Skip to main content

Box 3

 Container

Contains 173 Results:

Agreement of Elizabeth S. Ewell, R. S. Ewell, William Stoddert, and Benjamin S. Ewell , 1867 August 2

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 17, Object: 1
Identifier: id181601
Scope and Contents

An greement of Elizabeth S. Ewell, R. S. Ewell, William Stoddert, and Benjamin S. Ewell to carry into effect the will of Rebecca Lowndes Ewell, that was declared invalid by the court

Dates: 1867 August 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Rebecca Lowndes) papers

A copy of an article in the Richmond Examiner, 1863 June 15

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 18, Object: 1
Identifier: id181604
Scope and Contents

1 item. The article concerns Richard S. Ewell's part in the second capture of Winchester, with a note by H. S. Turner.

Dates: 1863 June 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Richard S.) papers

Copy of General Richard Ewell's and General Kershaw's account of the burning of Richmond, Spring Hill, Tennessee, 1865 December 20

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 18, Object: 2
Identifier: id181606
Scope and Contents

Includes a note by Campbell Brown dated November 6, 1873.

Dates: 1865 December 20
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Richard S.) papers

Richard S. Ewell Poem, 1914 February 7

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 18, Object: 3
Identifier: id181608
Scope and Contents

A poem written by Dr. H. M. Clarkson for the Ewell centennial celebration held at Manassas, Virginia, by the Ewell Camp of Confederate Veterans.

Dates: 1914 February 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Richard S.) papers

A short sketch of General Richard Ewell., Undated

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 18, Object: 4
Identifier: id181611
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 2 includes papers from various sources

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Richard S.) papers

Plat of a tract of land in Prince William County, Virginia, 1821

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 19, Object: 1
Identifier: id181632
Scope and Contents

Plat of a tract of land in Prince William County, Virginia, surveyed for Dr. Thomas Ewell, 1821

Dates: 1821
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Ewell (Thomas) papers

Accounts, 1805-1859

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 21, Object: 1
Identifier: id181638
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 2 includes papers from various sources

Dates: 1805-1859
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Lowndes (Francis) papers

Account of Richard P. Jackson, executor of Francis Lowndes, 1869

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 21, Object: 2
Identifier: id181641
Scope and Contents

Copy.

Dates: 1869
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Lowndes (Francis) papers

Round (George C.), 1885 June 15

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 23
Identifier: id181648
Scope and Contents

Broadside. Printed circular letter advertising as a summer resort, Belle-Air in Prince William County, Virginia, the old home of the Ewell family.

Dates: 1885 June 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

An Old Historic Town, 1897

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 24, Object: 1
Identifier: id181650
Scope and Contents

1 item. An essay on Williamsburg by Elizabeth L. Scott.

Dates: 1897
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Scott (Elizabeth L.) papers

Certificate appointing Bessie Scott, i.e., Elizabeth L. Scott, a member of the Auxiliary Board of World's Fair Managers of Virginia, 1892 April 25

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 24, Object: 2
Identifier: id181653
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 2 includes papers from various sources

Dates: 1892 April 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3 / Scott (Elizabeth L.) papers

Scott (R. Ewell) papers, 1894-1900

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 25
Identifier: id181654
Scope and Contents

This folder contains 58 items. There are papers in English, Spanish, and Japanese, including a Japanese pencil sketch.

Dates: 1894-1900
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

Poems and Verse, undated

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 27
Identifier: id181655
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 2 includes papers from various sources

Dates: undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

Joint resolution of the Texas Legislature, 1863 February 19

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 28
Identifier: id181659
Scope and Contents

Certified copy. Requesting the governor to procure exemption from military duty for employees of Eubanks and Co., & Co., cotton and wool carders.

Dates: 1863 February 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

Ephemera , 1835, 1878, 1881, and undated

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 29
Identifier: id181661
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 2 includes papers from various sources

Dates: 1835, 1878, 1881, and undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

Memorandum book of Elizabeth Stoddert Ewell, 1885

 File — Box: 3, Folder: 16
Identifier: id181629
Scope and Contents

A memorandum book of which only 19 pages of the 336 pages were written upon. The book contains data on the Ewell family, including several extracts of letters dating from the 18th and 19th centuries.

Dates: 1885
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 2: Papers / Box 3

Stringfellow (H. M.), at Jamestown, Virginia, to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, Circa 1861

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 40
Identifier: id180954
Scope and Contents

Apologizes for his conduct.

Dates: Circa 1861
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (W.), at Nashville, Tennessee, to his sister, Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell, at Centreville, Fairfax County, Virginia, 1829 November 5

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 1
Identifier: id181156
Scope and Contents

Has been visiting Harriott; is thinking about courting a young lady.

Dates: 1829 November 5
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (W.), at Jackson, Tennessee, to his nephew, Benjamin S. Ewell, 1834 November 17

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 2
Identifier: id181159
Scope and Contents

Has inquired about getting a West Point appointment for Richard; hopes he will leave the army and be a lawyer.

Dates: 1834 November 17
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (W.), at Jackson, Tennessee, to Benjamin S. Ewell, at West Point, New York, 1835 January 3

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 3
Identifier: id181161
Scope and Contents

Will find success in the cities; advice for success.

Dates: 1835 January 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (W.), at Jackson, Tennessee, to his sister, Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell, at Brentsville, Prince William County, Virginia, 1837 January 1

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 4
Identifier: id181164
Scope and Contents

Tom has arrived and he will take care of him; wants to buy Negroes.

Dates: 1837 January 1
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to his sister, Rebecca L. Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, 1845 December 29

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 5
Identifier: id181167
Scope and Contents

Got her abusive letter; has unsuccessfully tried preaching. The letter is postmarked Prince Edward Court House.

Dates: 1845 December 29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to his brother, B. S. Ewell, at Lexington, Rockbridge County, Virginia. Postmarked Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, 1848 September 6

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 6
Identifier: id181169
Scope and Contents

Richard was visiting and has been sick; mother and Becca and Emma [?] are being disagreeable.

Dates: 1848 September 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to B. S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia. Postmarked Buckland, 1849 June 25

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 7
Identifier: id181171
Scope and Contents

Has been preaching; Dr. Tyler died; Mrs. Ewell disappeared and they feared she had run off with her beau.

Dates: 1849 June 25
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to B. S. Ewell, at Williamsburg, Virginia. Postscript by Rebecca L. Ewell, 1849 December 18

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 8
Identifier: id181173
Scope and Contents

Mother has left; other family news.

Dates: 1849 December 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.