifacts, the event's website, as well as email correspondence between committee members and digital files sent as email attachments. Digital material requires at least 72 hours advanced notice for access.
The collection includes fliers, catalogs, and other material created by the Africana Studies Program at the College of William and Mary. The collection also contains records concerning the Black Studies Program, from which Africana Studies grew out of.
Collection includes files of the Athletic Association, publicity, printed material and publications, statistics, and schedules.
Posters, flyers and ephemeral material related to the Bishop James Madison Society, a secret society on the campus of William and Mary founded in 1812.
Material collected and created by William & Mary alumna Karla K. Bruno, ranging from 2007-2010 and related to the organizations 'Save the Wren Cross,' 'ShouldNicholBeRenewed.org,' and 'The Society for the College.' Also included are: copies of material related to the Department of Philosophy (2007), an interview with Gene Nichol on PBS's "What Matters" (January 2008; VHS tape) and a Fox News piece "Wren Cross" with Brit Hume (circa 2006-2007, VHS tapes.
The collection includes subject files from 1963-1976 related to language placement, summer sessions, and a self-study of the Department of Classical Studies at the College of William and Mary. It also contains publications such as fliers and brochures from the Summer Institute in Latin and the Humanities. The collection also includes questions from William and Mary classes dated to 1840-1841.
This collection includes programs, scripts, remarks, addresses, speeches, invitations, and other related material from commencement exercises at the College of William and Mary. Events and ceremonies related to graduation would also include the baccalaureate service and other events.