Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Robert Andrews Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.002
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1980.119: This accession includes biographical material, silhouette, correspondence, deed of sale for one slave, and copies of the Virginia Almanac, edited by Andrews (1781-1796).
Acc. 1985.014: This accession contains photocopies (no originals) of genealogical material about Robert Andrews, his ancestors, and his descendants.
Dates:
1779-1796; Majority of material found in 1781-1796
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents
The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...
Dates:
1667-1862; Majority of material found in 1792-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Helen M. Hoskins Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.226
Scope and Contents
The collection contains correspondence, receipts, poems, and other material concerning Helen M. Hoskins and her family of Sheffield, Massachusetts. Most of the correspondence is between Helen and her mother, Sabra Hoskins, but also includes letters written by Helen's husband, H.T. Wheeler, her son, Horace Wheeler, siblings, numerous cousins, and friends. Included in the collection are poems, compositions, and other ephemera related to Helen's time as a teacher at female academies in...
Dates:
1839-1868; Majority of material found in 1845-1860
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McGavock Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates:
1760-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center