Showing Collections: 4101 - 4125 of 5051
J. W. Smith Letter to "My Dear Friend"
Letter from J. W. Smith in Baltimore, Maryland to "My Dear Friend" about buying cotton for his friend; mention of Mr. McAllister being in Baltimore. October 17, 1850.
Jacob B. Smith Ledger, I
Ledger, 1840-1889, of Jacob B. Smith, carpenter and miller, Middlebrook, Augusta County, Va.
Jacob B. Smith Notebook
Arithmetic book, 1826, of Jacob B. Smith.
Jessie L. Smith Photographs, 1920-1921
This collection contains photographs of Jessie Little Smith, J. Swanson Smith, their friends, the James River, and Kingsmill Farm.
John Smith Mezzotint Collection
Series 1 consists of mezzotints by the English print maker and publisher John Smith (1652-1743).
Marie M. and Edith W. Smith Papers
Moses Smith Honors to Mr. and Mrs. McCray
Two typed sheets of poems written by Moses Smith, a servant to to Mr. and Mrs. McCray commending their industry and philantropy in Carter's Grove, VA.
Rixey Smith Papers
T. Smith & Company. Records
Records, 1836-1849, of T. Smith & Co., of Hartford, Conn. who were apparently in the saddlery business. Includes letters and accounts.
Thomas Smith Deposition
Deposition of Thomas Smith of Matthews County, Virginia in a controversy with Alexander Maccaulay of Yorktown about the ship "Charles Carter", then docked in Norfolk, Virginia. Written on the verso of "The Virginia Gazette &c. Extraordinary" dated December 16, 1795
Smith-Walker Papers
William Harrison Smith Papers
Papers of the donor's stepfather, William Harrison Smith, superintendent and postmaster at the island of Jamestown, Virginia. Mostly business correspondence with Ellen Bagby of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (A.P.V.A.) with reports, Elbert Cox of the National Park Service and Ellen Harvie Smith of the A.P.V.A. Includes monthly general reports, financial reports, salary lists, tax forms, soil report certificates, photographs, and newspaper clippings.
William N. Smith Notebook
Mathematics book, 1859, of William N. Smith, Laurel Mills, Rappahannock County, Virginiaa. The volume was also used as a handwriting copybook, and as a legal and business book.
Smith's Wharf Account Books
Journal, 1852-1854, containing wharfage and storage accounts of the steamboat, Mary Washington, captained by James Myer, traveling from Fredericksburg, Virginia and Baltimore, Maryland to Smith's Wharf, Richmond County, Virginia which includes accounts of steamboat, J. E. Coffee, captained by [?] Harding, traveling between Norfolk, Virginiaa. and Smith's Wharf. Also journal, 1852-1854, of wharfage and storage accounts for various schooners.
Smoke Signals Appointment Calendar
William and Mary first issue calendar book titled, Smoke Signals for the academic year 1953- 1954. Throughout the book are pictures of the William and Mary campus and students and various cartoons of William and Mary faculty, students, and staff. Each cartoon is signed, Vliet.
William Winston Snead Papers, 1898-1899
Stephen Snell Papers, 1960-1964
This collection contains a copy of "Portraits in the President's House," an essay Snell wrote for Fine Arts 306. The text of the essay is interleaved with copies of the portraits being discussed. Acc. 2011.671 contains notes from various classes Snell took at the College of William & Mary, including English, History, and French classes. There are also notes from courses Snell took at Boston University.
Hattie Sneyley Correspondence
Correspondence, 1947-1952, written by Hattie Sneyley of Crowborough, Sussex in England to Miss Doris Hastings Baxter, Riverdale, on Hudson, New York. The letters describe life in England just after the end of World War II. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include rationing, food shortages, variuos austerity measures, and social changes as a result of the war.
Edward Snickers Land Transactions
One handwritten document which includes a copy of a 1785 bond whereby Martin Ashby of Louisa County agrees to pay one thousand pounds to George Noble of Frederick County, Virginia for 350 acres; a 1784 bond to Edward Snickers for an exchange of land between Snickers and Ashby for 306 acres in Frederick County and 350 acres in Loudoun County; and letters from Edward Snickers about his land transactions with Ashby.
Harold Sniffen Bicentennial Collection
Collection of papers, 1971-1976, concerning the bicentennial celebrations of the American Revolution held in Virginia. Some of the material deal with religious freedom in America.
Captain Walter P. Snow Poetry Book
This collection consists of a hand-written volume of poetry kept by Captain Walter P. Snow. Most of the entries are from Snow Hill and Baltimore, Maryland, New Orleans, Nantucket Island, and Tortugas. Some of the subjects described in the entries include love, everyday life, battles, and life on the sea. Also included are loose news clippings from the poetry volume.
Frederick E. Snyder Notebook
Notebook, 1809, on philosophy used by Frederick Snyder, New Market, Shenandoah County, Virginia. The volume includes notes on anatomy, botany, and military theories.
Janet Snyder Papers
Sir John Soane to Watson Letter
Letter from Sir John Soane, Lincoln's Inn Fields [London, England] to [?] Watson. Requests Mr. Watson to send his cart to the Royal Academy for three drawings "sent there previous to the exhibition." Includes an engraving, printed by Fisher, Son & Co., of Soane by James Thomson, after the painting of Soane by Sir Thomas Lawrence and a pamphlet on Sir John Soane's Museum.