Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Thomas Croxton Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C89
Scope and Contents
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.
Dates:
1858-1899
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dromgoole Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D83
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, accounts,(including accounts, 1875-1895, of laborers ?) and manuscript volumes, primarily 1850-1890, of members of the Dromgoole family of Brunswick County, Virginia. The majority of the papers seemingly were created by Edward Dromgoole, fl. 1838-1897, a merchant and lawyer in Brunswick Co. There are also some items relating to George Coke Dromgoole (1797-1847), a member of the U. S. House of Representatives, as well as items concerning other people who are only identified as...
Dates:
1821-1896; Majority of material found in 1850-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henkel Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates:
1783-1874
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Merchant's Invoice Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame14u
Scope and Contents
Invoice book, 1831-1834, of an unidentified merchant, of [Louisa County Va.?]
Dates:
1831-1834
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
S. H. Coffman & Co. Ledger and Commonplace Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame15
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1838-1840, of S. H. Coffman & Co., Rifesville, Rockingham County, Va., which includes a journal, 1842; invoice, 1844; and recipes for dyeing wool and cotton. The volume was later used as a commonplace book by Jacob Lineweaver and others and as a child's handwriting copybook.
Dates:
1842-1844
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Anderson Benskin Smith, Sr. Ledgers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1992.17
Scope and Contents
The collection holds account books of A.B. Smith of Main Street, Toano, Virginia in James City County. The "Account of Chickens and Eggs" ledger from August 1, 1930 to December 1936 has accounts for sales from 1931 to 1936 at the end of the ledger. The financial ledger with an alphabetical index for 1916 and 1917 includes loose papers in the back with financial notes, invoices, and correspondence for the James City County Welfare Committee (1932 -1938) along with some monthly reports and...
Dates:
1916-1938; Majority of material found in 1916-1917 and 1931-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center