Composition notebook
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a composition notebook with 34 leaves of lined paper (22 pages with handwritten text), a laid-in stapled gathering of 8 leaves (6 pages with text), and a Howard University Hour Examination sheet. It was compiled by an African-American woman, Anna Jean Snowden, who attended Howard University and later taught at the Tuskegee Institute. The notebook contains her coursework at Howard and educational interests as well as her attendance at the Annual Negro Farmers' Conference at Tuskegee in 1917.
Dates
- Creation: 1916-1918
Conditions Governing Access
Collection is open to all researchers. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations, such as the Virginia Public Records Act (Code of Virginia. § 42.1-76-91); and the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (Code of Virginia § 2.2-3705.5). Confidential material may include, but is not limited to, educational, medical, and personnel records. If sensitive material is found in this collection, please contact a staff member immediately. The disclosure of personally identifiable information pertaining to a living individual may have legal consequences for which the College of William and Mary assumes no responsibility.
Extent
From the Collection: 0.01 Linear Feet (1 legal-size folder)
Language
From the Collection: English
Repository Details
Part of the Special Collections Research Center Repository