Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Box Small Collections Oversize Box 2

 Container

Contains 28 Collections and/or Records:

Drawing , circa 1862

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize Folder: 1
Identifier: id309249
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Drawing done in pen and ink circa late 1862 that depicts the ruins of St. John's Episcopal Church in Hampton, Va. The label written under the drawing reads, "The oldest Church in America at Hampton, Va., destroyed with the City of Hampton by the Rebels under Gen'l Magruder. Respectfully dedicated to Col. v. Buren, Adt. Genl T. C. of A. by Charles Worret."  Another section reads, "Drawn by Lieut. Charles Worret 20th Reg. N.Y. Vols."  C. Worret is also written within the drawing on the trunk of a...

Robert W. Jordan Plat, 1835

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id300951
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Five Confederate Bills, ranging from $5.00 to $100.00 in currency.  All bills are issued 1864.  Also two notes from the city of Richmond for $.50 and $.75 dated April 14, 1862.  Various receipts for dry goods, clothing, and debts.  Also included among these receipts is a promissory note for the sum of $180.00 for the hire of two negro slaves, January 5, 1844.  Land deed plot is for Reuben Jordan's estate dated February 20, 1835. Exact plat location is unknown in Virginia.

Lease, 1777 October 13

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id4616
Scope and Contents For the sum of five shillings, George Muse grants Battaile Muse two tracts of land along the Kanhawa River in Botetourt County; one tract is 2000 acres and one tract is 100 acres; the 2000 acre tract is part of a tract of 6000 acres owned by William Bronaugh and leased and released to George Muse 20 and 21 October 1776; the two tracts of land will be adjoining; the 100 acres are part of a 7894 acre tract, divided by deed of p[ar]tition from James Craik on 21 October 1776; the 100 acres begin...

Correspondence, 1773 June 26, August 3

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id309767
Scope and Contents Two letters to Francis Wiatt dated 1773 June 26 and 1773 August 3 and one note from Wiatt dated 1775 April 18.

Broadside, 1918

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id314624
Scope and Contents From the Collection: World War I advertisement for various jobs within the United States Army.  Distinguishes white from colored job options.  Advertisement states, "Red Blooded Americans Within the Draft Age Step Forward"  Broadside is from Charlston, WV, recruitment contact, Captain Breckenridge Jones.

Broadside, 1852 July 2

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id292790
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Broadside, 42 x 27 cm. Comprises eight resolutions drafted by the Association concerning the death of statesman Henry Clay. A list of members' names appears at the end. Printed in New York by J. W. Harrison, Printer to the Association, 1852.

Print, 1862

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Identifier: id287106
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Print (18" x 11.25") of the Siege of Yorktown, April 1862, published by C. Bohn (of Washington and Old Point Comfort, Virginia) after an eyewitness drawing by Sgt. Charles Worrett, 20th N.Y. Volunteers. The print shows a bird's-eye view of the Union siege of Yorktown showing the positions of the Union and the Confederacy on the first day of the siege in April 1862. These positions are keyed to twenty-three different locations and show the Confederate gunners firing at the attacking Union...

Account Book, 1921-1929

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Account book, 1921-1922 of the Bureau County Coal Company, not Inc., of Sheffield, Illinois.  Dialy entries record employees' names, pay and productivity for tasks such as mining, slack, entry coal, room coal, day work, entry driving, room turning and top expense. The following information was provided by the seller: "Individual names being paid include Boswell, Hand and Son, King, Johnson, Shaw, Soderlund, Higgenfatten, and others.  Towns near Sheffield include Geneseo, Princeton,...

Poster, circa late 1970s-early 1980s

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Contains records, 1967-circa 1980s, of the Williamsburg Post of the American Legion. Includes two printed histories of the Williamsburg post, a photograph of its members, and a poster encouraging people to join the American Legion.

Diploma, 1927

 File — Box: Small Collections Oversize Box 2, Oversize_Folder: 1
Scope and Contents From the Collection: Diploma from Newport News High School for Vivian Elizabeth King, Class of 1927. June 10, 1927.