Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia: Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888), J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).
Account book, 1834-1863, of Isaac Campbell, a farmer, near Timberville, Rockingham County, Va.
Kept at "Bremo," Fluvanna County, Virginia. Lists farm laborers and amount fined in corn or money for "disobedience of orders."
Papers, 1832-1856, of George Washington Parke Custis of "Arlington." The collection is mostly letters written to Francis Nelson, his farm manager at "White House," New Kent County, Virginia concerning growing and marketing crops, agricultural improvements, the effect of the proposed Richmond and York River Railroad on the plantation, and Robert E. Lee. There are a few additional letters to Nelson from merchants and railroad officials, and photostats of 2 additional Custis letters.
Includes correspondence (112 pieces), 1890-1915, of Oscar N. Early, farmer of Albemarle and Prince William counties, Va. Includes letters from his wife Mary Brown Early and his brother, Everett E. Early. Also includes printed circular letters, sheets and cards as well as accounts. Includes letter, 25 February 1914, concerning the estate of William Jennings of Acton, England.
Account book, 1909-1911, of an unidentified farmer, Williamsburg, Va. Includes accounts with the College of William and Mary and with Lyon G. Tyler.
Farm Account book of an unknown farmer, probably from the Fauquier County and Loudoun County area of Virginia. Some accounts for the government during the Civil War era.
Account book of Fluvanna Female Institute with names of patrons and payment receipts for board. Also includes an inventory and account book of a farm at "Bremo," Fluvanna County, Va. This farm was presumably owned by John Hartwell Cocke. Includes produce sold and expenses paid. Of note, are some entries that include tax in kind payments of oats to either the United States Union or Confederacy. There is a loose page of inventory of implements at "Lower Bremo," New Kent County, Va.
Diary, 1880-1882, of an unidentified farmer in Gloucester County, Va. It includes weather data and writings concerning religion.
Diary, 1844-1850, of James Galt, "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginiaa. The volume mostly concerns his farming practices and includes laborers' accounts.
Diary, 1851-1854, of James Galt, "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginia. which concerns his farming methods, laborers' accounts and household remedies.
Diary, 1859-1864, of James Galt, of "Point of Fork," Fluvanna County, Virginiaa. which includes plantation memoranda.
Notes, circa 1779-1844, of James Lewis [Gloucester County, Virginiaa. ?] concerning farming and math (using farming examples). The book contains some dated entries ranging from about 1779 to 1847 and includes loose newspaper clippings.
The collection relates to the James River Canal and Kanawha Company, which officially gained a charter in 1835. Included are a list of subscriptions sold to private individuals, a letter to the auditors office discussing current and previous subscriptions, a letter from a prospective surveyor and a list of tollage rates along the canal. Individuals mentioned are John Hartwell Cocke, and his son John Hartwell Cocke Jr.