Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11
B. Davenport & Co. Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.
Dates:
1841-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Martha Barksdale Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents
[NOTE: Since the Martha Barksdale diary is fragile, researchers are required to use either the digital verison, the photocopy, or the transcription of the diary.]The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of...
Dates:
1918-1974; Majority of material found in 1918-1922
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles Campbell Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents
The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...
Dates:
1743-1896
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Office of the Dean of Women Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents
Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates:
1928-1974
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Guy Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents
Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett. Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates:
1900-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Frederick Holmes Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H73
Scope and Contents
The papers of the Holmes family. Chiefly letters, 1842-1887, received by George Frederick Holmes, educator, concerning the College of William and Mary, the University of Mississippi, and the University of Virginia. Correspondents include William Campbell Preston, Andrew Steele Fulton, Robert Saunders and Charles Minnigerode. The collection also includes papers of the Floyd and Preston families; an album kept by Eliza Lavalette Floyd Holmes consisting of plant leaves, newspapers and memorials...
Dates:
1790-1898; Majority of material found in 1842-1887
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Davis Young Paschall Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the...
Dates:
1931-2001; Majority of material found in 1931-2001
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Robb-Bernard Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Scrapbook Regarding Virginia and the College of William and Mary
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Sc40
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1927-1948, of an unidentified person containing newspaper clippings about Virginia and the College of William and Mary.
Dates:
1927-1948
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Anonymous Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad161
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook probably kept by Lyon G. Tyler. Contains newspaper clippings which concern politics especially the campaign of Fitzhugh Lee for governor of Virginia, the General Assembly of Virginia from December 1887-March 1888 as well as clippings concerning the College of William and Mary. Scrapbook containing newspaper clippings chiefly relating to political affairs in Virginia. Note: The book contains the following clippings relating to William and Mary College:...
Dates:
1885-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
University Archives Scrapbook Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 335
Scope and Contents
This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William and Mary. Acc. 1983.075: twenty-seven scrapbooks, 1934-1943, of newspaper clippings about the College, events, and programs. Acc. 1983.081: scrapbooks, 1919-1938, with clippings about the College, students, and faculty. Acc. 1983.083: two scrapbooks, 1934-1942, with invitations to programs, concerts, plays, parties, and other events...
Dates:
1915-1989; Majority of material found in 1919-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center