Content Description From the Collection: A collection of 27 8x10 silver gelatin prints that includes photographs of Dana Abraham's family. Each photograph is black and white with white borders, and spans from Fall 2022 to Spring 2023. Most of the photographs are of young women and girls of the Abraham family, with some elderly members of the family also included. The photographs are representative of the Abraham family's bond. Statement from creator and donor Dana Abraham: "The bond my family shares is something truly...

Content Description From the Collection:

A series of 32 black and white self-portraits and nature photography by Prasanna Patel taken in 2023 to create a portrait of the artist's great-grandmother.

Content Description From the Collection:

Collection contains a single notebook documenting the sixth-grade class of 1958. The notebook contains photographs of school administers, students and a class history.

Content Description From the Collection:

The collection contains 34 black and white photographs taken in 35mm black-and-white film of marine landscapes, taken in Guinea, Virginia, in collaboration with Big Island Aquaculture. The photographs include the owner of Aquaculture, Cathy Vogt, her husband Bruce, their son Daniel (manager of the farm), and their employees, Robert and Kate. The photographs depict fishing boats, oysters, as well as family and employees working on boats.

Content Description From the Collection:

Letter to Richmond, Virginia slave traders Davis, Deupree and Co., from Virginia physician Conway Davies Whittle inquiring about the rates of sale of 24 enslaved persons owned by Whittle. Age, gender, complexion, and skills are mentioned to describe the enslaved people.

Scope and Contents

A condolence card from May Sarton to Jean Hudson with a handwritten note regarding the death of Evelyn Phaup.

Content Description From the Collection:

This collection contains a small archive of books and correspondence from May Sarton, consisting of a copy of "The Fur Person" which was signed by Ms. Sarton, E.M. Sarton's "Letters to May", a signed broadside of "December Moon" with person inscription by Ms. Sarton, a get-well card, a Valentine's Day card, and a condolence card.

Scope and Contents From the Collection: This collection includes a composition notebook with 34 leaves of lined paper (22 pages with handwritten text), a laid-in stapled gathering of 8 leaves (6 pages with text), and a Howard University Hour Examination sheet. It was compiled by an African-American woman, Anna Jean Snowden, who attended Howard University and later taught at the Tuskegee Institute. The notebook contains her coursework at Howard and educational interests as well as her attendance at the Annual Negro Farmers'...

Scope and Contents

File contains correspondence to and from Margot Backus and Professor Jack E. Morpurgo. Also included are letters from Nan Hodges and others to Margot Backus regarding Professor Jack E. Morpurgo.