Skip to main content

Box 3

 Container

Contains 173 Results:

Stoddert (William), at Merwin, Missouri, to Harriet [?], 1882 December 10

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 34
Identifier: id181240
Scope and Contents

Did not have any pain last night; does not feel he should be alone, is well fixed where he is.

Dates: 1882 December 10
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William), at Merwin, Missouri, to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1883 May 2

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 35
Identifier: id181242
Scope and Contents

Thinks it would be better for Ewell to go away to school; has been working hard.

Dates: 1883 May 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to Benjamin S. Ewell, 1883 May 2

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 36
Identifier: id181247
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: 1883 May 2
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to Rebecca Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, [1844?] February 14

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 37
Identifier: id181250
Scope and Contents

Describes his day at college; describes a family quarrel; wrote a good speech.

Dates: [1844?] February 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stoddert (William) to [?], Circa 1883

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 38
Identifier: id181253
Scope and Contents

Two letters. Has been working very hard. Incomplete.

Dates: Circa 1883
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Stone (E. W.), at Headquarters First Military District, State of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, to James Simons, president of the board of directors, Eastern Lunatic Asylum, State of Virginia, 1868 October 9

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 1, Object: 39
Identifier: id181256
Scope and Contents

Copy of the order appointing Benjamin S. Ewell to the board of directors of the Eastern Lunatic Asylum.

Dates: 1868 October 9
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Stoddert, W.-Sweet, D.

Taliaferro (John), at Washington, to B. S. Ewell, at York, Pennsylvania, 1838 April 28

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 1
Identifier: id181266
Scope and Contents

Thanks him for the paper on coal.

Dates: 1838 April 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Thomas (J. A.), at West Point, New York, to the Trustees of Columbia College, South Carolina, 1838 November 8

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 2
Identifier: id181267
Scope and Contents

Letter recommending Benjamin S. Ewell for a professorship. Postscript by Robertt. Weir.

Dates: 1838 November 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Ticknor (George) to Professor B. S. Ewell, Undated

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 3
Identifier: id181269
Scope and Contents

Offers to help him.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Toner (J. M.), at Washington, D.C., to B. S. Ewell, 1889 August 30

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 4
Identifier: id181277
Scope and Contents

Asks for information on Colonel Ewell.

Dates: 1889 August 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Trimble (I.), at Newport, Rhode Island, to B. S. Ewell, 1839 September 13

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 5
Identifier: id181278
Scope and Contents

Comments on training of civil engineers.

Dates: 1839 September 13
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Trimble (Isaac), at Baltimore, Maryland, to B. S. Ewell, at West Point, New York, [1835?] May 19

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 6
Identifier: id181280
Scope and Contents

Has opening for civil engineers. [Trimble was chief Engineer of Baltimore and Susquehanna RRr. at this time].

Dates: [1835?] May 19
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Trimble (Isaac), at Baltimore, Maryland, to B. S. Ewell, at Buckland, Prince William County, Virginia, [1839?] April 28

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 7
Identifier: id181283
Scope and Contents

Congratulates him on his marriage.

Dates: [1839?] April 28
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Truehart (A. F.) to Mrs. Elizabeth Ewell, at William and Mary College, Williamsburg, Virginia, 1857 November 6

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 8
Identifier: id181286
Scope and Contents

Sympathy letter on death of her son.

Dates: 1857 November 6
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Richmond, to Elizabeth Ewell, daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, 1864 August 16

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 10
Identifier: id181292
Scope and Contents

Colonel. Ewell is sick in Macon [?]; General Ewell is sick; war news.

Dates: 1864 August 16
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.) to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, 1872 January 31

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 11
Identifier: id181296
Scope and Contents

Her father, General Richard Ewell, and mother have died.

Dates: 1872 January 31
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Normandy, to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, 1872 February 27

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 12
Identifier: id181298
Scope and Contents

Laments death of her parents.

Dates: 1872 February 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Williamsburg, Virginia, to Major C. Brown, at Spring Hill, Maury County, Tennessee, 1885 July 7

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 13
Identifier: id181303
Scope and Contents

Thinks Hattie is her most attractive child; thinks Lily is peculiar; has been happy in Williamsburg; Col. Ewell has been sick. Also: Brown, Campbell, to B.S. Ewell. Encloses the above letter.

Dates: 1885 July 7
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.) to Elizabeth Ewell, sister of Benjamin S. Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., [?] March 30

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 14
Identifier: id181304
Scope and Contents

Sends a photograph; children are sick; has not named her baby yet.

Dates: [?] March 30
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Normandy, Missouri, to Elizabeth Ewell, at Georgetown, D.C., [1872?] April 15

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 15
Identifier: id181308
Scope and Contents

Two letters. The first relays the news that the General has died; the children are well. The second letter is from October 1, no year. ,Has been in Canada; has found mention of cousin Ben and the General in Appleton’s biographical dictionary; St. Louis fair is in progress.

Dates: [1872?] April 15
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.) to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, [?] December 3

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 16
Identifier: id181309
Scope and Contents

Two letters. The first letter relays the news that Lizinka is in Madeira; Lily was invited to break fast with the king of Portugal. The second letter, circa January 24, 1872, informs the receipient that Mother died.

Dates: [?] December 3
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Marietta, Missouri, to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, [?] September 26

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 17
Identifier: id181313
Scope and Contents

Two letters. The first letter congratulates her on her marriage to Mr. Scott; advises her on how to handle a husband. The second letter, undated, relates that the author has been reading various novels; does not like George Eliot; describes her children.

Dates: [?] September 26
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Normandy, Missouri, to Elizabeth Ewell Scott, [1880?] January 23

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 18
Identifier: id181316
Scope and Contents

There are windows in church for her mother and father. Incomplete.

Dates: [1880?] January 23
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Marietta, Missouri, to Mrs. Beverly Scott, at Richmond, Virginia, [1867?] December 8

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 19
Identifier: id181317
Scope and Contents

The letter is addressed to "Lizzie". Congratulates her on her marriage.

Dates: [1867?] December 8
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.

Turner (Harriot S.), at Washington, D.C., to Dr. [ ? ] Wise. (See William and Mary College Papers.), Undated

 Item — Box: 3, Folder: 2, Object: 20
Identifier: id181320
Scope and Contents From the Series:

Series 1 includes letters arranged alpabetically by writer. A uniform entry has been adopted for each name, and persons of the same name have been identified and distinguished from each other by indicating their relationship to Benjamin S. Ewell or other persons. For example, the entry Brown (Harriot S.) is used for letters signed H. S. Brown and Hattie, and the entry Ewell (Elizabeth), daughter of Benjamin S. Ewell, is used for letters signed Lizzy Ewell or simply Lizzy.

Dates: Undated
Found in: Special Collections Research Center / Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers / Series 1: Correspondence / Box 3 / Letters, Taliaferro, J.-Turner, H.