Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 45

Anne and Alan Morledge Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.23 and Additions
Scope and Contents

Collections of programs, pamphlets and other items from the Williamsburg, Virginia area. Biography and photograph of Comer Clarke Jackson, Manager of Casey's Department Store.

Dates: 1969-2005; Majority of material found in 1969-1988

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966

Cynthia Barlowe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2001.19 and 2002.63
Scope and Contents

Collection of photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, postcards and other items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1902-2001

Bozarth Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941.  Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...
Dates: 1931-1985; Majority of material found in 1931-1962

Marianna Broaddus Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00696
Scope and Contents This collection consists of miscellaneous Williamsburg and Virginia related materials, compiled by Marianna Broaddus. Included are a Colonial Williamsburg Foundation library exhibit catalog (1991), a Williamsburg Reunion booklet, and a print of John Tyler, Sr.'s home in Greenway, Virginia. Also included are photographs, some of which relate to the Christian family, as well as typescripts (in part photocopies) of reminiscences of members of the Christian family about their life in...
Dates: 1917-1991

Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 B85
Scope and Contents Chiefly business correspondence and receipts, 1890-1920, of members of the Bucktrout and Braithwaite families of Williamsburg, Va. Among the correspondents are Hypolite Repiton, R. W. Bucktrout, D. Braithwaite, Richard M. Bucktrout and James Braithwaite. Descriptions of selected accessions: Acc. 1995.25: Bucktrout-Braithwaite Papers including copy of "Family Sites and the Restoration of Williamsburg" and an account of Christmas wedding of Delia Bucktrout to William...
Dates: 1780-1996; Majority of material found in 1890-1899

The Byrd (Bird) Book and Tidewater Poems

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1995.22
Scope and Contents A copy of "The Byrd (Bird) Book and Tidewater Poems" by Henry E. Baker, Newport News, 1934 with inscription to Nancy Griesenauer on her graduation from Matthew Whaley by Dr. Susan Price.  Published in 1934 in Newport News, Virginia. The book contains a photograph of Westover and "The Sign of the Unicorn Horn" in Williamsburg, Virginia.  A photocopy of a January 13, 1933 newspaper clipping of a poem by J.W. Price, M.D. of Williamsburg, Virginia entitled, "Bird Songs-Marshall...
Dates: 1934

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

Papers of Carlton Casey.

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999

Christian-Charles Family Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00623
Scope and Contents Candid photographs of Christian and Charles families, 1920's and 1930's, in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes photograph of a group of women around an indoor pool, with Margaret Lewis Tuthill noted; photographs of the Charles/Christian house from the front (facing Prince George Street), the side (facing Prince George and Nassau Streets) and the rear (facing Duke of Gloucester Street); and group shots of family and friends in front of the house. Names mentioned are...
Dates: 1923-1952

Colonial Pageant Photographs and Programmes

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01752
Scope and Contents

Oversize photograph of Williamsburg Colonial Pageant, Griffith, photographer from Newport News, Virginia, 1921.  In very poor condition Photograph of the pageant, cut into 7 pieces.  One rolled photograph added in 2011, location uncertain in 2022. 2 programmes of the event.

Dates: 1921

Jane Ayers Davis Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01256
Scope and Contents

Obituaries and the story of Williamsburg residents Edwin A. Gilley and Comer C. Jackson who died when their car fell through the open draw on the Chickahominy Bridge, undated, obituary of murdered Harry Burleson of James City County in 1922, photograph of woman in a canoe with a note that it might be Virginia Waltrip,  Notebook of handwritten stories by Ellsworth Ayers, dated 1909. There are also photographs of students from the Five Forks School.

Dates: 1909-1932; Majority of material found in 1909, 1920, 1922, 1932 and undated

Documenting Life During COVID-19 collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00326
Scope and Contents

Collection includes social media posts, music recitals, podcasts, video recordings, digital photographs, self-portraiture, original music compositions, poetry, personal journal entries, and other materials created by members of the William & Mary and the greater Williamsburg community in response to the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020.

Dates: 2020 March - ongoing

Albert Pettigrew Elliott Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01224
Scope and Contents

Two copyprints, made circa 1986, of photographs of Ms. Alice Cooper Elliott's father, Albert Pettigrew Elliott. He was in the class of 1919, at the College of William and Mary. The originals retained by Ms. Elliott. Copies provided by the Educational Media Dept.

WHRA.

Dates: circa 1986

F. H. Ball Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01319
Scope and Contents

Minutes of the Williamsburg Board of Trade, January-June 1908, F.H. Ball, Secretary; print of John Randolph House; program of the SAR (Sons of the American Revolution) at the Randolph-Peachy House, Oct. 16-19, 1931 (printed leaflet).

Dates: 1908-1931

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

The collection contains papers documenting the lives of the Fay Parr family. The collection also includes Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia. Other materials contained in the collection includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents as well as buildings, newspaper clippings of events in Williamsburg, Virginia as well as publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Dates: 1920-2002

Fred Frechette Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.24
Scope and Contents

Fred Frechette's papers which include his Richmond Times-Dispatch newspaper articles on Williamsburg, Virginia, photographs and his script and related material on "The Once and Future Camelot" a production given for the Williamsburg Reunion.  Material related to his duty as a volunteer fireman and his March 25, 2000 pamphlet "William and Mary Students and the Travis House, Feb. 1, 1943-Feb. 28, 1951."

Dates: 1930-2000; Majority of material found in 1950-2000

Rosa Marie and James A. Fuller Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.F95
Scope and Contents

Collection includes letters, citations, scripts of plays, photographs, slides and videos concerning Rosa Marie Fuller's teaching career and James A. Fuller's employment with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and his service with the Boy Scouts.

Dates: 1948-1989

Mary Ware Galt Memory Book

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00148
Scope and Contents

Memory Book of Mary Ware Galt of Williamsburg containing memorabilia, programs, photographs, souvenirs, correspondence, and ephemera from Williamsburg, Virginia and the Tidewater area, plus from her days as a student at Hampton College (1908-1909) in Hampton, Virginia and Stuart Hall (1909-1910) in Staunton, Virginia.

Dates: 1904-1910

Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.10
Scope and Contents

Annual scrapbooks, garden and home tour brochures and schedules, membership lists, slides and a few business records of the Green Spring Garden Club, Inc., located in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1956-2010

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988

Frances H. Hamilton Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00629
Scope and Contents

Items relating to Norge and Williamsburg, Virginia.

"Map of Norway, VA." which belonged to Ellen A. Huckstep. Torn. Undated. Photograph and photocopies of same map.Newspaper article about the founding of Norge. Undated. Photograph of the site of the Capitol and photograph of "Washington's Headquarters."

Dates: 1907-1920; Majority of material found in 1907-1920

Hickory Neck Church records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00386
Scope and Contents

Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.

Collection includes additions.

Dates: 1721-2012

Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.58.2
Scope and Contents

Administrative records, programs and working materials for plays, attendance records and financial records of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten, operated by Cary Wynne Boelt in Williamsburg, Virginia.

A rough draft inventory and a history of the Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten Records by Frederick W. Boelt are filed at the beginning of the collection.

Dates: 1949-1975; Majority of material found in 1950's

Jamestown Aerial Photographs

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00284
Scope and Contents

Collection of aerial photographs of the Jamestown Festival Park, Jamestown Campsites, and Jamestown Boat Arena. They depict various scenery, building projects, and landscape within these areas between 1957 and 1980. Included with the photographs is a copy of a 1936 typescript of the history of Glass Point by J. Luther Kibler and Robert W. Watt. This collection has not been fully processed, please see SCRC staff for assistance.

Dates: 1957-1980

W. Melville Jones Photographs of Williamsburg (Va.)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01188
Scope and Contents Three photographs of two homes in Williamsburg, Virginia where W. Melville Jones lived during 1934 and 1936.  The two houses were rented to The College of William and Mary faculty. One house is a two story building which was beside the Theta House, but is now a vacant lot and the second house was near the  intersection of North Boundary and Richmond Road and is now a park/garden.  One photograph of a car at an auto repair shop which is where the Blue Talon is in...
Dates: 1934-1936

Filtered By

  • Names: Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) X
  • Subject: Photographs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 44
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 25
Correspondence 18
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 16
Programs 14
∨ more
Newspapers 12
Scrapbooks 10
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 9
Financial records 8
Reports 8
Pamphlets 7
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 6
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 6
Printed ephemera 6
Minutes 5
Photocopies 5
Poems 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 4
Obituaries 4
Postcards 4
Business records 3
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 3
Genealogy 3
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Legal documents 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Notebooks 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Slides (photographs) 3
Video recordings 3
Virginia--Genealogy 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Buildings, structures, etc 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 3
Women teachers 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Account books 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
Booklets 2
Broadsides 2
Certificates 2
Church bulletins 2
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Diaries 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Invitations 2
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Jamestown (Va.) 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Maps 2
Membership lists 2
Norge (Va.)--History 2
Oral histories 2
Plays (document genre) 2
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Women--Education--Virginia 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
Women--Societies and clubs 2
Yearbooks 2
Aerial photographs 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Audiocassettes 1
Bank statements 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bibles 1
Books 1
Buttons (information artifacts) 1
COVID-19 (Disease) 1
Calendars 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Charter Day 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Chickahominy Bridge 1
Christmas cards 1
Church records 1
Class materials 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College of William and Mary--Work Study Program 1
College students 1
Coronavirus infections 1
Cumberland County (Va.) 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings and graphics 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 6
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
College of William and Mary. 3
American Red Cross 2
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities 2
∨ more
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
Boy Scouts of America 2
Bozarth family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
Jackson, Comer Clarke 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Jamestown Rediscovery 1
Beale family 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Bird family 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bucktrout family 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Burleson, Harry 1
Byrd family 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Charles family 1
Christian family 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
Clark, James W. 1
Coleman family 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Daughters of the American Revolution 1
Dula family 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Elliott, Albert Pettigrew 1
Etheridge, Jeanne 1
Frechette, Fred, 1925-2009 1
Geddy family 1
Gilley, Edwin A 1
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Green Spring Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Greenwood Pre-school (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 1
Hampton College (Hampton, Va.) 1
Hickory Neck Church (James City County, Va.) 1
Hipkins family 1
International Order of the King's Daughters and Sons 1
Jack and Jill Nursery and Kindergarten (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Jamestown Church 1
Jenkins, Minnie Braithwaite 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 1
Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
Langton, Helen 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Edward Myers, Jr 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Molineux, Will 1
Moncure family 1
Morecock family 1
Morledge, Alan 1
Morledge, Anne 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Order of the Eastern Star. Grand Chapter of Virginia 1
Page, Delia Bryan 1
Parker, Bessie, ca. 1905 - 1
Parker, Lena Augusta, ca. 1902 - 1
Parr, Fay Lyonel, 1913-2008 1
Pedersen, Thelma 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Rawls Byrd School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Va.) 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Smith, Estelle 1
+ ∧ less